We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "Base Camp" and Wonderful 30th Wedding Anniversary Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Casalecchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Casalecchi to your Saves list
Villa Casalecchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Northern Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect "Base Camp" and Wonderful 30th Wedding Anniversary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a joy! My wife and I spent a week there in September and we were so very comfortable there--treated and felt like family. Food and service was excellent, rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was central, convenient, and absolutely beautiful. We arrived there after spending a few nights in Rome, and wow, this was a NICE change of pace (we will do without Rome next time). From here, we enjoyed day-trips to cities within a reasonable driving distance, to include Pisa, Livorno, Siena, Florence, and others. The town is an absolutely delightful place to spend time, eat, shop, walk, visit, tour, etc. Regarding "shop"-- I say "Caveat Emptor!" if you visit the Pep Bizzarrie, where we (thought we) "purchased" some Italian ceramic dishes for Christmas gifts--never received.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed at a villa nearby and we had dinner here twice. The food was fantastic, the dining room is lovely but it was the Chef that truly made the dinner memorable. He came to the table and explained everything on the menu. The pasta was freshly made and perfect and the Florentine steak was the best of the trip. He prepared a fabulous chicken and mushroom dish that was not on the menu for those of us who did not eat red meat. The cheese souflee was perfect, rich, but perfect and the desserts were worth every calorie. If you are anywhere Castellina in Chianti visit here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A large group of us stayed here for just 2 nights in September. We wished we had stayed a month. Over a 3 week trip, it was the most beautiful location. The hotel is run to an exceptional standard by the manager, Birgit, and her staff work as a highly-integrated team. The location is simply stunning, with views of vineyards and forest in every direction. Our room was large and elegant, again with stunning 'classic Tuscan' views. There are so many quiet spots outside to just sit and take in your surroundings. Perhaps the biggest star, however, was the chef, who delivered the best dinners of our trip in a stunning dining room. Exactly what you imagine when you think of true Tuscan fare - fine ingredients cooked perfectly. Antipasto with all local meats, stuffed roast rabbit, pasta with wild boar ragu and fabulous desserts. Some of group even organised a private cooking class for 10 which they enjoyed immensely. I can't understand why Villa Casalecchi is not booked out months in advance, right through Spring, Summer and Autumn. It is everything you could hope for...my wife and I will be back next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, although the rooms in the two outer buildings also have charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although a bit old this hotel is the perfect place for relaxing at the beautiful pool area with a spectacular view into the Chianti area as well as for discovering the central must-have seens as Firenze, San Gimignagno, Siena etc. pp. It has been very pleasant for sun bathing from mirning to noon and seightseeing the other half of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We can't say enough about this villa vacation. We spent 4 days at Casalecchi and were awestruck by it's beauty, wonderful service, excellent dining and peaceful surroundings. The local town of Castellina in Chianti was the quaint, non-touristy Tuscan experience we sought. Just thinking about lazing by the pool or eating al fresco overlooking the gorgeous scenery makes me long for a return visit. Don't forget to order the Bisteca Florentina. Best we had in Italy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex separate from the main building. It was great for our family (two teenagers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longnor UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel and we could have stayed longer. The staff are friendly and helpful, the setting is stunning and the hotel itself a lovely old Tuscan villa. We particularly enjoyed the terraced areas in front of the garden rooms and the pool area has lots of space and sunshine! A great base to explore Chianti or to just chill. We even managed a great trip to Sienna without getting lost or arguing over where to park. We have been travelling to N Italy for over 10 years and this is only the third hotel we will be returning to again, quite possibly next year!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I just got back from 4 days at Villa Casalecchi and it was amazing. The villa has fantastic views over the wine country and is secluded from the big cities. The location is perfect for hopping from town to town. It's a little too long of a walk into the city but it's fine if you've rented a car...less than a 3 minute drive. We drove to the surrounding cities every day and each of them is 20 minutes or less away: Radda, Siena, San Gimigano.

The service at the Villa is exceptional and they are very accommodating. They've recently updated the entire place, rooms and lobby, with wifi access so we had a great internet connection the whole time. The rooms are very clean with large bathrooms. Not the most comfortable bed, a bit hard, but we got used to it after a few days. I'd recommend spending the extra money and getting a garden/pool/vineyards view...it's well worth the extra money. The cheaper rooms are across the parking lot and you miss out on the whole feel of the place. We were able to drink wine on our large patio overlooking the vineyards every evening. The breakfast is average at best but it does the job.

Overall, I highly recommend Villa Casalecchi and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Casalecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casalecchi

Address: Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Casalecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villa Casalecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalecchi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Villa Casalecchi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Casalecchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.