We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply..Stupenda !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Casalecchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Casalecchi to your Saves list
Villa Casalecchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Simply..Stupenda !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A large group of us stayed here for just 2 nights in September. We wished we had stayed a month. Over a 3 week trip, it was the most beautiful location. The hotel is run to an exceptional standard by the manager, Birgit, and her staff work as a highly-integrated team. The location is simply stunning, with views of vineyards and forest in every direction. Our room was large and elegant, again with stunning 'classic Tuscan' views. There are so many quiet spots outside to just sit and take in your surroundings. Perhaps the biggest star, however, was the chef, who delivered the best dinners of our trip in a stunning dining room. Exactly what you imagine when you think of true Tuscan fare - fine ingredients cooked perfectly. Antipasto with all local meats, stuffed roast rabbit, pasta with wild boar ragu and fabulous desserts. Some of group even organised a private cooking class for 10 which they enjoyed immensely. I can't understand why Villa Casalecchi is not booked out months in advance, right through Spring, Summer and Autumn. It is everything you could hope for...my wife and I will be back next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, although the rooms in the two outer buildings also have charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although a bit old this hotel is the perfect place for relaxing at the beautiful pool area with a spectacular view into the Chianti area as well as for discovering the central must-have seens as Firenze, San Gimignagno, Siena etc. pp. It has been very pleasant for sun bathing from mirning to noon and seightseeing the other half of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We can't say enough about this villa vacation. We spent 4 days at Casalecchi and were awestruck by it's beauty, wonderful service, excellent dining and peaceful surroundings. The local town of Castellina in Chianti was the quaint, non-touristy Tuscan experience we sought. Just thinking about lazing by the pool or eating al fresco overlooking the gorgeous scenery makes me long for a return visit. Don't forget to order the Bisteca Florentina. Best we had in Italy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex separate from the main building. It was great for our family (two teenagers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longnor UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel and we could have stayed longer. The staff are friendly and helpful, the setting is stunning and the hotel itself a lovely old Tuscan villa. We particularly enjoyed the terraced areas in front of the garden rooms and the pool area has lots of space and sunshine! A great base to explore Chianti or to just chill. We even managed a great trip to Sienna without getting lost or arguing over where to park. We have been travelling to N Italy for over 10 years and this is only the third hotel we will be returning to again, quite possibly next year!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I just got back from 4 days at Villa Casalecchi and it was amazing. The villa has fantastic views over the wine country and is secluded from the big cities. The location is perfect for hopping from town to town. It's a little too long of a walk into the city but it's fine if you've rented a car...less than a 3 minute drive. We drove to the surrounding cities every day and each of them is 20 minutes or less away: Radda, Siena, San Gimigano.

The service at the Villa is exceptional and they are very accommodating. They've recently updated the entire place, rooms and lobby, with wifi access so we had a great internet connection the whole time. The rooms are very clean with large bathrooms. Not the most comfortable bed, a bit hard, but we got used to it after a few days. I'd recommend spending the extra money and getting a garden/pool/vineyards view...it's well worth the extra money. The cheaper rooms are across the parking lot and you miss out on the whole feel of the place. We were able to drink wine on our large patio overlooking the vineyards every evening. The breakfast is average at best but it does the job.

Overall, I highly recommend Villa Casalecchi and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in this beautiful Tuscan villa after our wedding in Florence. After a crazy busy week this was the perfect spot to get away from the madness of the city and chill out in the heart of the Chianti region to catch our breath.

- The setting in the country side with a pool over looking the woods, vineyards and Tuscan hills, the old world charm of the villa, the four poster beds and wonderful food all added to the experience of being thrown back in time. Such a tranquil feel to the place. Come here for peace, quiet and some deep and sleeps!
- Good friendly service that you would expect from a family run establishment.
- The local village Castellina in Chianti is pretty and lots of nice places to eat…try La Torre fro real Tuscan cooking in the main square . €120 in total for a great meal (cheese board to start with black truffle honey, boar/veal steak and tiramasu and nice bottle of Chianti Reserva)
- Legend has it that because of the wars between Sienne and Florence they decided one day to mark their territory by having one rider set out south from Florence and one set out north from Siene and where they met would be the agreed border between these two rival city states. Well the guy from Siene woke up late and so Florence had a good head start and so they met in Castellina in Chianti!
- Great location for touring the region…take the beautiful SS222 to San Gimignano the Manhattan of Tuscany!
- Make sure to do a wine tour of the local vineyards.
- Only draw back is that Castellina is 2-3 km away from the villa so not really walkable for a night out. You will need a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool and rose garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel accommodated us last-minute, as we unexpectedly had to extend our stay in Castellina. The staff were phenomenal. Having told them we had an early flight the next day, they gave us a wake-up call, brought breakfast to our room and took our bags to the car - all unprompted and at 6am. The house and location are beautiful; and the room was very clean and comfortable.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Casalecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casalecchi

Address: Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Casalecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Villa Casalecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalecchi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Villa Casalecchi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Casalecchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.