We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to rest after Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Casalecchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Casalecchi to your Saves list
Villa Casalecchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Perfect place to rest after Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in this beautiful Tuscan villa after our wedding in Florence. After a crazy busy week this was the perfect spot to get away from the madness of the city and chill out in the heart of the Chianti region to catch our breath.

- The setting in the country side with a pool over looking the woods, vineyards and Tuscan hills, the old world charm of the villa, the four poster beds and wonderful food all added to the experience of being thrown back in time. Such a tranquil feel to the place. Come here for peace, quiet and some deep and sleeps!
- Good friendly service that you would expect from a family run establishment.
- The local village Castellina in Chianti is pretty and lots of nice places to eat…try La Torre fro real Tuscan cooking in the main square . €120 in total for a great meal (cheese board to start with black truffle honey, boar/veal steak and tiramasu and nice bottle of Chianti Reserva)
- Legend has it that because of the wars between Sienne and Florence they decided one day to mark their territory by having one rider set out south from Florence and one set out north from Siene and where they met would be the agreed border between these two rival city states. Well the guy from Siene woke up late and so Florence had a good head start and so they met in Castellina in Chianti!
- Great location for touring the region…take the beautiful SS222 to San Gimignano the Manhattan of Tuscany!
- Make sure to do a wine tour of the local vineyards.
- Only draw back is that Castellina is 2-3 km away from the villa so not really walkable for a night out. You will need a taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool and rose garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel accommodated us last-minute, as we unexpectedly had to extend our stay in Castellina. The staff were phenomenal. Having told them we had an early flight the next day, they gave us a wake-up call, brought breakfast to our room and took our bags to the car - all unprompted and at 6am. The house and location are beautiful; and the room was very clean and comfortable.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was our favorite hotel, during our Italian vacation. I wish we had spent more time here. The meals were prepared using fresh local ingredients and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

I just spent 3 days in this Villa. The place was completely deserted. My son and I were the only guest for 2 of the 3 nights. We were really excited about dining at the Gourmet restaurant, unfortunately it closed for the season 10 days before we arrived.
Many of the other services on the web site simply did not exist. The staff member/owner(?) spent most of his time smoking right outside the open front door or inside the lobby. So if no smoking is important to you avoid this Villa. We named this place the Overlook Hotel, as in the Shining.
One afternoon, I accidentally used my door key in the wrong room. It opened! Of course no one was
there.
Also, we were suppose to have twin beds, but that was not available.
It may be a nice place in the summer, but in the autumn this place does not meet the standards of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay. From the moment we walked into the villa we knew it would feel like home . Our rooms were so wonderful and spacious,including the bathrooms. Very clean too. Knowing the history of the villa added to the allure as well. The food was superb and the staff was attentive, friendly, and went above and beyond to make everything perfect. I wish I could have stayed there for our entire trip and when I return to Italy, that will be first place I will choose to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the garden are very quiet and appear to be larger as well. A little more dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon before we went to Florence. This is a very quiet and peaceful place were you eat great food, take long walks, hanging around the poolarea and just relax. The staff is so friendly and the service is great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso, tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When we arrived we asked for an upgraded room and we moved immediately to a large room with a view of vineyards, rose gardens and their swimming pool area. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent, with free wifi. A great place to use as a home base in Tuscany as you will have an easy drive to many quaint villages.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Casalecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casalecchi

Address: Localita Casalecchi in Chianti, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#5 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Casalecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm of living the authentic and classy athmosphere of the true Chianti; the priviledge of living an unforgettable holiday in a real 18th century Tuscan villa yet pampered by modern conforts; the peace and quiet of luscious nature; the Tuscan food and Chianti wine, sipped by the pool edge at sunset; a caring and friendly but always discreet service; the location, perfect hide-away to return to after daily exploration of unforgettable sites such as Siena, Firenze, Monteriggioni, San Gimignano, and the many castles, farms and wineries, to live and experience your Tuscan dream holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Casalecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalecchi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Villa Casalecchi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Casalecchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.