We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay! Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Squarcialupi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Squarcialupi
Save
You added Palazzo Squarcialupi to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ferruccio, 22, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay! Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I traveled here from the U.S. and stayed for 5 nights. The place was amazing. The people at reception were more than happy to help me arrange transportation to cities near by like San Gimignano and Siena. They offered taxis, bus info, and train info. They were willing to hold my luggage prior to checkin and also after checkout since I wanted to have a bit of time to walk around while waiting for my taxi to arrive. The town is such a beautiful place and this hotel is right in the heart. it is just across from a great restaurant with nice outdoor seating. For a group this was the perfect place for us to gather. The rooms were a nice size with air conditioning. The bathrooms were great as well. The breakfast that they provide is very well done and offers a variety of yummy foods. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    42
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
49
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this beautiful hotel which is situated right in the centre of the Castellina village, and yet within 10 minutes drive you are in the enchanting Tuscan countryside. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The hotel restaurant was only opened about 4 months ago and it is excellent! We had 2 meals there and really enjoyed the food and the wine of course! It is also very reasonably priced. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tenn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed a week in this perfect village hotel situated in cobblestoned Castellina-in-Chianti, which has cafes, shops, Etruscan tombs, and medieval walls. The friendly staff was very helpful. Our room was wonderfully large, with a TV (that we did not turn on), a modern bathroom equipped with small shower and bidet. We never tired of looking out our windows at the beautiful Chianti countryside. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. There is a 'Spa' area (hot tub pool and showers), but we didn't use them. We did however enjoy 2 dinners in the new hotel restaurant. Delicious, but we always saved room for the amazing gelato that was a couple of doors down the street. Also, the cafe across from hotel has excellent pizza!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back, where the country views are (you might hear guests on the hotel terrace in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and were very charmed by the location. On the Main Street which was very convenient - stunning views out the back. Our room was very large and included a double bed and sofa. The bathroom was also a good size and all was very clean.

The receptionists were always very helpful and welcoming.

Great location for exploring lots of the Chianti region around - San Gimigiano, Greve, Siena, Gaoile etc etc all not far away.

Breakfast was fine and had all that you would expect for a cold buffet. Some hot water (as in genuinely hot water) for the tea would have been welcomed.

All in all I'm sure you would not be disappointed with this 'typically Etruscan' hotel full of character

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My room overlooked the valley. Spacious with a comfortable bed. Bathroom larger than all the others we stayed in while in Italy. Located in small town that was fun to walk through and also a short drive away from other towns. Helpful, friendly staff. Son's room was of course smaller without the view but as he is more a world traveller than me (He has lived in Zurich for 4 years) his opinion should also be noted and he too was very impressed. Finally the breakfast room was spacious and the offered breakfast meats and cheeses quite satisfying. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Albert, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A perfect place to stay in beautiful Tuscany! The staff very friendly and helpful, the views from our room overlooking the vine clad valley stunning and the spa very welcome after a tour of touring. Have just opened a Taverna next door which was fabulous. Would highly recommend Palazzo Squarcialupi and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a very pleasant and well located hotel in the heart of Castellina in Chianti, with wonderful views to the Chianti hillside as well as a great presence on the main pedestrian street of this charming town.

Our room was comfortably equipped and the breakfast is a good start for a day of strolling the town or trekking the wine country. The parking is included and a pleasant walk to the car.

With the opening of their own restaurant next door, this will definitely remain THE place to stay in Castellina.

(there were a few hot water problems but understand that is a town emergency power thing during a rain storm)

Room Tip: any room looking out to the hillside would be a wonderful choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Squarcialupi

Address: Via Ferruccio, 22, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Squarcialupi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Squarcialupi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.