We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with spacious rooms and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Squarcialupi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Squarcialupi
Save Saved
You added Palazzo Squarcialupi to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ferruccio, 22, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with spacious rooms and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our two nights here. The staff were all friendly and helpful with recommendations on dining and things to do. The only, very minor, drawback is their overly cumbersome WiFi sign process. The hotel is in the central pedestrian area and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the large elegant sitting room and the cozy breakfast area. Saturday was market day and we found a great rosticerria truck and ordered two roast chickens, pork kabobs, sausages and potatoes - sine we had some plates and cutlery we were able to enjoy a fabulous lunch with beer and wine in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    41
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
47
123
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here on the night of our first wedding anniversary, it is a lovely hotel in central Castellina.

Staff were pleasant, the views are spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed using the pool and spa.

Great bright light rooms, huge bed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We waited 13 years to finally spend three nights here and we certainly were not disappointed ..the property, area and our room were beyond our expectations....thanks to Sabine, Irene and Giorgio for making our stay wonderful....this is one of the finest and friendliest places you could ever stay at....thank you for an amazing time in castellina ....my dreams came true !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We returned to Palazzo Squarcialupi for our eleventh year this Sept. It just keeps getting
better! We always choose a valley view room as we feel the view is worth the extra expense. There are several valley view rooms and each has it's own unique characteristics.
The previous problem with Wi-Fi not being in each room has been corrected and it works very well. All the staff are professional in their manner, speak perfect English and are more than helpful in assisting your every need. The breakfast buffet has lots to choose from including hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and buns and bread that are fresh each morning. The coffee is very good
by European standards.
There is a beautiful spa in the lower level that is open from 4:00 pm that is often underutilized.
Parking is not a big issue as luggage can be dropped off at the Hotel door between
8:00 - 11:00 am and 3:00 - 5:00 pm. DO NOT DRIVE UP AT OTHER TIMES AS THERE IS A BIG FINE! The parking lot is fenced , free and a short 3 min walk from the hotel.
There are several great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as some interesting shopping.
Castellina is a great place to stay if you wish to explore Chianti. You will need a car but it is an easy trip to Florence, Siena, Radda, Panzanno and Volterrra. There is a Sat market in town that is always fun to visit.
We have already booked for 2014

Room Tip: spend the extra to get a valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool U.K.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at the hotel. The room was huge and the air conditioning efficient as the weather was hot. The hotel is clean and the staff are very efficient, helpful and friendly. All staff were most pleasant but the lady at breakfast was most amenable and went the 'extra mile' to be helpful and was always cheerful.

After a 'hard day' sightseeing it was a pleasure to order drinks and sit on the terrace looking at a gorgeous view over, wineries, olive groves and woodland to the hills in the distance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannerch
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

our 8 night stay was wonderful-- the location, facilities , staff , service , cleanliness -- all were extremely good and the hotel is not expensive -- very good value.
we will come again....and again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful room, view, the receptionist extremely pleasant- really the right person for the job! Made all our wishes come true.
Best surroundings for a Tuscany visit, both on short distance (the enotheca, shops, restaurants 10 m away) and longer journeys for the day.
We will certainly bee back- again. And again.

Room Tip: The view on the back side- over Tuscany, is splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Squarcialupi

Address: Via Ferruccio, 22, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Squarcialupi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Squarcialupi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.