We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful find in a gorgeous Tuscan town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Squarcialupi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Squarcialupi
Save
You added Palazzo Squarcialupi to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ferruccio, 22, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful find in a gorgeous Tuscan town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Squacialupi several times over the past few years and there is a definite reason I keep going back - the hotel is gorgeous, only 17 rooms, which makes you feel a bit special. The public rooms are grand and impressive with frescoes on the walls, just a place for a drink before dinner. The outdoor terrace overlooks the most beautiful Tuscan scene of vineyards and the hotel's beautiful garden. Our rooms have always been quite large and we love the rooms overlooking the main pedestrian street where you can see the hustle and bustle of town life. The town is small and quiet but still has some lovely restaurants and some good shopping. The women who run the hotel can't do enough for you. I love this hotel and will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    42
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
49
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our three night stay at Hotel Albergo Palazzo Squarcialupi. The hotel feels like you are a guest staying at a grand manor, with its sprawling layout, cozy lounges, picturesque terraces and beautiful grounds. It is easy to find, though the narrow street with cafes and stores spilling on to it make navigating to the front door tricky for those not used to driving in Italy. Our family of four stayed in two rooms. The adults were in a very spacious, well air-conditioned, standard superior room with a gorgeous view of the valley. The teenagers had a standard room on the side of the building with a view of the courtyard and partial view of the valley. It was much smaller but its unique slanted, beam and tiled ceiling and two windows made it charming and cheerful. The rooms had a refrigerator and safe and wi-fi was available in the hotel’s common areas. The grounds were well kept and relaxing by the pool overlooking the valley was a highlight. The staff was friendly and eager to provide quality service. On our morning of departure they went out of their way to secure a bottle of wine for us that we had just discovered on our last night in Tuscany. We found for a relatively short stay – three nights – being in a town like Castellina in Chianti offered the right mix of Tuscan charm without the isolation of staying in a private villa. There are several delis, gift shops, wine shops and restaurants to explore. After shopping in San Gimignano and Sienna, I would definitely recommend the pottery from Pep Bizzarie for quality and price. We enjoyed our meals at Tre Porte and Antica Trattoria La Torre. If we are fortunate to return to Tuscany – we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for 3 nights in July and had a wonderful time.
As soon as we arrived we were made welcome by the owner who was accommodating throughout our stay.

HIGHLIGHTS were the pool, sauna and spa area, the view of the country side, daily breakfast and charming room. Basically everything.

NEGATIVES - absolutely none.

Palazzo squarcialupi is a chianti gem.

Andrew & Natalie.


  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia-DF
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Palazzo Squarcialupi is a gem in the middle of Tuscany, it is strategical for travellers in the Tuscan region since it stays right between Florence and Siena, in the small town of Castellina, near of great mediavel villages of Chianti region! The hotel stays in a historic building very important for the wine culture in Chianti, it has been remodelled and rooms are very spacious and comfortable, having all you need for a good stay, with large bathrooms and bed. The hotel has a complimentary spa with sauna, turkish bath and jacuzzi, which is a must to relax after a walking day in a Tuscan city. it also has an elevator, feature very difficult to find in italian hotels located in old buildings. It lies right in the main street of Castellina, surrounded by excellent restaurants just downstairs, so you don´t need to take car at night to eat some outstanding italian dinner. We stayed 5 days and we thought we could have easily spent more time there. It has a good typical italian breakfast (not american) with fruits, breads, juices, coffee, milk, integral items, jams, cakes and homemade salami, jam, assorted cheese and others. The staff is excellent, very helpful and always smiling, giving tips about restaurants and tours. There is also free parking, which is essential for travellers since they usually visit the Tuscan by car. BAD THINGS: Option of channels on TV is very limited, having only italian speaking channels (no cable). Altough having free parking, it is not right "in" od "under" the hotel, but at 50-100m away, which creat confusion at the first arrival and demands some logistics to check in, since you have to go to the upper street in front of the Police Station to disembark and leave the luggage, then you turn around to the lower street to park (this should be better explained before reaching the hotel, to avoid mistakes).

Room Tip: Choose apartments facing the valley, it is wonderful to wake up and lookf the wineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at Palazzo Squarcialupi in September. This is our 4th or 5th stay and it only gets better each time. We already have it reserved for next fall.. Our room overlooked the vineyards and the pool at the rear of the property. It was a treat every morning to open our shutters to the beautiful, peaceful view. The room was large and spacious, but also traditionally Tuscan. The breakfast buffet is delicious with a wide selection of items. We even had brealfast in our room twice and if was served beautifully. The breakfast room is beautiful and a lovely place to start the day. The entire staff is a pleasure to deal with, helpful and accommodating and friendly. There are many exceptionally good restaurants , all within walking distance, as well as others within a short driving distance. The surrounding towns and villages are all worth visiting. We enjoyed Monteriggioni, Greve, Montefioralle, Panzano, etc. etc. The pool is a real plus for relaxing before or after touring the area. The driving from town to town on Rte. 222 is breathtaking, one stunning hillside after another. This is our perfect vacation retreat for visit the wonderful Chianti region of Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I have had the pleasure of regularly staying at the Palazzo Squarcialupi in charming Castellina, over almost 18 years. Located between Florence, Siena and Arezzo, and with other small towns nearby, it is a comfortable base for exploring Tuscany. As Australians we love the vast and enchanting vistas of the Chianti landscape in which historically ancient population centres still thrive, with evident continuing respect for both culture and nature. But our great pleasure begins and ends with the warm and genuine hospitality we enjoy at Palazzo Squarcialupi . The welcoming, friendly and always helpful owner Monica and her cheerful staff show concern to ensure our happiness at all times. The rooms and appointments throughout the Palazzo are admirable and not gaudy. The views over the valleys and hills of Chianti are extraordinarily wonderful. Breakfasts are a great start to each day. The pool is perfect. We love it all and we can't wait to come back again soon !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a great time at the Palazzo Squarcialupi last October staying in the apartment next door. This year we decided to start our Tuscan trip by returning to the PS and this time we booked a Standard Superior Room in the main hotel building. We arrived quite late so when we opened the shutters on our first morning we were astounded by the view over the valley to the mountains beyond. It was absolutely stunning with clouds of mist slowly melting away. The room (101 I think) was very spacious and perfect for our needs as well as being just a few steps away from the Breakfast Room and Lounge. Another bonus for my wife and I was being able to use the spa in the basement after a days sightseeing. All in all we had another great stay in the PS and would love to return for a third time when the pool is still open!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Squarcialupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Squarcialupi

Address: Via Ferruccio, 22, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Squarcialupi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical center of Castellina in Chianti, you will find the 15th century Palazzo Squarcialupi. In the past, the Palace was a noble residence with agricultural activity and has recently been restored to become the Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Squarcialupi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Palazzo Squarcialupi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Squarcialupi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.