We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Le Piazze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Locanda Le Piazze to your Saves list
Locanda Le Piazze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita le Piazze 41, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“A perfect place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our second time to Locanda Le Piazze and it wont be the last! The location is simply amazing if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Castellina In Chinati is only 10 minutes away by car and is a very charming little town with everything you need, although you never have to leave Le Piazze. The pool and views are amazing, the food and wine are the best part though. Don't go out to eat, you will miss out on the very best in the region. The restaurant is called Tavola and Guido the head chef is the best!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Christoph,
Nothing could make us happier than reading a review like yours, and we thank you.
Come back customers are a great joy, because it means that year after year our property continues to offer a high quality service.
The wonderful landscape which can be enjoyed by the pool, between the vineyards and the olive trees, offers the best of Tuscan beauty.
It is also a pleasure to know that the food in the restaurant was as expected, and even more. The team lead by chef Guido Haverkock, works every day in order to surprise the palate of our guests, who can not leave the property before a taste of the small delights it offers.
Surely we will not stop to improve our structure and we hope to be able to offer you another pleasant stay!
We send you all big hugs from Tuscany!
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the staff of Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
69
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is my second visit to Locanda Le Piazze and it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. The staff was amazing and view is incredible. No matter what our needs were, the staff always accommodated us. Each room has it's own personality which is so unique! Pictures do not do this place justice and one can see forever! Grape vineyards, olive trees and beauty surrounds you no matter where you might be standing. The pool is wonderful as well. Bedding is wonderful and so comfortable. What a relaxing place to stay.

Tavola, the restaurant on site, served superb food and the staff was great as well.

Room Tip: Book early as the hotel is very busy. All rooms are unique so no matter which one you stay in, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my second experience at Locanda Le Piazze. It was excellent last time, and excellent this time. They have made a lot of updates to the property since I was there last making it even more beautiful. The food was excellent, every meal and every course was amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommeren
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This small boutique hotel is situated on a hilltop just west of Castellina in Chianti. The view from the hotel and the pool area is incredible! Miles and miles of rolling hills and vineyards, mixed with olive trees. The gardens around the hotel are also amazing and colorfull. We stayed in one of the executive rooms (no patio) and we loved the room. Spacious and comfortable with a beautifull bathroom with large walk in shower (no bath). The room had a ceiling fan (no noise!) and airco. The restaurant is also a huge selling point. We enjoyed the weekly Sunday grill evening, as well as a normal meal on Saturday and both meals were excellent, thanks to former Michelin star chef Guido. This is really a place to come back to and spend a bit more then just 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in June and everything about the hotel was terrific. Having changed hands just a year ago, it's obvious the new owners have invested vast amounts in improving the facilities, the furnishings and the grounds, plus bring in a Michelin recognized chef. Every room is a bit different, and ours was large, bright, comfortable and had a well remodeled bath, with top level amenities. The breakfasts were lovely, as was dining outdoors under their covered terrace, and the staff, not only in the dining area, but everywhere, were helpful and friendly, yet unobtrusive. The weather was quite warm for June and we found ourselves using the pool, with it's truly outstanding views, every day. Actually, although we ventured into the surrounding areas daily, especially enjoying Castellina and Radda, it was difficult leaving the relaxing atmosphere of the pool area. The new owner is very hands on, and although this property is already excellent, we thought that it will only continue to improve given all of the attention of the owner, who exhibits the taste, financial depth and enthusiasm to make this a very sought after destination. Enjoy it now, it will be more difficult to get into later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Everything at Locanda was amazing from start to finish, the hotel sits well above its official star rating. We had room 11 which was wonderful- staircase down into the large, modern and beautifully furnished room with excellent bathroom. Shower and bath. Prosecco to welcome us (it was our honeymoon). Breakfast was buffet style but superior. Lots of choice and excellent quality. Evening meals, if you chose to eat there, were expensive but delicious. The real star of Locanda is the pool area. Sweeping Tuscan country views, superb pool and luxurious loungers. Could not be better for R&R. Highly recommend it, we stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Room 11 was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I went to the Tuscan countryside with two friends in order to relax and indeed it was relaxing as Locanda Le Piazze turned into a daydream. I’m usually pretty critical but in this case, there is really nothing to say except THANK YOU! A little overview:

Location: in the heart of Tuscany, easy access, 40 minutes from Florence. Close to Siena and San Gimignano.

Setting: a breathtaking view as from our arrival. Vineyards and olive groves as far as you can see, from the restaurant terrace and pool. Typical architecture. Everything is designed, from ultrasonic mosquito repellent for customers to fireflies to brighten up the summer evenings.

Cuisine: Guido, former chef of Bologna, is behind the stove, and in addition to the true taste of fruits and vegetables in Italy, the alliance of modernity and tradition of cooking conquered us (and our stomach, beware + 2kg! J). A sommelier is also here to advise on wines!

Staff: attentive staff all speaking at least English and Italian, each specialized in a third language (German, French, Swedish ...).

Room: intimate (15/20 rooms). Comfort / cozzy (quality bedding in sober colors, exposed beams, view of the Tuscan countryside, a delight at sun dawn). Bathroom with oversized tub and organic bathroom products. Every detail is carefully thought from heated towel rail to bath soft towel provided for the pool.

Amenities: pool perfectly heated (30°c, chilly people will not be afraid to dive!), bicycles available (for the sporty who are used to climb, if not a walk on foot is just as magical).

All in all, the Locanda Le Piazze is a wonderland opened last year by Natacha, the owner, who has a few words for each of its customers (given the success, better to book in advance as rooms are quickly booked!). Sole downside: going back to real life...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Le Piazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Le Piazze

Address: Localita le Piazze 41, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Le Piazze 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you dream of discovering a small, luxury boutique hotel in Tuscany, the romantic Locanda Le Piazze is as exclusive as you will find. Located in between Florence and Sienna, the hotel sits upon a picturesque hill about 6km away from the village of Castellina in Chianti boasting a breathtaking view of the surrounding vineyards.Exuding a simple and understated decor, Locanda Le Piazze was completely renovated this spring and fitted with modern amenities. Each room features air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini bar and safe.A path through olive groves leads to a stunning heated swimming pool and terrace.Our restaurant " TAVOLA" by Chef Guido Haverkock offers a variation of traditional Tuscan cuisine, using biological local ingredients." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Le Piazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Le Piazze Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Le Piazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.