We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Le Piazze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Le Piazze to your Saves list
Locanda Le Piazze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita le Piazze 41, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my second experience at Locanda Le Piazze. It was excellent last time, and excellent this time. They have made a lot of updates to the property since I was there last making it even more beautiful. The food was excellent, every meal and every course was amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you from me and all the staff of “Locanda Le Piazze” for taking the time to write your review and for your nice words.
See that our customers return to us is a great joy, because it means that year after year our property continues to offer a quality service.
Surely we will not stop to improve our structure and we hope to be able to offer you another pleasant stay!
We send you warm greetings from Tuscany,
Claudia Corti
Vice Director
And all the Staff of Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
77
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ommeren
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This small boutique hotel is situated on a hilltop just west of Castellina in Chianti. The view from the hotel and the pool area is incredible! Miles and miles of rolling hills and vineyards, mixed with olive trees. The gardens around the hotel are also amazing and colorfull. We stayed in one of the executive rooms (no patio) and we loved the room. Spacious and comfortable with a beautifull bathroom with large walk in shower (no bath). The room had a ceiling fan (no noise!) and airco. The restaurant is also a huge selling point. We enjoyed the weekly Sunday grill evening, as well as a normal meal on Saturday and both meals were excellent, thanks to former Michelin star chef Guido. This is really a place to come back to and spend a bit more then just 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and nice words.
Locanda Le Piazze enjoys a wonderful position with stunning views all over the valley.
I am happy to know that the restaurant "Tavola" has contributed to make your stay special. Our Executive Chef Guido Haverkock and all his team work very hard and we see all their passion in each meal they serve.
Till next time!

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the team at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in June and everything about the hotel was terrific. Having changed hands just a year ago, it's obvious the new owners have invested vast amounts in improving the facilities, the furnishings and the grounds, plus bring in a Michelin recognized chef. Every room is a bit different, and ours was large, bright, comfortable and had a well remodeled bath, with top level amenities. The breakfasts were lovely, as was dining outdoors under their covered terrace, and the staff, not only in the dining area, but everywhere, were helpful and friendly, yet unobtrusive. The weather was quite warm for June and we found ourselves using the pool, with it's truly outstanding views, every day. Actually, although we ventured into the surrounding areas daily, especially enjoying Castellina and Radda, it was difficult leaving the relaxing atmosphere of the pool area. The new owner is very hands on, and although this property is already excellent, we thought that it will only continue to improve given all of the attention of the owner, who exhibits the taste, financial depth and enthusiasm to make this a very sought after destination. Enjoy it now, it will be more difficult to get into later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the time you spent to write this wonderful review.
Indeed many improvements have been done to the property since new ownership came in, and many others are foreseen for this coming winter.
All the team is proud to work in such beautiful region and property and we are all very attentive to guests wishes to meet their expactations.
We will be very pleased to welcoming you again in the future!

Claudia Corti
and the team at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Everything at Locanda was amazing from start to finish, the hotel sits well above its official star rating. We had room 11 which was wonderful- staircase down into the large, modern and beautifully furnished room with excellent bathroom. Shower and bath. Prosecco to welcome us (it was our honeymoon). Breakfast was buffet style but superior. Lots of choice and excellent quality. Evening meals, if you chose to eat there, were expensive but delicious. The real star of Locanda is the pool area. Sweeping Tuscan country views, superb pool and luxurious loungers. Could not be better for R&R. Highly recommend it, we stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Room 11 was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I went to the Tuscan countryside with two friends in order to relax and indeed it was relaxing as Locanda Le Piazze turned into a daydream. I’m usually pretty critical but in this case, there is really nothing to say except THANK YOU! A little overview:

Location: in the heart of Tuscany, easy access, 40 minutes from Florence. Close to Siena and San Gimignano.

Setting: a breathtaking view as from our arrival. Vineyards and olive groves as far as you can see, from the restaurant terrace and pool. Typical architecture. Everything is designed, from ultrasonic mosquito repellent for customers to fireflies to brighten up the summer evenings.

Cuisine: Guido, former chef of Bologna, is behind the stove, and in addition to the true taste of fruits and vegetables in Italy, the alliance of modernity and tradition of cooking conquered us (and our stomach, beware + 2kg! J). A sommelier is also here to advise on wines!

Staff: attentive staff all speaking at least English and Italian, each specialized in a third language (German, French, Swedish ...).

Room: intimate (15/20 rooms). Comfort / cozzy (quality bedding in sober colors, exposed beams, view of the Tuscan countryside, a delight at sun dawn). Bathroom with oversized tub and organic bathroom products. Every detail is carefully thought from heated towel rail to bath soft towel provided for the pool.

Amenities: pool perfectly heated (30°c, chilly people will not be afraid to dive!), bicycles available (for the sporty who are used to climb, if not a walk on foot is just as magical).

All in all, the Locanda Le Piazze is a wonderland opened last year by Natacha, the owner, who has a few words for each of its customers (given the success, better to book in advance as rooms are quickly booked!). Sole downside: going back to real life...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

many many thanks for your review.
All the staff works with great passion and proud to be here: we are all so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Locanda; indeed the hotel has a great location, chef Guido and his team offer every day great courses using fresh ingredients, mostly organic from local markets.
Many improvements have been done, and many others will be done during next closing season, so everythinkg will be ready again for guests coming in 2015.
We wish to have the opportunity to welcoming you again soon!
Till next time

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the team at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent a lovely 3 days with my husband in this family runed hotel, where service is discreet and efficient. The rooms are spacious and decorated with a lot of taste with beautiful views from all the windows.
Sun set and sun rise its always different!
Only 30-40 minutes away from most major towns like Florence and Siena.
Do not miss out on the hotels restaurant. Its excellent food and the chef will surprise you, amazing quality food from the region with matching wines that will blow you away.
Will definately be back, thanks again for everything we had a lovely time
Ana & Frank

Room Tip: Reserve to eat at least one night in the hotel restaurant, you will not be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Ann & Frank,

thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor users.

We all appreciated your kind words about our staff and food quality and hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the team at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a lovely 4 day stay at this hotel. It has obviously been recently remodelled with a lot of care and attention detail. Our bedroom and bathroom were beautifuuly decorated and the room had lots of light.The bed was large, the bedding luxurious. Our room must have been an outbuilding so had the original terracotta lattice tiles over the windows which restricted the view but we had windows on three sides so no lack of light.. The public areas all use typical Tuscan stone and terracotta with flowers everywhere, just what I want from a Tuscan hotel. There are plenty of outdoor areas to sit and read or have a glas of wine, which you do need because only a few of the rooms have a terrace and none have a balcony from what i could see. The pool area and terrace are also immaculate with views of the countryside. We ate at the hotel twice and the food was wonderful, but i have to say im not a gastronome so my view is subjective. It's not cheap to stay there but lovely for a treat, and we found that nothing in Tuscany is cheap! In the interest of balance there were a couple of things to note. It was so quiet you could get bored, it was tumbleweed by the pool no one there all day! And if you like to chat to other guests you might find it difficult they are mainly couples and seem to want privacy. However the staff were really friendly and helpful so that made up for it.

Room Tip: I understand from another guest that a couple of rooms have small windows but im not sure which, i w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePiazze, Vice Direttore at Locanda Le Piazze, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Anna,

thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to describe our hotel and its atmosphere. For exploring lovers, our hotel is the perfect place to relax after the busy days around the Chianti area, but also for the ones who want just to enjoy a glass of Chianti at our pool area, surrounded by vineyards, with beautiful views of the valley.
Till next time, best wishes from all of us!

Claudia Corti
Vice Director
and the whole staff at Locanda Le Piazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Le Piazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Le Piazze

Address: Localita le Piazze 41, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Le Piazze 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"If you dream of discovering a small, luxury boutique hotel in Tuscany, the romantic Locanda Le Piazze is as exclusive as you will find. Located in between Florence and Sienna, the hotel sits upon a picturesque hill about 6km away from the village of Castellina in Chianti boasting a breathtaking view of the surrounding vineyards.Exuding a simple and understated decor, Locanda Le Piazze was completely renovated this spring and fitted with modern amenities. Each room features air conditioning, flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini bar and safe.A path through olive groves leads to a stunning heated swimming pool and terrace.Our restaurant " TAVOLA" by Chef Guido Haverkock offers a variation of traditional Tuscan cuisine, using biological local ingredients." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Le Piazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Le Piazze Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Le Piazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.