We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check which room you get. do not stay there in the summer when it's hot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi to your Saves list
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Check which room you get. do not stay there in the summer when it's hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We came on a honeymoon.
We wanted a romantic room. We got a room facing the parking lot.
Sure there are more beautiful rooms. Just make sure you get them, otherwise any recommendations on this place are wrong.
It was hot and impossible to sleep without air conditioning.
Tried to help us and brought us a fan, but it is not enough.
We thought it be the most beautiful place we're at on our honeymoon. It was the most disappointing place.
shame

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    94
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
222
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Mid November we spent 8 days in the Chianti and Tuscany region ..finding a hotel daily which was interesting. However, had we found this gem at the start, we would have stayed and travelled by rental car from there! The weather was still mild and the crowds were gone, so there was no sense of rushing around. In fact, we think it was a perfect time to visit . Kristina, at the front desk went out of her way to get us there and welcome us. The room was very comfortable and homey..just what we liked, with antique decor and wonderful bed.. The price was so reasonable (we had paid 10-15 Euros less at other hotels which were definitely not in the class of Salivolpi. The town and area are great, and here you could visit a day each in Pisa, Florence, and Siena and be back relaxing by evening. The breakfast was lovely including a "boil your own egg machine" which was unusual, and the food was delicious and abundant.. We would not recommend this for an active nightlife, which to us was a plus..quiet and serene. We would highly recommend this fantastic spot!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Salivolpi offered comfortable accomodations in a great location - easy to get to, walkable to Castellina in Chainti, and within easy drive of many other inviting places to visit. The staff was very helpful with information about the area including about wineries and tours. Good restaurants were close at hand. The public areas of the hotel were confortable. (In warmer weather we would have enjoyed the garden.) The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and was overseen by a very attentive signora. We also appreciated the hotel's efforts in energy conservation. We would definitely recommend Salivolpi to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

What a beautiful place! The room was lovely and very clean, not luxurious, but just what we wanted. The bathroom was spotless. We had a very nice breakfast each morning, which included varieties of sliced meats, breads, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and you could boil your own eggs by dipping color coded holders into a simmering electric pot. Graciella, who maintains the buffet, was super nice and accomodating. We stayed here for most of our honeymoon in Tuscany. It was a central place to stay in the region. We drove to Siena, San Gimignano, Florence, Greve in Chianti and Radda in Chianti, and everything was easily within an hour driving time. You do need a car to get into the center of town, though--pretty long walk without one. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This very small hotel has all of the amenities you are looking for. A beautiful setting, very clean rooms, outstanding service and more. Very cozy and comfortable. The staff is so gracious and more than willing to go above and beyond to provide any and all services, such as restaurant reservations, driving directions, best places to park, etc. Absolutely wonderfully located in the heart of Tuscany, close to all cities and hill towns. I totally miss staying there and seeing all of the people with whom we made friends. When I return to Tuscany, I will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

The hotel is as beautiful if not more than the pictures on the internet. The staff at Hotel Salivolpi goes out of their way to make your stay the best you will ever experience. Honestly, I would go back in a heartbeat and was sad to have to leave. We made many friends at the hotel and among the staff. This atmosphere was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bernard, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed here with a group of four couples. Service was very good and the accomodations were quaint and just what you'd expect from a Tuscan farmhouse. The grounds were beautiful. Breakfast was great, though maybe not worth the price. Had a great time each evening having cocktails on the back porch overlooking the Chianti hills. However, no air conditioning in the rooms which is a problem in the heat of summer, especially if you have allergies and can't leave the windows open. It is also just a little too far from town to walk (more than 1km it seemed), especially in the heat of summer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.