We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility in the hills of Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi to your Saves list
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility in the hills of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights in late June 2014.
The hotel was a pleasure, especially the staff! Silvia and the others at the front desk were charming and very helpful in finding us places to visit, eat and get the full feeling for the area.
The place was spotless and beautiful! The nights were completely quiet. The views had no end. The gardens and grounds are well maintained and the pool was crystal clear! All of this lent itself to creating a few days of unmatched R&R!!
Thank You Hotel Salivolpi!! When in Italy again, we are sure to pay a visit!
Tutto era perfetto! UN milione di Grazie!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    106
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
246
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on part of our honeymoon in June. Everyone was so helpful and the location couldn't be better! They organized a wonderful driver to and from Florence and a great cooking class. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear RachelSta, we like really much your enthousiasm and your warm appreciation on your stay at our Hotel Salivolpi! So glad you’ve enjoyed all the moments spent here and all the great activities that make every perfect stay with us a unforgettable stay!
The Manager (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in a former Tuscan farmhouse. Original features, timber beams, fireplaces, original doors and windows, old style furnishings but with modern bathrooms and swimming pool. Nice gardens to relax it. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Castellina in Chianti. However, the best asset of this hotel is the staff. Without exception they were the most helpful, friendly and professional we had met in a long time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear KevinD201, our warmest grazie for your words of appreciation on our country hotel Salivolpi. Our staff is proud to read such a beautiful review and we all are so happy you enjoyed all the corners and details of our cozy inn: the well cared rooms with old original furnishing, the fresh swimming pool and the relaxing and welcoming garden are only a few places where finding a little paradise for itself. See you next time, we hope!
The Manager (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I think how you feel about a place often depends on the room you end up getting. This is a nice property and the people who work there are nice, but I think I must've had the worst room on the property. There is a small building that looks like an owner's house. There are a set of steps on the side that lead up to a porch and then you enter into this building and there are 4 rooms. My room was at the front. I had two windows -- one that was right next to the steps that everyone walked up and the other facing the front patio that everyone walked by to get into the building. So, when I was in my room, I really couldn't keep the windows open because I was totally exposed to whomever was coming and going. Anyway, sort of a bummer. The property is fairly small, but it's nice. It's a downhill walk to town - maybe about 15 minutes -- and there are a couple of restaurants between the hotel and town that are also convenient. I've stayed in the Castellina area before, but it was at villas where I had my own apartment and stayed for an entire week. For just a night or two, this place was fine, but I would ask for a different room next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I spent nine nights at the Salivolpi in May/June 2014 and could not have wished for a more comfortable room or for warmer, more hospitable staff. Everyone, from reception to the housemaids to the kitchen staff, greeted with a warm smile and provided exceptional service.

My room was comfortable and clean, with a beautiful view from my window and from the terrace outside. Although close to the road, I wasn't troubled by traffic noise. I enjoyed the drift of conversations from cycled as they rolled past. The grounds of the hotel include stretches of lawn, pretty flower beds and a pool I wish we could have tried (too cold!)

The hotel breakfast offered a variety of options including yoghurt, fruit, juices, pastries, breakfast cake, toast, cheese, prosciutto and eggs, plus a variety of coffee and tea options. The hotel is a short walk from the restaurant Il Fondaccio del Dottori which became our regular, and an easy 15 minutes stroll to the centre of the village of Castellin, with a break for gelato on the way.

The village itself is lovely, well-serviced, friendly and a pretty perfect base for exploring the Chianti region.

Room Tip: We were in the block of four rooms separate to the main building. This is perfect for a group using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Briar1078,
what a joy in reading your lovely words about your stay in our country Hotel. So glad you appreciated our warm hospitality and the way we like to treat our guests, this is our most important
aim! We like to make people feel like at home and to wish to come back soon when they leave!
All our rooms are comfortable and well cared with a little touch of charming rustic style. The lovely garden and the swimming pool give to our guests special moments of relax and positivity.
The position makes our Hotel Salivolpi a strategic starting point for a walk down town to enjoy the nice restaurants, the pretty historical centre or for longer excurtions to the faboulous places that surround us. The breakfast, healthy and various gives to our guests the best start possible for a wonderful day. We really would be honored to welcome you again here at Salivolpi with our greatest smile and a good Chianti wine glass!
The Manager (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on our trip through Tuscany and we wished that we could have stayed a bit longer.

In a quite area in walking distance to the charming town of Castellina in Chianti, this hotel offers a beautiful view on the Chianti landscape. The garden is very peaceful and we were even tempted by the nice pool, although it turned out to be still quite cold in May (we had been warned though ^^)

The rooms were a nice mixture of rustic traditional elements (some of the furniture), combined with modern comforts (very nice bathroom, TV, fridge, etc.)

The real strong point of the hotel is however the service. All of the staff members are extremely helpful and friendly provide useful information on surroundings, restaurants, tourist sites, wineries etc.
We were especially thankful to Sylvia at the front desk, who never tired to give us friendly and useful advice or to answer our questions about her home region.

The breakfast buffet offers a large choice of continental and especially Italian breakfast.

Due to its central location in the Chianti area, all main tourist sites can be reached easily by car and you will appreciate the calm in the night after the bustle of the day.

The only slight criticism we can make is that internet is not included in the hotel price, but has to be purchased extra (even if it's at a moderate price of 2 EUR for 24 h)

All in all, we can fully recommend the Salivolpi Hotel if you visit the Chianti region and would not hesitate to go there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

the hotel is amazing ! loocation is the best The hotel was located in a quiet yet central breathtaking landscape surrounded by vineyards and near Sites of interest
Located between Florence and Siena 15 km off the highway , the ladies in the front desk are helpful courteous, welcoming smile, speak several languages ​​and know the area well ! very clean
the breakfast tasty served at a high level, an intimate dining room and nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
4.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
2.7 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Squarcialupi
Palazzo Squarcialupi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Casalecchi
Villa Casalecchi
#6 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.