We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in July” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had been meaning to post a review forever but I knew it was time to do so when
my husband and I found ourselves so fondly remembering our relaxing stay in Castellina.
Our room was quaint, quiet and nicely decorated. Bed was comforatable and we loved sleeping with the windows open for the nights breeze.
The grounds are lovely and well kept. We enjoyed ending the days adventure just relaxing on the lawn with a bottle of wine beofre dinner.
Sylvia was just wonderful setting up wine tours,dinners and great exploring day trips. We ate and drank and ate and drank...she did not steer us wrong once!!
We also had breakfast with the room which was a perfect little start to the day.
The staff were friendly ,fun, full of great advice and ideas for your day trips!
Wonderful hotel great basecamp for exploring the area!
We'll be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear mmalin, our deepest “thank you” for the beautiful words you have spent for us. We are really happy to see that your appreciation in every thing about our country hotel: from the pretty details of our well cared and cozy rooms, the beautiful and refreshing garden that gives a little shadow during beautiful and sunny summer days, and where you may enjoy a good glass of Chianti wine hearing happy birds singing all around…. A special Thank you from Silvia, ever waiting for you with many other suggestions! Our Staff is proud and always happy to help the guests in their daily planning and to tell some secret places to reach to discover the Chianti region and all the towns around at the best. Loved that you enjoyed also our healthy breakfast buffet as a starting point for a wonderful exploring day.
Please keep best memories about us, you will be most welcome, whenever you want, see you!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    80
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
200
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the hotel. After modern, air conditioned hotel rooms in Rome and Venice, I was a little disappointed not to have another air conditioned room, but the fan in the room was adequate and that is the only minor negative thing I can think of to write.

Everyone was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to reserve tickets for the museums in Florence for us while we went to Pisa for the day.

The situation of the hotel is great, with a walk to restaurants, shops and bars in the lovely village/town close by. The gardens are lovely and there are lots of sun beds dotted around allowing you to relax in peace or you can use the beds and shade by the pool which was small but lovely.

There is a lovely terrace to sit on for evening drinks or coffee, and tables in the garden which we used onto eat a lunchtime pic-nic with food bought from the local co-op and we were always wished Bon Appertite by all the staff who passed by, making us feel quite at home!

The food for breakfast was fine and as expected, with the service and desire to help outstanding.

All in all the situation of the hotel, the relaxed atmosphere and the kindness of all the staff would definitely allow me to highly recommend this hotel and I would happily return.

Room Tip: Room 32 has a very large bathroom with a window allowing the air to move around the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Jane G, we thank you for the lovely review about our hotel Salivolpi, your words make us proud and plenty of joy. From your words we can feel how pleasant has been your stay with us in Chianti: from the moments spent in our beautiful areas, relaxing days by the swimming pool or in our lovely and refreshing garden. Our visiting all the beautiful spots around us: as most of our guests you have noticed that our country hotel has a very good position in the heart of the Chianti area, good place to depart for the visit of the nicest villages of the region, from Castellina in Chianti to San Gimignano, from Siena to Monteriggioni and many more. It was a pleasure for us participate at the organization of your holiday here and we think that the result was appreciated!
We hope to see you again at Salivolpi, you will be really welcome any time!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week in August. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and nicely decorated. If you are travelling in the summer months, better to get AC as the rooms directly under the roof can get really hot. Nice and clean swimming pool. The hotel is located about 1 km out of the centre of the village and although it can be a bit far to walk, it did not really bother us. I am sorry to say that we would have been happy to give this hotel a good review had it not been for one the staff in charge (Silvia) who was very rude to us throughout our stay. Perhaps she was tired or she just took a dislike to my husband and I for asking to change room but her attitude nearly ruined our stay. At one point I thought of leaving the hotel early (which I would have done had our room not been prepaid). This was the third hotel we stay in during our two weeks holiday in Tuscany and the only time where we encountered such a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms not face the parking are more quiet and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located at the North entrance to Castellina In Chianti, these beautiful grounds with a rustic feel provided a wonderful refuge from a long day of driving.
Walking distance from several restaurants (some of which you can get a discount voucher for at the desk), so we found ourselves walking into town despite the long day we had had.
The staff was very helpful, including in assisting us to plan our next day.
Breakfast was a buffet with a variety of good foods and beverages.

Room Tip: There are two diffferent sets of rooms, one of which is up a steep flight of stairs. If that's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Daniel K, thank you for your nice words, your lovely review makes us very happy. You have caught the essence of spending some time in our picturesque region, very close and comfortable location near the town centre of Castellina in Chianti, but enough away to enjoy the calm and relaxing area around the refreshing pool and the beautiful gardens of our country Hotel Salivolpi. Glad that you’ve enjoyed all the helpful informations and assistance that our staff is pleased to tell to our guests and the healthy and various breakfast buffet that gives our guests a very good start for the day. Thank you again and please, be welcome any time!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved staying in this beautiful hotel. Our room was clean and quite large with a very large bathroom. We loved the location-- the town was a very walkable distance of maybe a mile. The town has at least 5 restaurants all with very good food and wine. We were also able to walk to a winery from the hotel. The scenery was amazing. I would stay here again in a heart beat, and we would recommend it to everyone. The very fair price was an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Sara333W, a big thank you for sharing with other users of this community. We are very pleased to read your beautiful words and appreciation to our Country Hotel Salivolpi. We are extremely happy that you loved all the details of your stay with us, such as the clean and cozy rooms, the hotel location in the heart of Chianti Classico region, all the excellent offers of good food around us and all these details that give to your holiday a special twist. We are waiting again for another stay, as fast as your heart beats! See you soon!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Reception very nice! All the staff really worried about the guests' satisfaction. Very nice place, comfortable, clean and cozy! My wife and me affirm our desire to go back to Salivolpi with frequency as this would bring us a great pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Carlos T, we are so glad to read your personal satisfaction about your stay at the Hotel Salivolpi! We love to take care of our guests and give them the more we can. Happy to see that you appreciated all our peaceful country inn, our cozy and clean country style rooms always well cared from our wonderful cleaning ladies. We really hope to welcome you again at Salivolpi in a short time, you will be mostly welcome and it will be our pleasure!
The Diretcor (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I spent 9x of the best nights we can remember, at the hotel Salivolpi, during the last week in june.It all began with the reception that we received on arrival, from Silvia, who had remembered us from our visit last year. Her welcolming smile and friendly manner, made us feel like we were visiting a friend. We had been allocated room 10 in the main house, which even during the heat of the day, was still surprising cool. Silvia told us about the latest tours, attractions and more importantly the discounts we were entitled to at the local restaurants. One of these was the Michellin starred restaurant on the edge of town, which we booked imidiately for our anniversary, later that week. Thanks to Silvias advice and a little exploring ourselves, we found excellent Tuscan food, which was good value, with in general, excellent service. All the staff at the Salivolpi are very helpful and willing to help, whatever you need. If you want a real Italian treat you must try this wonderful hotel

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear bryan m,
We THANK YOU so much for your fantastic words about Hotel Salivolpi and for spending your times to write it. For all of us it is a great pleasure to know that you were satisfied about everything during your staying: the choice of the best room according your needs, suggestions to explore our beautiful region and for the best restaurants of any category. Your second coming at Hotel Salivolpi for a so important event as your anniversary is a guarantee you agree our efforts to make your staying at our hotel unforgettable: our relaxing garden and a good glass of wine by the pool helps us a lot!A special THANK YOU from Silvia first of all for your kindess and sympathy, who will always be grateful for the warm evenings with your "soundtrack" live. We all are waiting for your next coming in Chianti region with new suggestions to spend a lovely times at our hotel.
The Manager (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.