We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden cute gem in heart of chianti Tuscan area perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden cute gem in heart of chianti Tuscan area perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an adorable converted farm stone house that is close enough for walking distance to the village of Castellina in Chianti. It is also next door to the best pizza italian / wine restaurant I've been to.. and trust me I travel for a living..very few can compare . The staff were very hospitable and accommodating to our needs. I can't compliment enough how friendly and helpful they were. The rooms have character and are well kept. It has a pool and a barn that serves a delicious breakfast. Silvia was the inn keeper and she helped us get to the Castle in Chianti without confusion as well as other remarkable sites nearby. I did explore around the area and couldn't find anyplace that would be so close that would make the experience more enjoyable. I highly recommend Hotel Salivolpi and cherish my stay there.

Room Tip: We were two friends traveling together and asked for two beds, the inn keeper emailed us immediately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Nancy B,
What a joy reading your words about our inn. It is such a pleasure when Guests are so satisfied as you are, it helps us to give more and more! Delighted to know you loved the comfortable and country-styled rooms, as well as the yummy breakfast in the morning. Salivolpi is really a wonderful spot for visiting our town Castellina in Chianti and the beautiful area around us, the Chianti region! Your compliments make us very proud of our job and we truly hope to welcome you soon back in Salivolpi for another pleasant and joyful stay!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    76
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
185
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being in the middle of Chianti and close to the center of Castellina, the location of the hotel is perfect, if you plan a relaxing holiday.

The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear esrave,
A big Thank you for spending your time to write a so special review of Hotel Salivolpi. We are very happy you enjoyed everything: the clean & comfortable rooms, our tuscan buffet breakfast, the friendly helpful staff and the perfect location to relax and to explore the Chianti region.So, we remain waiting for your next holidays at Hotel Salivolpi!
The Manger (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After ten years we came back to this wonderful little hotel. Our best impression for the warm and friendly atmosphere remains the same. The ladies at the front desk, as well as the owners were all very charming people and Sylvia offered us new experiences with her suggestions for restaurants and excursions in the area. We were also very happy to meet Randee, the charming black and white cat, who paid her visits in the morning outside the bathroom's window. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the whole setting made us feel 'at home'.
We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here with a wine education group as a part of a tour of Chianti's 'Classico' region. The location was selected and arranged by our guide.

What a great choice on his part. Tuscany is breathtaking, and in all directions you'll find amazing green, rolling hills striped with vineyards and old stone farmhouses that invoke a quiet history of farming and hard-working people.

That's how I can best sum up the Salivolpi: Tuscan country, inside and out. A beautiful old building in shades of slate and oak, with amenities that create the perfect combination of rustic charm and modern comfort. The rooms are all nicely decorated and spacious, which is a rarity in most of Europe. Unlike many places we've stayed, Salivolpi isn't dated, seedy or in need of a good cleaning. All the attention to detail is already there.

The staff couldn't be nicer. On any given night, after our return from a late dinner, they had a very shy and humble attendant waiting at the tiny bar to offer you an espresso or a drink. They stayed as long as we sat there. On one night, I borrowed a wine opener and accidentally took it home to the US with me. I felt so bad, that I emailed them when I got home to let them know. They told me to keep the opener as a souvenir.

The breakfast room is a few paces below the main building and is equally nice. You can pretty much get whatever you need here - eggs, toast, cereals, yogurt, fruits, etc. and of course lots of well-made Italian coffees.

You'll need a car to get around this region, no doubt. Within walking distance, weather permitting, the small town nearby offers a few options for dining and groceries. There is a post office there too. Otherwise, expect miles and miles of quiet, thoughtful landscape - and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Msupsic,
Thank you for spending your time to write a so special review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your staying at the Hotel Salivolpi: the authentic tuscan style of the farmhouse according to the modern comfort, our buffet breakfast with some home made products too, the kindness & helpful staff.The fantastic location help us to give our guests an unforgettable staying: in heart of Chianti region but close to the most important tourist centers and last but not least, the countryside landscape!We hope to have the pleasure to Welcome you again at Hotel Salivolpi perhaps in a warmer season to sip a glass of Chianti relaxing at our pool!
The Manager (Cristina Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our stay in Castellina was probably one of the most enjoyable and relaxing holidays we have ever had. The Salivolpi was spotless, welcoming and everything it said on the web site. The ladies at the front desk were both knowledgable and helpfull and couldnt do enough to make our stay one we'll always treasure. The rooms were spotless, the beds comfortable and the showers, always hot. The hotel was ideally situated to visit Castellina and the exercise walking to town and back, helped to burn off the calories from the previous day. All in all i would recommend you stay here and enjoy, the scenery, people, food and wine, especially the wine.

B.Mitchell

Room Tip: in the height of summer book a room in the main house, on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It has been 5 years since my friend stayed at this charming hotel, and we are still talking about it. The view from our room was spectacular, the room itself was clean and comfortable, not cramped as so many are. Breakfasts were awesome. It was a bit of a walk to the town, but we needed it to walk of those wonderful meals. We're hoping to visit them again this year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I loved everything about this hotel. It was by far the best place we stayed on our Italian road trip and the cheapest. Our standard room was lovely and decorated in authentic tuscan style. The location is excellent a short walk in to town and to restaurants. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.The receptionist spoke about 5 different languages which impressed us and she reccomended some great sights and restaurants to visit. Definately the highlight of our trip, we spent 5 nights and did not want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany
Address: Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.