We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Salivolpi is a lovely hotel, well situated for exploring the region, and excellent value. Our bedroom (which was located above the breakfast room) was small but charming, with a comfortable bed, a dressing room/walk-in closet, and a surprisingly large, nicely appointed bathroom. Ample breakfast (extra cost of 7 Euros per person); friendly, helpful, multi-lingual staff; well maintained grounds and pool; free WiFi (that actually works!). A bit of traffic noise, which was a surprise, but not problematic. Castellina is a quaint, small town with some good restaurants, several of which have arrangements with the hotel for discounts. Very glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tina SV,
THANK YOU for spending your time to write your review about Hotel Salivolpi.
We are really glad you liked your Classic double room with its “boudoir” and big bathroom; of course, the Superior rooms have a bigger bedroom. Anyway our hotel offers any kind of accomadation with different location for every requirement according to the customer's request.
The buffet breakfast served in the large dining room with feature fireplace, is one of our goals, such as kindness and helpfulness of all the staff in giving information and advice.
We hope to welcome back at Salivolpi to explore more of our wonderful Chianti region!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    83
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
203
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The village of Castellina and the Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi were so appealing that it was difficult to follow plans and leave after breakfast on day trips elsewhere. Plan to have at least a day to explore the area and enjoy dinner at one of many restaurants available.
Everything about the Inn was Five Star due to the wonderful staff who were so knowlegable and accomodating. Our rooms were charming and immaculate! We slept great in comfortable beds, tried to see all that we could and have only fond memories of our first visit to Castellina but hopefully not the last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear vincent f, our warmest thank you for your beautiful description of your holiday with us! Your appreciation about the staff makes us so proud and happy of our work, it is good to read that you give us a five stars evaluation! So glad that you liked all the wonderful corners that Chiantishire can offer to its visitors. The care and cleanliness of our rooms made your stay comfortable and unforgettable! We hope this will be the first of hundreds of visits to Salivolpi! You’ll always be welcome!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location and a charming hotel. The front desk staff, especially Simone, were all helpful and welcoming. We were originally booked for 3 nights, but were able to add an extra night since we were so pleased with everything about the hotel and the area. Our room was small, but quite adequate and cleaned spotlessly. Shower pressure was good. The location was wonderful, an easy trip to Sienna, Florence and San Gimignano, as well as to the local small grape and olive growing areas. WIFI was free and available in our room. Simone made arrangements for us to tour the Castellare vineyards, just about 3K from the hotel. The only thing that was a bit strange, was that there was a charge for breakfast rather than have it included in the price of the room. It was quite reasonable, 6 or 8 euros, but we thought it should have been included in the price of the room. The hotel has an agreement with many of the local restaurants to receive a percentage meal discount. An easy walk into town with a wonderful gelato shop on the corner makes this a great spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear chtemple,
Thank you for your perfect review and to spend your time to write it.
Your satisfaction about your stay at the hotel Salivolpi fills us with pride as we all always try to do our best to offer our guests an unforgettable staying at Hotel Salivolpi. That’s right, the location hepl us in it as central into the Chianti region, close to the most important tourist centers, the hotel is the typical tuscan farmhouse offering any modern comfort such as Wi-Fi. Our Staff is always helpful for any information and suggestions on itineraries and activities with a specila Thank you from Simona for your compliments….and what can we say about the fantastic traditional tuscan cuisine and the and excellent ice cream shop 700 meters from the hotel! Bon appetit!
From our own web-site you have both possibility to book with or without buffet brekfast with the additional price of 7,00 euro, while from all others you can book only bed only as
as it can be seen in the additional information of each website.
We THANK YOU again for your fantastic review hoping to Welcome you again at Salivolpi!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with our stay and recommending places to visit and where to eat. The hotel and room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect for taking day trips to other Tuscan towns. we truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear MichaelPer_61,
A Big Thank You from all of us for your fantastic review about Hotel Salivolpi. What a great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed everything of your stay: our friendly & helpful Staff with any suggestions about the area & activities, the comfortable and clean rooms and the central location to discover our region. We remain waiting for you again at Salivolpi, ever with a big smile and new itineraries to visit the Chiantishire!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights and everything was very nice. My only complaint would be that the the toilet in the bathroom was poorly placed in a tihgt corner and difficult to get to.
The breakfast was great, the bed was very good and the service, especially from Sylvia at the front desk, was exdellant. We would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DaleF, we are so glad that you appreciated the 3 nights you spent at Salivolpi. Our staff is proud of your commentary mostly Silvia, who gives you her warmest regard! Glad that you appreciated our abundant and yummy buffet breakfast that every morning waits for our guests to start the day in a better way! We hope you will come back to Salivolpi in the future, thank you!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montauk, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very Beautiful location & very nice hotel but very unfriendly & unhelpful staff, additional charges for everything, beware. Out of all the hotels we've been to so far they are the first unwilling to help us. We had a flat tire in rental car & our cell phones were not working & they refused to call the free 800 emergency line for us from the house phone, insisted that we use the pay phone in our room. First for us since we have been here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear trishmontauk,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review of Hotel Salivolpi and we are glad you have appreciated the location and the authentic Tuscan style of the property, just in heart of Chianti area.Probably there was a misunderstanding about your problems with the car; as it was late evening and offices closed at 6:30 or 7:00p.m. the staff suggest to call the next morning to the closest office of the your rental car company to make sure you have a replacement machine.This is the fastes way to get an answer, while by the free number need mulple steps.To whom book directly from our website, we offer some free services such as Wi-Fi , Free tasting of Chianti wine a.s.o.and in all web sites is always specified which services are included. We really hope to Welcome you again at Salivolpi to offer you a glass of our Chianti wine!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spend a week in Castellina every fall in a rental - we needed an extra night this year and stayed at Salivolpi. Good choice! It was comfortable, quiet, nice grounds and really lovely staff. Silvia at the front desk will take good care of you. I want to stay for longer so I can enjoy the beautiful pool. It is an easy walk to town and I would totally reccomend Salivolpi to someone who wants the real feeling of being in Chianti!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear
Thank you for your fantastic review of Hotel Salivolpi and for taking your time for it.
It 's very gratifying for us to know you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel, the tranquility of the place and the pleasure of our staff to make the stay at Salivolpi indimenticabili.A special greetings from SILVIA with a big kiss to Sophie.
We will then look for a longer stay to relax in our cool shady garden and pool !
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.