We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque with Amazing Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi to your Saves list
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Picturesque with Amazing Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Salivolpi was a lovely stay - they upgraded us to a superior room since it was our honeymoon :) The grounds are beautiful, the building itself is gorgeous stone, the rooms are delicately designed. It was at the very top of Castellina, and the sunset walk we took around the own was magnificent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear ohdonnaoh,
Absolutely magnificient are your words about our typical stone farmhouse with its characteristic rooms ever reflecting the typical tuscan style all surrounded by the countryside.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Salivolpi for a so special trip such as honeymoon with a special surprise!
We are waiting for your next Chianti holidays!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    94
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
220
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Salivolpi for three nights. The hotel, with a pretty tuscany style, is close to the Castellina center with beautiful surroundings. The accomodations were very good.
We enjoyed very much our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Ferdinando C,
Thank you for your fantastic words about the true Tuscan style of our farmhouse, close to the centre of the village but surrounded by the countryside, with its accommodations reflecting the traditional architectural style but with every comfort.
We really hope to give you our best hospitality in the next future at Hotel Salivolpi !
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I recently Stayed at this B&B place, and we have a wonderful stay. The accommodations were fantastic, the rooms were very clean and smoothing, with wireless internet in the rooms. This place is really worth it, especially if you need a break from the crowded bigger places in Italy, to relax, enjoy and sip a glass of Chianti in their beautiful patio area looking over the wine fields. Their staff (Sylvia) was very helpful in getting us situated and gave us great tips of things and places to go around. The "Signora" (can't believe I forgot her name) that provided us breakfast (included in our package deal) every morning was so warm and sweet making you feel very welcomed. When your wife tells you, this is a nice place! you know you made the right choice! We will definitely will go back to this wonderful place on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear vento98,
we are all very exciting reading your wonderful words of Salivolpi and proud to have you fully satisfied. We ever try to give our best as hospitality, services by buffet breakfast, clean rooms, Wi-Fi all helped by the relaxing atmosphere of our garden and pool.
It’s a big pleasure for us to be helpful withany suggestion for tourist trail, winery tours, castles tour, hiking and biking, horseback riding, golf ... all what can offer our beautiful region. And it's easy being right in the heart of Chianti! Thank you for spending your time to write about Hotel Salivolpi and we hope to welcome you again to give you another unforgettable holidays!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Absolutely amazing hotel! We spent Spring Break in Florence and Tuscany and stayed for three nights at the Salivolpi. What an authentic Italian experience - we fell in love with the darling Italian `Momma` who runs the breakfast restaurent and the hotel itself. The staff couldn`t have been more helpful or friendly. Our favourite hotel in Italy by a long shot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Anne_Marie_Calgary,
Absolutely amazing are your words about Hotel Salivolpi! Having been your favorite hotel in Italy fills us with joy and encourages us to improve even more.A big Thank You for spending your time for Salivolpi.
Let the memory of an authentic Tuscan experience is our goal, thanks to the true Tuscan farmhouse style, serving a faultless breakfast buffet and our helpful and friendly staff.
We remain waiting for you for your next dream in Chianti!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very nice family owned place with romantic and genuine buildings, garden and environment. Clean and comfortable rooms nicely decorated. Good restaurants in walking distance in the little town, but also a positive surprise next door. The family was helpful and guided us to good sightseeing spots as well as a winetasting in the town. The lady running the breakfast serving was amazing and wanted to give us all a good start of the day. We keep the Salivolpi on our favourite list for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Ninni A,

Thank you for spending your time to write a so fantastic review about Hotel Salivolpi.
We are very pleased that you appreciated everything :cleaning and comfortable rooms with authentic tuscan fornitures, the location nearby the centre of Castellina in Chianti but
surrounded by the countryside, a very a hearty breakfast buffet service ever served with a big smile and the pleasure to be helpful for our guests giving any suggestion to explore Chianti region.
Offering a tasting at the wine shop”La Cantinetta di Belvedere di San Leonino”, is to let the memory of the taste of our land.
It 'nice to know that you will return one: the Hotel salivolpi awaits you!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

A super hotel with friendly helpful staff, terrific breakfast menu and well appointed, if smaller than anticipated bedroom.
Location is wonderful with exceptional views and several restaurants nearby serving traditional Tuscan cuisine.
Siena is gorgeous as are many of the 'tucked away' villages.
Stunning architecture and much of historical interest.
Highly recommended and well worth visiting.

P & L

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Paul C,
Have you our guest is always a great pleasure for us and a big Thank you for spending your time to write a so special review.
We are really satisfied you enjoyed your staying at Salivolpi and you appreciated the friendly helpful staff, the buffet breakfast service and the location of our property: just outside the village Castellina in Chianti but surrounded by the countryside.
We are also situated nearby the most important historical tourist centres: this help us to offer our guests an unforgettable staying!
From our own sito-web, you have the possibility to look the complete map of the property with the exact dimensions of rooms and photos, so you can choice your favourite one!
We really hope to welcome you again at Hotel Salivolpi, to give you more suggestions to explore our fantastic area!
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a great hotel, kept up so well it seemed new. Fantastic breakfast, beautiful rooms, very nice property. We spent one night there going from Venice to Cinque Terra but would return to this hotel to see the Chianti area. Staff was very pleasant and went out of their way to help us.......the hotel really was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Proprietario at Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Herb F.,
Really perfect is your fantastic review of Salivolpi!A big Thank you for spending your time to write it. Your special words about buffet breakfast, nice property and rooms and kindness helpful staff encourage us to do even more than our best!
We remain waiting for you to spend more times at Hotel Salivolpi to discover Chianti area by our suggestions.
The Director (Marco Orlandi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi

Address: Via Fiorentina, 89 | Loc. Salivolpi, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salivolpi is an old farmhouse from 1400, situated on the hill where stood the ancient Etruscan Castellina, the old town of Castellina in Chianti is in walking distance. Surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and cypress trees, enjoy a panorama that sweeps over the valley, from Monteriggioni to San Gimignano. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Siena, 30 from Florence and San Gimignano. Our rooms with authentic decor in rustic Tuscan style, with wrought iron beds and wooden beams, are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi and a minibar. A cozy breakfast room, a large garden, swimming pool and parking available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salivolpi Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.