We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
New York
1 review
“Romantic and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We found this beautiful hotel on tripadvisor and it was even better then what we saw online. Kristina and Anna at the reception area are delightful and answered all our questions with a big friendly smile. This is for sure the most authentic Tuscan experience being surrounded by vineyards and enjoying such beauty. We could not wish for a more romantic place. The rooms are clean and very cozy and comfortable. Thank you for all your hard work it is much appreciated and we will for sure be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    71
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
63
222
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Pros: (1) Location - The setting of this hotel is magnificent - overlooking vineyards with quiet areas to sit and enjoy the views and a glass of wine. The hotel is a 5 minute drive to the quaint town of Castellini in Chianti and less than 20 minutes from other sight seeing venues like Siena. From this hotel we visited Florence, and many spots in Tuscany, always returning at night for the views, the pool and the dinner. (2) Food - the food at this hotel, especially dinner, is wonderful. While the menu is limited (choose from a couple of appetizers, entrees, pastas etc.) the food is just so good. The service and the setting in their garden makes you feel like you are at a five-star hotel, the hostess Heike and host Mario were charming. Wine list is great and you are not rushed at all. (3) Rooms - while "rustic" and somewhat cave-like, the rooms were very quiet and well air-conditioned which was good because it was 90 degrees F plus during our stay. (4) Pool - clean pool, good furniture and umbrellas, overlooking the vineyards. (5) Attitude - everyone here from the staff to the other guests seemed really happy and relaxed.

Cons : A little hard to find at first because it is outside the small town on the main road. Also, the room we were in was a little dark but we didn't care because everything else was so nice.

We all agreed we would come back to this gem of a hotel over and over again. There were other guests there that had been coming for years some staying for months.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Belvedere has a devoted returning customer base and with its good value, stunning location (in the vineyards but not on a white ie unmade road) you can see why. We have returned many times and will continue to. Its formula is simple - this is a three star - good food, simple but good bar, traditional rooms but beautifully clean and well maintained and a helpful staff. That Italians stay there is a good recommendation. The gardens are small but extremely well kept and over recent years the owners have put in some nice little upgrades - bathrobes better toiletries which are all welcome. Free wifi rather than an hourly charge would be an advantage but there are new laptops for those who want internet access and are prepared to pay. The pool isn't heated but is well maintained and when the mercury rises warms up quickly. The breakfast room doubles as dining room outside summer or when it rains which is always a shame because when dinner is served outside it's a location that's hard to beat. The only downside can be the large groups which go through - cyclists, tours - which depending on the dynamics of the group may be an issue as with any large group if they keep late hours, or as when we were there, they decide to hold their own little concert late at night! One tour we heard complain the hotel was 'rustic' and lacked air com throughout. Well this is Tuscany and it's not staying on a farm but we don't look for Philippe Starck! And people who have come for twenty years is a great recommendation for anywhere!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We spent three nights at this lovely, reasonably priced small hotel during a driving tour of Tuscany and Umbria. Our daughter had stayed with them a few years ago and recommended it. We loved it. There are several stone buildings dating to the 15th century, all well appointed. Attractive landscaping, nice patio area and a pool with an incredible view over the vineyards and hills offer great places to relax at the end of the day with a drink and good book. It's a good location for excursions to Chianti area sites Castellina, Greve, San Gimignano, and Siena, including a delightful winery near Greve, Castello di Verrazzano (three hour tour, lunch with wine pairings). You don't need to go far for great food. The ladies at Hotel Belvedere served up some of the best dinners we had on our trip. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Vinyards and olive orchards, rolling hills, great food and wine and a great to location from which to explore Tuscany. The hotel staff is professional and friendly. They even found a home for a kitten we found on a roadside that was almost hit by passing cars. Take a walk through the countryside or lounge by the pool. Hotel Belvedere is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We hope to visit Hotel Belvedere for the fourth time in the not-too-distant future. It is a truly special place in the midst of some of the most beautiful country in Tuscany. The hotel is well-maintained with lovely gardens and a working vineyard. The rooms are classic Tuscan with tile floor and window shutters (at least in our rooms). Their dining room puts out some wonderful fare, and breakfast is lovely as well. They also have a comfortable and welcoming bar/reception area where you can sample local wines at very reasonable prices. And the location is perfect. Youc an explore northern Tuscany's wine region to your heart's content, or any number of nearby hill towns, plus Siena.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

My husband and I toured Italy for 3 weeks before we discovered this absolute gem of a hotel. My idea of what a hotel in Tuscany should be - historic, clean, friendly, excellent food, excellent local wine, and perfect location. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.