We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the Tuscan Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Living the Tuscan Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino enabled us to share the "Tuscan Dream". It is all you can imagine and more. We experienced the most amazing views, absolutely wonderful, helpful, friendly staff; menu was varied daily, meals were inexpensive, rooms were delighful with breathtaking views of the countryside. The gardens and surrounds were immaculate and the rooms clean with much character. I was one of a party of four and spent an amazing week here. We would all book again in a Heartbeat!
Debbie K.

Room Tip: All individual and a character all their own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    74
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
65
229
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We our planning to return toThe Belvedere di San Leonino next summer. Our room was charming, with views of the beautiful garden, cared for every day by a gardener. Beyond that, the surrounding vineyards and olive orchards leave no doubt that you are in a extraordinary place. The optional breakfast and dinner, both excellent, allowed us to have meals at the hotel and spend more time exploring the Chianti area. Most of all, we want to comment on the staff. Their warmth and helpfulness was evident in everything they did. They were always available to guests. Their excellent suggestions and directions to places in Tuscany and beyond, were most appreciated. We have traveled quite a bit, but The Belvedere di San Leonino is the first time we've decided to return.

Room Tip: Comment from above: there was no fitness center and we don't know if room service was available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The Best Hotel with most wonderful staff! We enjoyed the country side, wine tasting and the food was amazing! After our stay in Florence, San Leonino Chianti, was just the place to recharge our batteries for Venice!! Thank you Hotel Belvedere!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I thought this property was close to Castellina but it is in the middle of nowhere. The property is very scenic with grape vineyards, fruit trees and rolling hills all around. There are plenty of places to sit and relax outside. Our room had a wooden beam and brick ceiling with antique looking furnishings. The bath was modern and very large but had no vanity or wall hooks to keep toiletries or robes within reach, only tiny wall shelves. The reception staff was friendly but in high demand and there was always a lengthy wait to check in, out or ask them questions. The breakfast cost extra and was no better than the free ones included with all our other rooms in Italy. We ate dinner there since miles of driving would be necessary otherwise. The prices were high for the quality and quanity received, not much flavor either. The waitress was snobby although we did get a very friendly young man the second night at dinner. Overall, the property is romantic, pretty and quite or there were always other folks in the common areas if you wanted to chat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently spent a wonderful week at Belvedere di San Leonino. The hotel is absolutely charming, everything you could wish for in a Tuscan hotel. Hotel Belvedere is surrounded by vineyards and the country side is beautiful. Our room was delightful and very spacious with views over the surrounding vineyards. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Dinner was served in the garden every night, the perfect setting for an evening in Tuscany and watching the magnificent sunset. We can hardly wait for our next visit to Tuscany and will definitely stay again at the Hotel Belvedere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Belvedere is a lovely, beautifully restored stone farm house from the 1300s. It has a nice size pool with a view of the vineyards. We found the outside dining to be very relaxing with a very good menu. Our room (#10) was sufficiently sized with plenty of storage. The bath was large and modernized. Unfortunately, as we found in other Italian hotels, the shower was undersized. We would consider this hotel again if we were in Chianti.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

While the location was convenient to travel around Tuscany and the setting was beautiful among the vineyards, this was not my favorite place to stay. We were in a room near the kitchen, which was very loud especially in the evening during clean up. You could also hear anyone passing by that was having a conversation. Because it is set off by itself, there is no place to get coffee if you are up early. Also, the extra fees are a bit much, like paying for a towel and internet that doesn't work very well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.