We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Can't say enough about it. Loved everything about it. The rooms were lovely, beds comfortable, great shower, staff was very helpful, good food for dinner and it is beautiful and set in a gorgeous setting. The gal at the desk was charming and very helpful. She helped us set up an amazing cooking class with Paola and wine tour. Both were fantastic - fun and informational. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had the superior room and enjoyed a lovely room. Our son had a Standard room and it was fine - ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Brahmani L,
Thank You for having shared Your wonderful holiday experience in Belvedere di San Leonino and for recommending it highly to the tripadvisor readers ! We indeed have a good range of trips and activities to propose to our guests and we enjoy arranging Your days in Chianti, so You see the best of the surroundings and taste the best of our culture ! And as You say, upon return from the trip, there will always be a wonderful relaxing ambiance in a gorgeous setting and good Tuscan food (with a good wine…) waiting for You ! We will be looking forward to Your next stay with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    71
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
64
224
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville Washington USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and didn’t want to leave. The hotel itself is charming, the location is divine, and the service is superb. A special thanks to Angelina for her wise travel advice and for making our train reservations to Venice. A very big thank you to our waiter Kareem for making dinners such a delight and for taking extra good care of me with endless pots of hot water with lemon and honey for my cold. I can’t imagine a more perfect hotel in a more beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear BookLoversTravel,
Thank You very much for the personal thanks. You are right….the beautiful location and the charm of the old country-house make Belvedere di San Leonino a little paradise and the fabulous service comes with it…….we have a dynamic team and the persons working in San Leonino really love to do their job……so our smile and our service are coming from inside….something rare to find nowadays ! We would love to meet You again in a near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A perfect base from which to explore the towered villages and towns southern Tuscany, the Belvedere has much more to offer. The standard of the public rooms and bedrooms is excellent but, above all, the staff are without exception very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. What more can you ask. After more years than I care to remember touring the world, this is the first time I have stayed at a hotel which I would recommend to anyone without reservation. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the outside staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Tony G,

is a great satisfaction for us to receive this review and we thank you for this.
There is no better way to describe the hotel and the atmosphere than reading your words.
The staff each day try to make your stay here in San Leonino as pleasant as possible.
At the reception we are happy to give you informations about the territory, the places to visit and the activities to make; the waiters are always ready to serve you with an aperitivo or a glass of wine from our production, the Chef Patrizia with passion prepare delicious dishes of the Tuscan cuisine and the maids clean the rooms with attention and care never forgetting the fresh flowers.
Until the next time, hoping soon, we send you our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Currently sat in the bar having a Classico Chianti, and taking a breather after Rome.
This is the place to do it.
Use the hotel as a base for Sienna, and all the "in Chianti" towns of the region. They are all beautiful.
Staff are friendly, great food in the restaurant but limited selection.

Would like to come back

Great value for money in this region, and centrally located. Drive up from Sienna and its on the right hand side of the road just south of San Leonino town

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Don B,

the tourists that will read your opinion about our hotel will know that San Leonino is very well situated to visit the nicest villages of the Chianti area as Castellina in Chianti, only at eight km from the hotel.
In this area you can do so many activities that our reception staff will be happy to present you.
In the restaurant we serve each day a different tuscan menù, like this eating here every night you will never have the same thing.
In your next visit here in San Leonino you will discover the changes that we have done.
Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a fantastic place. We stayed only for one night, but we'll never forget it! The location is just outside Castellina in Chianti and the surrounding countryside is breath-taking. The staff is extremely friendly and everyone seems determined to make your stay as memorable as possible. We got upgraded to a superior bedroom without having to pay extra. The room was spacious and clean; all the toiletries - top quality. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the atmosphere very homely. A lady at the reception noticed that it was my birthday the following day and I got a bottle of wine from grapes grown in the vineyard as a birthday present! We are only sorry that we did not stay here for our entire stay. Siena and San Gimignano are very close and easy to drive to. If travelling around Tuscany, stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Ekaterina M,
We are delighted to see that your stay in our hotel was so pleasant even though was short.
The comfort and the furniture in typical Tuscan style of our hotel are much appreciated by our guests, as well as the toiletries made with olive oil.
Our staff try to make always the stay of our clients here in San Leonino unforgettable.
We hope that you enjoyed the bottle of our red wine and we wait for your next visit, maybe for more days.
Until then we send you our kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had an experience to remember forever it was wonderful. After our arrival we were told that Superior room was available so we were upgraded automatically, without paying extra...uhh huu.... The location close to Florence was great and right in the middle of wonderful Tuscany. I sat by the pool but it was too cold to jump in...it might be better in August. Great reaturant and awsome wine ...drank lots of it ...even got a bit silly one day...will be back again.

Room Tip: get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear nayra g,
Is always a pleasure for us to read a review like yours, thanks to you our next guests will have a more detailed idea about our hotel.
We are happy that your stay here were more that you expected.
Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino have a wonderful position in the heart of the Chianti area, the best place to relax by the swimming pool or in one of our beautiful gardens, maybe drinking a glass of our Chianti wine or reading a book from our library.
Until your next visit, our best wishes from the Chianti Hills!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Don't blink or you might miss this little gem! The Belvedere B & B is about as quaint as they come. The converted farmhouse suites are magazine photo ready! The service is stellar and the restaurant is fantastic! It is about 20 minutes from Siena centro and in the heart of the Chianti wine country! My only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Wanderlust,
We thank you for the time that you dedicated to write this review.
Our 3 star hotel is an ancient farmhouse dating back to the 15th century, located in the region of Chianti Classico, the land of the famous black rooster wine.
The staff is friendly, helpful and at the same time reserved, ready to meet the requests of our guests.
We hope to see you again here in San Leonino, maybe for more days the next time, to enjoy our swimming pool overlooking the valley or to have dinner in our garden from where you can view a beautiful sunset.
Our warmest regards from the Chianti Hills!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.