We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita San Leonino, 23 | Castellina in Chianti Siena, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place very clean and comfortable good breakfast and wine! You need a car though so might not suit everyone. Castellina in chianti was down the road but was a forgetable place apart from the excellent restaurant there which is expensive but worth it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    57
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
55
201
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is what Tuscany is all about! Beautiful countryside and views, wonderful staff and amazing food! The staff are very accommodating and are there to help you plan your days! There are plenty of lounge chairs around the property to relax and take in the view over rolling vineyards at the end of the day. The bar/lounge area inside is relaxing and comfortable and the pool is pristine! The location is perfect! Castellina is close by and the most charming of the Chianti hill towns.
I plan trips and bring tours to Italy for a living and would very happy to have my clients stay here!!
Thank you Ana and Christina for a lovely stay and I look forward to staying with you again next June!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore vendite at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Ciaodarcy,
Your kind words make us to be so proud, all the staff thanks you for your review.
Our staff in Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino try every day to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible.
The hotel is an ancient farm house, dating back to the 15th century, situated in the region of Chianti Classico, the land of the famous black rooster wine.
Here is the best place to relax, in one of our beautiful gardens or by the panoramic swimming pool, drinking a glass of our red wine, listen to the birds singing or enjoying the sunset overlooking the vineyards.
We’ll see you again next June!!! Our best regards,
Angela Orlandi (Sales Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is an old farmhouse that's been converted into a very comfortable hotel. It has complimentary parking, which helps in this part of the region.

The hotel's staffed with very friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are very comfortable and the cooks do fabulous jobs with the dinner each evening! [We had planned on dining out but after the first evening, we decided to 'eat in' throughout our three-night there! Double thumbs up for their panna cotta!!]

The hotel's also centrally located to the other parts of Chianti. What are you waiting for? :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore vendite at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear yiwen-sam,

thank you for your lovely review about our Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino.
Our Hotel is an old farmhouse, dating back to the 15th century. All our rooms are furnishes with authentic furniture in rustic Tuscan style. Our chef Patrizia cooked with love for our guests typical tuscan dishes likes wild board, cinta senese pork, pheasant breast, ribollita, pappa al pomodoro, crostini misti and more others, with delicious cake homemade as panna cotta J, with a different menu each day.
Our staff is waiting for your next visit! What are you waiting for?
For sure this is the perfect place to relax in the heart of the Chianti area.
Best regards from the Chianti hills!!!
Angela Orlandi (Sales Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a find. This country style hotel was just as expected - great clean tidy room fantastic lounge bar area, friendly staff, great facilities, great location... the restaraunt food was to die for ! even the odd 3 miunte power cut made you feel like you were truly in the italian country side. Well done to all the team that run the hotel a hotel truly worth a vist for that Tuscan authenticity.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room, whilst we didnt see the smaller rooms we opted for a larger room and were plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore vendite at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Matth,
Thank you for your kind review!
We are glad to know that your stay with us was “perfect”! This is our mission, and we work hard for it!
It’s true: our location is great and our staff is friendly and we are really interested in helping our guests and in giving them an excellent service.
Our chef Patrizia cooked each day typical dishes from the Tuscan cuisine and you can choose in our small menù alla carte different each day.
We hope to welcome you another time in the next future in our hotel and we send you our best regards!
Angela Orlandi (Sales Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Cristina and the team were very accommodating. They helped with insights and planning day trips in Chianti. The hotel pool was wonderfully clean and inviting. The breakfasts substantial, and service good.
The rolling hills, apple trees, almond trees and vineyards make this a picture-perfect spot.

We ate once for dinner - it was excellent value, and home-style rustic cooking. Thank you for four wonderful days/nights for our young family from Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear the siger_007,
Many many thanks for Your nice review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our suggestions about day trips in Chianti , the breakfasts and the excellent dinner.
Your caught perfectly our spirit…we are really interested in helping our guests and in giving them an excellent service.
Many thanks for pointing this out!
Awaiting to welcome you soon please accept our sincere regards from Castellina in Chianti !.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'd say this resort had it all. The guest services were extremely accommodating. They helped us plan our daily itinery of places to see and were right on the mark with their suggestions. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was such a treat to wake up and gaze over the rows of grape vines stretching into the misty horizon. In the evening we would sit in the gardens and sip our wine. There is a large pool available however we unfortunetly didn't have the best weather to use it. The restaurant had delicious meals which was a good thing as there really wasn't anything else around. It is isolated in the countryside, so if you prefer being in the hub, then this is not for you. We found it a perfect retreat after walking through busy hillside towns all day. Our only frustration was initially finding it as our GPS would not recognize the address.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear seaorski,
We are so happy to see that you passed such a great time in our 3 star country hotel.
We try all the days to organize in the best possible way the stay of our clients, by giving them information about the most beautiful places to visit, restaurants, wine tours, cooking classes, museums, car/ bikes/ scooter rental and many other.
Hotel San Leonino is situated in the heart of the Chianti area, surrounded by vineyards and olive trees.
From the swimming pool you can enjoy the breathtaking view overlooking the valley and the rolling hills.
At disposal of our guests there are several gardens when you can relax reading a book or drinking a glass of Chianti wine.
In our restaurant we serve delicious Tuscan dishes with a small menu à la carte different each day.
At your next visit here we will try to welcome you with the sun 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We would like to thank Cristina, Angela, Christina and the whole team for their work and enthusiasm to organize our daughters wedding in their lovely hotel in Tuscany.

The beautiful, spacious rooms, with attention to authenticity, with stunning views of the surrounding landscape where the Chianti region so well known for, a creative staff with attention to all our wishes and a delicious cuisine seemed to us the perfect setting for to organize our daughter's wedding.

Their help in finding the perfect church, the various dishes they prepared to let our guests discover the real Tuscan cuisine and unforgettable wedding cake, are priceless.

All our guests were ecstatic about the hotel, staff and food during their stay and of course with the excellent lunch and dinner served by the chef of San Leonino and here team during the wedding


We appreciate very much all their effort they made ​​to make this day special, not only for the bride and the groom, but as well for our friends and family.

Thanks to all of you, this day became a day never to forget!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your loving words ! It really means a lot to us that You are still so ecstatic about the clean and nicely decorated rooms, the caring and creative staff-members, the delicious cuisine and the setting of the hotel midst the beautiful Chianti surroundings... and especially that you have chosen the Belvedere di San Leonino to celebrate Your daughter’s wedding !
Now ... you sure have convinced future brides and grooms to experience their dream wedding in our country Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino !
We look forward to your next stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Address: Localita San Leonino, 23 | Castellina in Chianti Siena, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#3 Family Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.