We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own little town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Fonterutoli

Save Saved
You added Castello di Fonterutoli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Fonterutoli
Via Puccini 4 - Loc Fonterutoli | Fonterutoli, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our own little town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I will start with - the review by "soowendy" is interesting to say the least. I guess I can sympathise that having your own little town could be a little overwhelming for some travelers - but we loved it!!
Essentially Locanda di Fonterutoli is owned by Mazzei, a reputable winemaker and it appears the B&B is a side venture to this business. Now to the important stuff...
The check-in was swift and painless, with the receptionist showing us to our rooms once going over the particulars about breakfast being served across the road at the restaurant (Osteria Fonterutoli). We were travelling in a group of four, so the family room made sense - at EUR180 for the night. At first we saw the eeriness that "soowendy" alludes, however once we realised the situation of the winery and the town - it all made sense. We were shown to our rooms and then the communal areas which just topped off the standard of this B&B, a "man room", kitchen, pool and many areas to sit back and relax were on offer. Rooms were spacious and nicely furnished, bathroom was clean and well equipped. Some construction was underway near the pool area during our visit, a little disruptive, but then the pool could do with some work itself!
All things considered I rated this "very good" given the excellent communal facilities, rooms and breakfast when coupled with the relatively inexpensive price tag. An interesting experience that was comfortable yet different - isn't that what travelling is about?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
france
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

In response to sowwendy critics and her review it is not the same with ours. we stayed in locanda di fonterutoli and we got the glicine piccolo and we are very contented and satisfied. the place is old but evrything is all clean and order. the lady who works there is very helpful and always answering our needs. we want to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a beautiful room (Rosa) in a wonderful old building. The only negative thing about the room was that there were no air conditioning.

Great service and fabulous breakfast. The restaurant on the estate is also superb!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Alright it has taken me a year to write this review due to being so upset! We were so excited to spend our last four nights in this apartment, drinking Mazzei wine, going to the local butcher, grocer, bakery...etc. then returning to our apartment cooking, sitting on our terrace and enjoying the lovely scenery. Well it was horrible the conditions when we walked in were so unsatisfactory. Now I know it is an old place and musty smell could be in order. However, not this bad if they updated cushions, chairs, matresses even sheets!!! It would have been better.
It was raining when we arrived, we had wet firewood, when asked for paper to start the fire the apartment clerk was irritated and handed me a bunch of paper from the copy machine?!? We had four women in our group the front door did not lock, the hotel clerk suggested put a piece of wood to keep it shut?!?!? A toilet that didn't work unless we added water, bugs in the bathtub, bugs everywhere including the bed. Very disappointed when we were so excited to stay here and drink Mazzei wine. We were so sad!!! Oh we also paid for continental breakfast. Three barely edible pears, four small yogurts, processed individual packaged sliced cheese in wrappers, four eggs, no coffee, no juice. I can not remember but approx. 10 euros per person for the breakfast. It was so sad after all the other hotels, apartments we had stayed in for the past three weeks in Italy. I DO NOT WANT anyone else to go through what we did. The hotel clerk I am sorry I can not remember his name. He was not helpful, very mean, it was sad. I would be happy to send pictures, more information to anyone NOT TO STAY in the Fonterutoli / Glicine Piccolo!!!! It was not suitable for adults,children or anyone else!! The saving grace was the Palazzo Squarcialupi in Castellina, it was not far away, it was incredible and at a reasonable price last minute....the last four nights in Italy was fantastic thanks to them. Please I have stayed many places in europe, I do not exaggerate, you can look at my other reviews I am honest about all the places I have stayed. I expect what I pay for and I am a reasonable person, this apartment was horrible. We did try to negotiate, change rooms, reason with the man nothing worked he just kept saying "nothing can be done." We left and did not pay anything! Thank goodnes for credit cards that protect you! Do not hesitate to contact me for any questions, seriously. I should have written this sooner. Possibly the owner of Mazzei vineyard would have done something or helped, we just wanted to escape and not look back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

First off, let me say that Fonterutoli was a must for us as a destination in Chianti wine country. We have enjoyed the Mazzei wines for years and felt it a perfect place to call home for three nights during our stay in Tuscany. We rented the "Loggia" room which is very well appointed and private on the second floor of the villa. The balcony views are impressive and the West facing room gave us the most amazing sunsets, night after night! Above all, we were treated to a complimentary visit of the winery and cellars as well as a tasting - WOW!

On the negative side, you are hosted by wine people... that said, they still need a bit of polish on the "hospitality side" of the business, no one is there for you after 8pm, when the tasting room closes and there aren't any phones in the room either... You're pretty much on your own! We were tantalized by a bottle of wine put at our disposal in the room, but no bottle opener to be found anywhere!!! One morning while having breakfast, the manager was bitting a customers arm off about an incident with an in-room coffee machine... "The client is always right" attitude should have been taken... but as I said, these are wine people doing their best to accomodate tourists - I don't hold it against them, but there is room for improvement!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are wonderful, the location is perfect for exploring Tuscany, but the Log...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Fonterutoli is a small old village, they live in about 50 people, you even have a small church still open.

Rooms are in one of the old House, large rooms, with nice old furniture, very well decorated in tuscany style. Bathroom definetely need refurbishment or at least to be kept better.

From the rooms amazing views of chiantishire. And you reach the small swimming pool (belonging to the main Villa), from which you can enjoy the sunset right on top a Hill.

In the morning you can get a fantastic breakfast in the Fonterutoli osteria, with home baked cakes.

If you want you can get Fonterutoli wine and olive oil, not cheap but extremely good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Thanks Dott.Mazzei for a top weekend in this top location: Castello di Fonterutoli. Top appartments, top quality and excellent treatment.

Food and WINE was fabolous, service gentle and organization for the biking tour was outstanding . Excellent weekend to be repeated soon.

Thanks again
Rafael

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Fonterutoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Fonterutoli

Address: Via Puccini 4 - Loc Fonterutoli | Fonterutoli, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Fonterutoli estate offers 12 country-chic rooms inspired by the colors of Chianti and restored with authentic taste by the family architect, Agnese Mazzei. All the rooms are located in the historic homes of the Fonterutoli hamlet, the true heart of the estate since centuries, and provide the special feeling of "living in a Tuscan country village". The hamlet houses the Fattoria, Roseto, Limonaia and Carpentiere historic homes, where all of the rooms are located, as well as the Enoteca di Fonterutoli where wine tastings are held, and the Osteria di Fonterutoli Restaurant, both only few steps away from any of our rooms. Ranging in size from 70 to 200 square feet (20 square meters to 60 square meters), all of the rooms boast their own personality with charming, comfortable bedrooms, individual bathrooms, village views, and panoramic terraces with countryside vistas. They all maintain the ambiance of a quintessential Chianti country house. Ancient terra cotta floors, exposed ceiling beams, and precious family antiques provide a warm and inviting atmosphere, making Fonterutoli an ideal environment in which to savor Tuscan country life. Outdoor activities such as hiking, biking and horseback riding can be easily arranged during Guests' stay. Wine tours of our spectacular winery, wine tastings as well as visits to nearby villages and towns, local farms, factories and artisan shops can be organized. Cooking classes can also be arranged and are available on the property. Guests can reserve individual rooms located within the historic homes throughout the hamlet. Upon request, or in case of larger groups, the entire apartment can be reserved, where guests have full use if the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Castello di Fonterutoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Fonterutoli Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Fonterutoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.