We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy, quiet spot in Chianti” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocca di Cispiano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocca di Cispiano
Save
You added Rocca di Cispiano to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Cispiano Hillside, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A cozy, quiet spot in Chianti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed a week at Rocca di Cispiano. We are a family of 4 (children 7 and 9) and they spent their time swimming in the lovely, clean pool, petting the cats and finding interesting insects. It was peaceful and beautiful with rows and rows of grape vines, happy olive trees and a wonderful view. The location was perfect, short driving distance to many great towns and villages. The nearest town, Castellina, was one of our favorites (the BEST gellato!). The staff were kind, friendly and very helpful. Simone is, I think, the groundskeeper and responsible for the wine making on the estate. He was always there to help us in any way he could. Svetlana, our contact, helped us making reservations for horseback riding and a cooking class at the neighboring estate, Il Cellese.

Rocca di Cispiano is managed by the people who own this neighboring estate, Il Cellese. At Il Cellese (only 400 meters from our place) there is a great restaurant open Mon, Wed. and Fridays. Silvia is the chef - she and her cousin Sergio, run this marvelous place. Recently restored, it mixes old and new in such a cool way - bursts of color in with traditional stone walls and structures.

In the shadow of this great place, Rocca di Cispiano seemed a little rundown and forgotten. We never met the owner and it seemed less well maintained. We had the apartment La Torre. But the bedrooms were lovely - clean and cozy, I felt very comfortable and slept well. The views from the bedrooms where great, just what I had hoped for! Very nice dishes and wine glasses, clean and nice towels, very spacious apartment.

The downside was that the kitchen was difficult to work in, no oven and quite old. The bathroom had a bad shower and was actually not the same as in the photos on the website, it had been modified and is much smaller now with only a shower and no tub. The sitting room was weird with one uncomfortable sofa which sat 3 (while the apartment could sleep 5) and no other sitting chairs. There was a TV, but no batteries in the controller (but we wouldn't have watched TV anyway). I suppose much of this could have been fixed had we complained, but we didn't - it was still very nice, we had a great time, but these few things bugged us a bit.

The wine was amazing!! Any time we wanted more bottles, Simone was able to help us! We spent the sunny afternoons playing in the pool and drinking our lovely wine or walking the grounds.

We really loved our week, would stay for sure again but maybe in a different apartment!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

absolutely fantastic! Our holiday at the gorgeous rocca di cispiano could not have been better. the calm and isolated paradise provided all we needed - tranquility!.... The accommodation was good and with attention to the small things that make you feel hommy. The view couldn't be surpassed ! If we will come again again on a future trip, we would definitely book in rocca in cispiano again.... see our pictures, and imagine ....untill you'll be there .....:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The good: I took a risk in booking this property with nearly zero online reviews, what a great decision! The estate is beautiful, views are beautiful (I mean beautiful), right in the middle of all the wine and olio action. The manager Simone was great. Not much English but that added to a wonderful italian experience. Bottle of wine was waiting on us as we arrived. Room was big and clean. Simone provided a great tour and tasting. Pool was immaculate. Simone jumped on every task we gave him. Near a small town that was also great. Full kitchen and fridge, plenty of towels.
Not as good:there were quite a few cats running around, hallway leading to Bella vista smelled like cat urine (not in our room though!), about a half mile of unpaved road leading up to the property, wifi was dodgy, rock walkway by simone's room are very slippery, dogs on a neighboring property barked a lot. How to check in and where to go was not clear, finally another resident told us to knock on the door to Simone's residence. No hot water one morning but fixed in minutes by Simone. Bed was european hard.

All in all we wished we could stay longer and would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Absolutely fantastic localisation in heart of Tuscany, all the typical tuscan villages, towns and cities at your fingertips.
Friendly, competent, and well informed staff (ciao Simone!) always ready to help, all in all an unforgetable experience. We even resigned from another hotel (already booked) just to stay a week longer in Rocca di Cispiano. Our room (Il Nido), although small, was clean and cosy, with an incredible view on tuscan hills and very big pool. To the the many advantages belongs also the wine produced on site (a bottle of which is a welcoming gift).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocca di Cispiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca di Cispiano

Address: Cispiano Hillside, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocca di Cispiano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rocca Di Cispiano Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocca di Cispiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.