We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosticceria Il Re Gallo

Rosticceria Il Re Gallo
Via Toscana, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
39 0577742000
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely little authentic restaurant serving traditional food. The staff were polite and friendly, the tasting plate of the region was excellent and well worth ordering and the wild boar main was extremely good too. The wine selection is excellent and even the house red was outstanding. Well worth visiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    136
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good service and nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had been in Tuscany for a week and had some good to very good meals along the way. The salads here were quite good, the pappardelle al cinghale was good but not the best we've had, chicken was average, very good roast potatoes. House white wine was of average quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

On a recent visit to castellina this restaurant was recommended to us as being the best in town. While the food was good but nothing spectacular, the service was patchy. We arrived for our reservation on time but two other couples who arrived after us got their menus & had ordered before we got menus. It could have been just an oversight but no apology was given, just the menus! The staff didn't seem particularly under pressure that evening but didn't take plates when finished & were more interested in chatting to some Italian couples than watching diners progress. Maybe we caught them on a bad night & if I was staying longer I would have given it a second chance as the food was good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate here twice because it was so good. Lovely little taverna, family run. Great food, atmosphere and service and very good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

It's in a lovely spot, ideal for just soaking up the sun and people watching... great service and good food. We'll worth a visit even if just for a drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosticceria Il Re Gallo also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Rosticceria Il Re Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosticceria Il Re Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.