We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe Tuscan cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosticceria Il Re Gallo

Rosticceria Il Re Gallo
Via Toscana, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
39 0577742000
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Superbe Tuscan cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a real great place to eat. Good service, and fantastic food. They offer nice Tuscan cuisine, very refined and superbly tasting. Prices may be somewhat higher than other places in town, but it is worth it. We were lucky to walk in and find a seat, but you should really make a reservation as they fill up very quick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    122
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Searched and found this one on place 3 in Castellina In Chianti.

It deserves place 1 !!

We are very hard to please with food........

Good food, staff made us feel very welcome, nice wine and they will remember you.

Went 1 time and we made reservations for the 3 following nights!

We also think: think - best restaurant in Castellina - in comparison food+price

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praha
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Random choice - but EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 4 days with our friends in Castellina in Chianti. This bistro-restaurant we have found unfortunatelly last night. Luckily we came already at 19.00 and there was last table! We were so excited of the food, staff and nice milieu. Also nice chianti wine for good price. I think - best restaurant in Castellina - in comparison food+price

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top quality food at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the opportunity to have dinner at il Re gallo Osteria after Erika from La Fiaba B&B suggested it and made reservations for us.It was a good thing that she called for reservations as this is a very popular place and was filling up quickly. They reserved a wonderful table by the window which also gave us a nice view of the entire room as well. There were parties of all sizes and from a variety of countries and everyone seemed to be enjoying their meals. The waiter brought over the menus and wine list along with a basket of homemade bread that was delicious and great to snack on while we looked over the menu and wine list. The wine list was very thorough and reasonably priced, but since we were in Chianti we thought that we would have a liter of the red house wine which was quite good and went very well with our meals. We had the homemade ravioli in cream sauce with freshly shaved truffles and the pici in a bolognese sauce. After those we decided to split an entrée of the braised wild boar with roasted vegetables which was outstanding. Everything we had was superb and very reasonably priced. The server was extremely attentive, yet allowed us to enjoy our meal at a leisurely pace. We were too full to try dessert, but from what we saw they looked delicious. We highly recommend that you dine here as you will be very pleased with your experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small place with good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The first time we had lunch was last year, and at that time we where totally disappointed. The porcini they served where not fresh at all.

A local friend of us convinced us to give it another try, and the quality of food make a good move forward in the right direction.

The anti had a nice selection of vegetables and meat, and the Meat was perfectly grilled. A nice selection of wines is available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosticceria Il Re Gallo also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Rosticceria Il Re Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosticceria Il Re Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.