We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll come again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Sicelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Sicelle to your Saves list
Borgo Sicelle
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Localita Sicelle 59 | Siena - Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Prague
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We'll come again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We've just arrived from this lovely place and we know that we'll come back again. Franco and his wife who own these apparments are really helpful and are able to recommend various questions/tips.
We spent one week with two other families (6 adults + 3 kids around 2 years and with one baby) and we really had lots of fun. But we spoke to other people/couples/families, who have returned for the six times and for twelfe times(!).
The swimming pool has superb view, you actually are in the middle of vineyards. For the children all ages are prepared toys, for adults books, magazines, table tennis, barbecue place etc. Next time we will definitely use more these things but for the first time you more explore how the things are going on, what is in the neighborhood etc.
The location is also very good - close to many historical cities, restaurants and bars different price relations, shops, local Chianti wine producers etc. The kitchens have basic but sufficient equipment but we visited everyday a bar/small restaurant 1 minute walking from our appartment, just cross the street. There is a local typical small restaurant where you can eat for very good money typical italian food.
I have to stress that although all apparments were fully booked we hadn't feeling there are many people and the people didn't disturb each other.
My only comment is that some apparments are in two floors and you can listen to noises, maybe it was coincidence but I had feeling people above us sometimes moved the furniture and stomped (but to be honest, I had to put to sleep my small baby and I perceive everything...). But no voices and conversation were heard.
We really like this place and we want to come back. Should you want to travel to Tuscany, there is no reason to look for another place. Borgo was recommended to us by our friends.
Hana, Petr + 2 kids from Prague

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I visited Borgo Sicelle, with my wife and two year old son, in June 2010. I have been a previous visitor to the area of Tuscany on a number of occasions and was pleasantly surprised by Borgo Sicelle for a number of reasons.

Firstly, the accommodation is perfectly positioned (halfway between Florence and Siena) for travelling around key places in Tuscany. Furthermore, the property is in a rural setting -perfect for those seeking a relaxed holiday.

The owners are very helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed out stay.

The property offers excellent value for money. As previously mentioned I have travelled in this area before and have not received such value for money.

The facilities at the property are spot on for those seeking to relax and enjoy their stay. The living space is more than adequate and the rooms are clean and tidy.

I highly recommend a visit to this property and shall be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at Borgo Sicelle for 6 days and enjoyed our stay there! The Hospitality of Franco and the very good explanation of the surroundings of Borgo Sicelle maid it a stay never to forget. Within easy traveling distance you can visit ofcourse Siena an Florence but also the smaller towns such as San Gimignano and Radda.
The accomodation is perfect for a vacation when you want to combine citytrips and exploring Toscane with relaxing at the pool!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We usually do several trips per year. Borgo Sicelle is the only hotel to which we have returned. Reason for this was the excellent view (e.g. from the pool) and friendly atmosphere. We also like playing table tennis - in Borgo Sicelle there is a superb place for that. Rooms are nice and silent. The only disadvantage is that you need a car. However, driving in Tuscany is a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We make holiday in Toscany since 10 years, but we were the first time in borgo sicelle.
It was the perfect location for us, because it´s perfekt in the region of the city´s and villages we like - for example: Castellina, Greve, San Gimignano ...
Also it´s in the middle between Florenz and Siena.
My husband likes to visit the winemakers in the chianti regione and he take pictures of the landscape. He´s very lucky with the fotos!
For me it´s very important, that the location is clean and quiet. We had a wonderful view from the pool - perfect for relaxing! Sicelle is a place with one house, an old beautiful church and a winebar, where you can also eat pasta and salat. So what do you need more?
Tino and Sonja from Germany

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Borgo Sicelle is one of those little treasures you want to keep to yourself, but at the same time you want to shout from te rooftops how great the place is: a beautiful spot in the heartland of the chianti region in between Siena and Florence, on a hilltop surrounded by vineyards and olive trees. Franco and Silvia give their guests a warm welcome and are always very helpful to give you all the information you need. Children are also very welcome at Borgo Sicelle. There’s the swimming pool, the table tennis, … The apartments are very clean and well equipped. We just love this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We had a wonderful 10 days here. Franco and Sylvia could not have been more helpful and friendly, advising us on driving into Florence, parking etc and also informing us of the great pizzeria in nearby San Donato run by the local people for village funds - a very friendly and fun evening. The apartment was super, very comfortable and we had a big terrace from which to watch the sunsets with glass in hand! The swimming pool was excellent to cool off in, with stupendous views. Borgo Sicelle was an excellent base for exploring lots of the hilltop towns of Tuscany - Panzano, Monteriggioni, Volpaia, Lamole etc. Hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
5.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Il Colombaio
Hotel Il Colombaio
#8 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
4.7 mi away
Palazzo Squarcialupi
Palazzo Squarcialupi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Sicelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Sicelle

Address: Localita Sicelle 59 | Siena - Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Sicelle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Sicelle, originally a small farm typical of the Chianti region, the perfect location for excursions to Florence (27 km), Siena (35 km), S.Gimignano (25 km) and pretty towns such as Castellina, Greve, Radda and Gaiole in Chianti. It is situated on the top of a hill in a panoramic position, a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and the incredible Tuscan sunsets.There are ten apartments, from 2 to 6 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Borgo Sicelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Sicelle Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Sicelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.