We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect base for exploring Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Sicelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Sicelle to your Saves list
Borgo Sicelle
Localita Sicelle 59 | Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Great Neck, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect base for exploring Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Borgo Sicelle was for my husband and me the perfect place for a Tuscan vacation: it is beautiful and - even in July - quiet. All the best things that Tuscany has to offer were within an easy reach. Starting with the vistas of Chianti from the windows of our apartment to the artistic treasures of Florence.
Our apartment was simply but comfortably furnished. The entire place is run with a great sense for esthetics and practicality.
Franco and Sylvia were wonderful hosts: always helpful, always available to answer questions and make suggestion on what to visit and how to go about it.
We hope to go back to Borgo Sicelle soon and bring with us our daughter and her family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Szentgotthard, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was the first time we spent our vacation in Tuscany. We were very excited about what will be the area, which was previously seen only in movies. We were not dissapointed. Our accommodation and our hosts well-represented the kindness of the people who live here and the sights and sounds of the landscape. Unfortunately, only a week we spent here, and many excursions. At the end of the days was good to taste a tasty Tuscan wine on Borgo Sicelle's terrace. Thank you for Silvia & Franco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited Borgo Sicelle now for the 8th time and everytime we feel if we are coming 'home'. Franco and Silvia are always willing to help and to advise us and all other guests regarding trips, special events, weather forecast, restaurants etc. This year we decided to stay for almost 3 weeks and it really was worth it! This summer (2012) was hot, so we spend every day several times in the swimming pool and saw the beautiful view over the mountains. Even after so many years we still enjoy every minute. Borgo Sicelle is located on top of the hills in the Chianti area, 25 km away from Florence and 35 km away from Siena. We saw a lot of other hotels, agriturismo etc. but Borgo Sicelle is one of the very few with this magnificent view. Besides that it is a very relaxed small area, and ok there is only one small restaurant at a walking distance, but that also means that you don't have all the noise of a crowded area. Again we explored the area with our mountainbikes. Especially between all the vine yards it is great cycling at the so-called 'strade bianche', rough roads but not (too) tough. For all admirors of cycling: you can find cycling roads in all sorts and yes, at times it can be slightly steep... The food & wines (visit the Enoteca at Panzano) are delicious, the culture and events in all cities and villages are fantastic and Borgo Sicelle is a great starting point for everything you want to do in the Tuscany. Next year we will return, because there is still so much to see and to discover. Arrivederci!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have the beautiful view directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Borgo Sicelle is a tradition for us...every summer we spend here couple of days. This year we visited this great location as a couple with our friends and again the stay was simply perfect.
A positive change was that Franco arranged wifi so for those who need to be sometimes in touch it is a big help.
We like the amazing view, perfect location, swimming pool and the willingness of Franco and Sylvia. They know everything about market days, shopping possibilities, always sufficiency of maps and plans, traffic information etc.
We like the location, possibility to get a trip to different cities (Firenze, Sienna) and Chianti villages. Our friends organized a day trip to the see so this also possible to get in one day.
We visit also a nice tratidional restaurant across the street - you don´t need a car to get home after you get delicious food or wine.
Again - warmly recommended. Ciao next year!!

Room Tip: In some ground floor appartments you can hear some noices from the apparments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We've just spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our apartment was clean, spacious and quiet and the view from both rooms was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed sitting in the garden or by the pool and visiting the many pretty villages all a short distance away.
There is only one place to eat within walking distance and we found that disappointing but there are several just a short drive away including the cheap and cheerful Pizzeria in San Donato. Some nights we used the excellent BBQ and ate on the patio overlooking the valley of vineyards and olive groves - superb!! The only improvement we could think of would be air conditioning in the bedrooms, although there was a good fan. We would certainly recommend this beautiful place and would hope to return one day,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have wonderful memories of my stay at Borgo Sicelle and my days of exploring the Tuscan countryside from Florence to Siena. Borgo Sicelle is calming and lovely, and Sylvia and Franco are gracious, kind and helpful. My agenda for the day was decided each morning as they shared their thoughts on villages I might enjoy, vineyard tours, market days, etc. I looked forward to returning ‘home’ at the end of each day, not wanting to miss being there as the sun set. And on a particularly warm afternoon, I had the pool to myself, swimming, admiring the countryside, swimming. I’ve returned from previous vacations often wondering where next. I now wonder when I might return with family and friends to the countryside of Tuscany and Borgo Sicelle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Borgo sicelle is an old village that have been renovated and turn into holidays appartments to rent. The appartments are properly renovated, nothing fancy but comfortable and the place provides many facilities. The noise isolation can be a problem with your neighbors have a different rythm that yours. But the main advantage is the central location in Tuscany, closed to all cities to see: Florence, Pisa, Siena, and all the small villages in the Chianti.
We have enjoyed everyday the terrasse where tables and chairs are available for guest with a stunning view on the valley.
What really makes the difference is the friendliness of Franco & Silvia: where ever you go, they have maps & directions information ready, hints about how to get there, where to park the car, what to do, what not to miss. They have made our stay very easy and have been very much available no matter what request we had.
I definitely recommend this place for nature lovers who look for the best quality/price location in the heart of the Chianti.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Sicelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Sicelle

Address: Localita Sicelle 59 | Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Sicelle, originally a small farm typical of the Chianti region, the perfect location for excursions to Florence (27 km), Siena (35 km), S.Gimignano (25 km) and pretty towns such as Castellina, Greve, Radda and Gaiole in Chianti. It is situated on the top of a hill in a panoramic position, a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and the incredible Tuscan sunsets.There are ten apartments, from 2 to 6 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Borgo Sicelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Sicelle Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Sicelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.