We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always a lovely holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Sicelle

Save Saved
You added Borgo Sicelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borgo Sicelle
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Localita Sicelle 59 | Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As always a lovely holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited Borgo Sicelle now for the 8th time and everytime we feel if we are coming 'home'. Franco and Silvia are always willing to help and to advise us and all other guests regarding trips, special events, weather forecast, restaurants etc. This year we decided to stay for almost 3 weeks and it really was worth it! This summer (2012) was hot, so we spend every day several times in the swimming pool and saw the beautiful view over the mountains. Even after so many years we still enjoy every minute. Borgo Sicelle is located on top of the hills in the Chianti area, 25 km away from Florence and 35 km away from Siena. We saw a lot of other hotels, agriturismo etc. but Borgo Sicelle is one of the very few with this magnificent view. Besides that it is a very relaxed small area, and ok there is only one small restaurant at a walking distance, but that also means that you don't have all the noise of a crowded area. Again we explored the area with our mountainbikes. Especially between all the vine yards it is great cycling at the so-called 'strade bianche', rough roads but not (too) tough. For all admirors of cycling: you can find cycling roads in all sorts and yes, at times it can be slightly steep... The food & wines (visit the Enoteca at Panzano) are delicious, the culture and events in all cities and villages are fantastic and Borgo Sicelle is a great starting point for everything you want to do in the Tuscany. Next year we will return, because there is still so much to see and to discover. Arrivederci!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have the beautiful view directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Borgo Sicelle is a tradition for us...every summer we spend here couple of days. This year we visited this great location as a couple with our friends and again the stay was simply perfect.
A positive change was that Franco arranged wifi so for those who need to be sometimes in touch it is a big help.
We like the amazing view, perfect location, swimming pool and the willingness of Franco and Sylvia. They know everything about market days, shopping possibilities, always sufficiency of maps and plans, traffic information etc.
We like the location, possibility to get a trip to different cities (Firenze, Sienna) and Chianti villages. Our friends organized a day trip to the see so this also possible to get in one day.
We visit also a nice tratidional restaurant across the street - you don´t need a car to get home after you get delicious food or wine.
Again - warmly recommended. Ciao next year!!

Room Tip: In some ground floor appartments you can hear some noices from the apparments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We've just spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our apartment was clean, spacious and quiet and the view from both rooms was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed sitting in the garden or by the pool and visiting the many pretty villages all a short distance away.
There is only one place to eat within walking distance and we found that disappointing but there are several just a short drive away including the cheap and cheerful Pizzeria in San Donato. Some nights we used the excellent BBQ and ate on the patio overlooking the valley of vineyards and olive groves - superb!! The only improvement we could think of would be air conditioning in the bedrooms, although there was a good fan. We would certainly recommend this beautiful place and would hope to return one day,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have wonderful memories of my stay at Borgo Sicelle and my days of exploring the Tuscan countryside from Florence to Siena. Borgo Sicelle is calming and lovely, and Sylvia and Franco are gracious, kind and helpful. My agenda for the day was decided each morning as they shared their thoughts on villages I might enjoy, vineyard tours, market days, etc. I looked forward to returning ‘home’ at the end of each day, not wanting to miss being there as the sun set. And on a particularly warm afternoon, I had the pool to myself, swimming, admiring the countryside, swimming. I’ve returned from previous vacations often wondering where next. I now wonder when I might return with family and friends to the countryside of Tuscany and Borgo Sicelle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Borgo sicelle is an old village that have been renovated and turn into holidays appartments to rent. The appartments are properly renovated, nothing fancy but comfortable and the place provides many facilities. The noise isolation can be a problem with your neighbors have a different rythm that yours. But the main advantage is the central location in Tuscany, closed to all cities to see: Florence, Pisa, Siena, and all the small villages in the Chianti.
We have enjoyed everyday the terrasse where tables and chairs are available for guest with a stunning view on the valley.
What really makes the difference is the friendliness of Franco & Silvia: where ever you go, they have maps & directions information ready, hints about how to get there, where to park the car, what to do, what not to miss. They have made our stay very easy and have been very much available no matter what request we had.
I definitely recommend this place for nature lovers who look for the best quality/price location in the heart of the Chianti.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a great base for our explorations of the Chianti area of Tuscany. The views from the patio and pool area are stunning - everything you would imagine of the Tuscan region!!! We had wine and cheese watching the sunset one evening and thought we were dreaming because it was so beautiful.

Franco was very accommodating, giving us recommendations for day trips before and during our stay. We even received a nice bottle of wine from his brother-in-law's vineyard as a welcome gift - really good I must say!

There were plenty of amenities to make our stay very comfortable - - especially the two washing machines - they weren't too difficult to figure out. I recommend bringing your own washing detergent. There is some there but it is powder (I'm used to using liquid). It was also surprisingly quiet considering there were other guests on the property. There was a kitchenette, although we only used it for breakfast but it would be perfect if you wanted to make dinner one evening. There is wi-fi if you are so inclined during your stay. You may need to be in the courtyard near the office to get a signal but it is free nonetheless.

Coming from California I was expecting a bit more in terms of wine tasting in this region and wish I would have done more research on this. Also, beware of the safety cameras all around Chianti while driving. It helps to have GPS so you know when you are approaching one. You definitely need a car in this area and I would highly recommend a small one - there is a reason so many people drive small cars in Italy! The roads are very windy but the views well worth it!!! The restaurant just down the road (not the one across the street but if you turn left onto the main road) is very good but a little pricey.

I highly recommend Borgo Sicelle and would most definitely return here if coming back to this region.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Borgo Sicelle was such an amazing place to stay! It is located right in the heart of the Chianti Region of Tuscany. The views from our patio were simply amazing! Franco and his wife were so kind and accommodating. The buildings had such a warm and welcoming quality and it was very peaceful. I can't say enough about the panoramic views of the Tuscan countryside. The grounds had olive tree's and flowers. Our one bedroom apartment was large and had a full kitchen. The price was very reasonable.

Borgo Sicelle is the place to stay while visiting Chianti. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Sicelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Sicelle

Address: Localita Sicelle 59 | Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Sicelle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Sicelle, originally a small farm typical of the Chianti region, the perfect location for excursions to Florence (27 km), Siena (35 km), S.Gimignano (25 km) and pretty towns such as Castellina, Greve, Radda and Gaiole in Chianti. It is situated on the top of a hill in a panoramic position, a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and the incredible Tuscan sunsets.There are ten apartments, from 2 to 6 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Borgo Sicelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Sicelle Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Sicelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.