We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking Forward to my Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Sicelle

Save Saved
You added Borgo Sicelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borgo Sicelle
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Localita Sicelle 59 | Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looking Forward to my Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have wonderful memories of my stay at Borgo Sicelle and my days of exploring the Tuscan countryside from Florence to Siena. Borgo Sicelle is calming and lovely, and Sylvia and Franco are gracious, kind and helpful. My agenda for the day was decided each morning as they shared their thoughts on villages I might enjoy, vineyard tours, market days, etc. I looked forward to returning ‘home’ at the end of each day, not wanting to miss being there as the sun set. And on a particularly warm afternoon, I had the pool to myself, swimming, admiring the countryside, swimming. I’ve returned from previous vacations often wondering where next. I now wonder when I might return with family and friends to the countryside of Tuscany and Borgo Sicelle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Borgo sicelle is an old village that have been renovated and turn into holidays appartments to rent. The appartments are properly renovated, nothing fancy but comfortable and the place provides many facilities. The noise isolation can be a problem with your neighbors have a different rythm that yours. But the main advantage is the central location in Tuscany, closed to all cities to see: Florence, Pisa, Siena, and all the small villages in the Chianti.
We have enjoyed everyday the terrasse where tables and chairs are available for guest with a stunning view on the valley.
What really makes the difference is the friendliness of Franco & Silvia: where ever you go, they have maps & directions information ready, hints about how to get there, where to park the car, what to do, what not to miss. They have made our stay very easy and have been very much available no matter what request we had.
I definitely recommend this place for nature lovers who look for the best quality/price location in the heart of the Chianti.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a great base for our explorations of the Chianti area of Tuscany. The views from the patio and pool area are stunning - everything you would imagine of the Tuscan region!!! We had wine and cheese watching the sunset one evening and thought we were dreaming because it was so beautiful.

Franco was very accommodating, giving us recommendations for day trips before and during our stay. We even received a nice bottle of wine from his brother-in-law's vineyard as a welcome gift - really good I must say!

There were plenty of amenities to make our stay very comfortable - - especially the two washing machines - they weren't too difficult to figure out. I recommend bringing your own washing detergent. There is some there but it is powder (I'm used to using liquid). It was also surprisingly quiet considering there were other guests on the property. There was a kitchenette, although we only used it for breakfast but it would be perfect if you wanted to make dinner one evening. There is wi-fi if you are so inclined during your stay. You may need to be in the courtyard near the office to get a signal but it is free nonetheless.

Coming from California I was expecting a bit more in terms of wine tasting in this region and wish I would have done more research on this. Also, beware of the safety cameras all around Chianti while driving. It helps to have GPS so you know when you are approaching one. You definitely need a car in this area and I would highly recommend a small one - there is a reason so many people drive small cars in Italy! The roads are very windy but the views well worth it!!! The restaurant just down the road (not the one across the street but if you turn left onto the main road) is very good but a little pricey.

I highly recommend Borgo Sicelle and would most definitely return here if coming back to this region.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Borgo Sicelle was such an amazing place to stay! It is located right in the heart of the Chianti Region of Tuscany. The views from our patio were simply amazing! Franco and his wife were so kind and accommodating. The buildings had such a warm and welcoming quality and it was very peaceful. I can't say enough about the panoramic views of the Tuscan countryside. The grounds had olive tree's and flowers. Our one bedroom apartment was large and had a full kitchen. The price was very reasonable.

Borgo Sicelle is the place to stay while visiting Chianti. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenthurst
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Our family group (all adults) stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights in early September, and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would return without hesitation.We found the apartment spacious, simply but very adequately furnished, and very clean.
We purchased our daily provisions either at the nearby village of San Donato, or Castellina, used the apartment kitchen for breakfasts and had evening meals in San Donato, across the road at the wine bar/restaurant, and for 2 nights we used the bar-b-q and ate in the small courtyard outside the apartment. We also often used the 2 washing machines, and the wi-fi which is accessible.
The setting and scenic outlook was great, and after daily touring to Tuscan towns we refreshed with swimming in the lovely pool and relaxed poolside with the countryside views.
Silvia and Franco were always helpful in answering our queries both before and during our stay, and were always in the background should we have needed further assistance.
For us, Borgo Sicelle provided an extremely relaxing Tuscan base, and was great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have been going to Borgo Sicelle for the last 7 years, having found this gem of a place by chance on the internet. Franco and Silvia are the perfect hosts, attentive but not intrusive - nothing is too much trouble for them. Sicelle itself is on the top of a hill overlooking vineyards and olive groves - the views over the pool are breathtaking. Situated equa-distance between Florence and Sienna, it is a great base to tour beautiful Tuscany. The apartments have been renovated by Franco, in keeping with Tuscan tradition. If you want peace and quiet with the ability to explore then Sicelle is the place for you. Alternatively, you can nip across the road to the only other place around, the local bar with good food.
Will we return - of course. We love it and recommend Borgo Sicelle very highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, it depends how many are in your party as to where you will be on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was my second stay at Sicelle and I was not disappointed! First off, the location is wonderful. Although it is a bit 'remote', it is in the heart of Chianti and a short drive from all of the Tuscan delights! And as you look out your window upon the rolling hills, vineyards and olive groves, you don't regret your decision to stay here for an instant! Franco and Silvia are always so kind and helpful, making our stay comfortable. The accomodations are simple & wonderfully rustic and perfect in that you have all you need right there! Very handy having a kitchen there for breakfast, snacks, etc. We were only there for 4 nights but managed a number of day trips,,,San Gimignano, Montereggio, Pisa, Castellini in Chianti, and of course Panzano for the annual wine festival Vino Al Vino!! We also managed to sneak in a few hours in the sun by the pool!
Although it was our initial plan to cook in /bbq there a few nights, we ended up at Uscio & Bottega (restaurant) across the street all 4 nights! Highly recommended! Patricia and Patrizio are fabulous and it's hard to beat their pasta, salads and the house wine! Always a full house and the atmosphere is wonderful!
We look forward to our next stay with Franco and Silvia!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Sicelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Sicelle

Address: Localita Sicelle 59 | Tuscany, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Sicelle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Sicelle, originally a small farm typical of the Chianti region, the perfect location for excursions to Florence (27 km), Siena (35 km), S.Gimignano (25 km) and pretty towns such as Castellina, Greve, Radda and Gaiole in Chianti. It is situated on the top of a hill in a panoramic position, a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and the incredible Tuscan sunsets.There are ten apartments, from 2 to 6 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Borgo Sicelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Sicelle Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Sicelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.