We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice good food caring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Trattoria La Torre

Antica Trattoria La Torre
Piazza Del Comune 15, 53011 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 740236
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Stiaccini family owners of the ancient restaurant Trattoria "La Torre" have been actively operating for nearly a century . Five generations have dedicated Themselves to providing their guests With typical Tuscan cooking based on simplicity of preparation and discriminating use of the best products available in Chianti. The base ingredientes of their dishes are typical of the Chianti region: Wine, oil, free range foWl, Wild game, lamb and pork, beef from nearby Valdichiana, fresh local produce and wild mushrooms. Their traditional dishes are accompanied by a vast selection of the best Chianti Classico wines.
TEL-AVIV
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice good food caring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been there for our last evening. Restaurant is very popular and reservations needed. Service is very effective and caring. Meals are reach and tasty. Very cost effective restaurant.Menu offers many choices which is useful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    207
    47
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner here and the scenery is just beautiful. The place was packed and mostly with tourists just like us - but the food and wine were very good. I would go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have visited this restaurant each time we are in this part of Italyband we love it. The food is always quality and the service we have always found to be spot on. It does get busy so you might need to go for a wander until a table comes free but well worth the visit. Excellent crostini Toscana.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food with good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Very busy place so don't expect service like high class place as all waiters are busy.
Good food, had pigeon spaghetti and veal. Tiramisu is tasty and wine is very drinkable.
Bill was very reasonable considering what we had.
Will go back again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Rude & non existent service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A surprise & not a pleasant one, to be on the wrong end of some rude & poor service, as well as some mixed food. We were there on the recommendation of our hotel who booked for us. We have since learned that this place gets recommended by a lot of the hotels I the area. Make of that what you will.

First the positives - the ravioli was good & the wine was good. However the polenta with the lamb was stodgy & the cannelloni was poor; little or no tomato.

For a family of 5, incl 5 kids, 25 mins is a long time to wait for an order to be taken, especially when all you are given is a basket of not fresh bread (no olive oil) & we paid a cover charge of €2.50 per head for that. Bread never replenished, water only replenished on request, repeated! Worse still the place wasn't even busy, less than half full.

The coup de grace was the insulting service of the wine - I was busy with feeding the baby. The waiter opened the reserva we ordered from the locality; as my wife was about to taste, the guy just dumps some wine in my glass, giving my wife no opportunity to taste - couldn't believe that one! But better still, the waiter never replenishes our glasses & after we receive our main course, we are left without any menu for dessert. Our children were well behaved, even the baby was good - why were we treated like this? We still don't know. Maybe it was the insistence on getting a strap to secure our 11month baby in the high chair.

Eventually 1 dessert menu was brought but the waiter didn't return for 15 mins to take the order. By that stage, even the kids were getting the message - we abandoned the prospect of dessert & headed for the the local ice cream parlour. Best decision of the evening.

For the first time in my life, I went in search of the owner/manager to make a complaint - conveniently or otherwise, he affected not to have enough English to understand my complaint & I'm afraid that in Ireland, we generally didn't learn Italian at school.

Italy & Italians are great for kids. I have been to Italy many mant times before & since we got married in Rome - I found this to be a real shocker, so completely unexpected & inexplicable.

One of the worst dining experiences ever.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria La Torre also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Antica Trattoria La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Trattoria La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.