We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cellese

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Cellese
Save
You added Il Cellese to your Saves list
Loc. Il Cellese, 53100 Castellina In Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Il Celese was a wonderful place to stay if you want a romantic get away and like wine and wine country. We stayed there a week and everyday was an adventure. You will need a rental car and GPS. Sergio and Sylvia are excellent host, the food is awesome and the wine even better...We visited many wine facilites and tastings and the many villages nearby....always pleasant experience....met many wonderful people during our stay...

Room Tip: Apartment with patio....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Il Cellese was highly recommended to us by Canadian friends and we weren't disappointed. The inn is a restored family farm with stunning exposed stone walls and terra cotta floors. Sylvia was outstanding from check in to check out. She looked after all our needs including mouth-watering meals, maps and directions and local history. The view of the Tuscany vineyards is one we will never forget. We have already booked a return trip!

Room Tip: There are only 6 suites to choose from and all have the same amazing view and ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Il Cellese and every trip henceforth to Italy will include a stay here. Sergio and Sylvia are amazing hosts and their service was outstanding. We were travelling with a 9 month old baby and they did everything possible to accomodate our needs with the baby. Sylvia is an excellent cook. I am vegetarian and she cooked the best vegetarian Italian meal that I have ever eaten. She even made special soup for my baby that he loved. They even served the meals in our apartment when our baby was sleeping. The "Pictus" wine was excellent and the olive oil was delicious. I wish we brought some back with us. The apartment was very comfortable and the view was very picturesque. Highly recommended for couples as well as families as there is ample privacy and space.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in the Il Cellese, lovely farmhouse, great view, nice wine, great hospitality. Will recommend to all of my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were very happy to find this place. The environment is just amazing....the welcoming is good, they are very nice! we will recommend to go there, try the dinner and also buy some wines and oil...we did and we are happy with the purchase! The only point I would say to improve is the road to get there....its a little bit a nightmare...too many bumps! Apart from that all ok. We recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our stay at Il Cellese was absolutely perfect. We stayed in 'Sergio' which was a beautiful, well equipped and extremely comfortable apartment (practically a house). I could not get over how clean it was, for such an old building it was completely spotless. The facilities are great - ample space outside to sit and enjoy the view, excellent pool and extremely comfortable sunbeds.

The place is just so peaceful and quiet. We didn't even realise anyone else was staying until we went for dinner and the restaurant was a full house!

Sylvia and Sergio were lovely and so welcoming. Nothing was too much for Sylvia to help with. We ate in the restaurant one night and it was delicious. I ate pasta pretty much every day but Sylvia's ravioli was by far the best. The even kindly accommodated my Dad who is a very fussy eater!

The wine was fantastic as was their olive oil! We got the breakfast pack which was really handy as we arrived late at night and had everything we needed the next day, even nespresso coffee.

I would agree with other reviewers that you need a good car, or at the very least a good driver to get there! We had a Fiat 500L and could have done with something a little more powerful. There are 2 dirt roads that lead to Il Cellese, both with very steep hills. However, I wouldn't let that deter you from visiting.

I would return again in a heartbeat and really hope that I can some day!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Il Cellese have everything you look for in the Toscana region. great view, good food, good wine and cozy and comfortable "apartments" where you feel like home. Te Hotel concept is different and you may say you rented a small house in Toscany instead of stayed at a Hotel, just the way I like. Sergio, the owner, is a great host who makes you feel like you are at home. Worth visiting and staying!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice, you can have a couple room or family room. better ask when making reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Cellese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cellese

Address: Loc. Il Cellese, 53100 Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cellese estate is situated in the heart of the Chianti region, one of the most peculiar and emblematic places of the Tuscany countryside, between the cities of Siena and Firenze. The seven apartments are situated in a privileged position on top of a hill; the view is breathtaking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Cellese Hotel Castellina In Chianti
Il Cellese Castellina In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cellese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.