We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a five star hotel, need to be re-assessed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SS106 Localita Principessa, 74010 Castellaneta, Italy (Formerly Nova Yardinia Kalidria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Castellaneta
Nelson
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Not a five star hotel, need to be re-assessed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel does not warrant a five-star rating. The grounds are under disrepair as are the walkways, tripping hazards everywhere. The staff are not helpful, they were not rude, but did not welcome or let you know what or where the facilities are. Two of the pools were not in working condition, not sure if they would be when filled either. The one pool that was open was nice, but the hot pools adjacent are not for guests and there is no signage to let you know that, so when you are asked to leave, it is uncomfortable. The food in the restaurant was OK, not spectacular. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    101
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
47
150
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

I thought i travelled back in time when i found out the wifi internet connection in the entire hotel is very poor and always disconnected. I have to check to make sure that this is 2010 and i'm not in some less-developed country. Internet connection is very important factor if they want to qualify as 5-star hotels. The staff can't help me very much.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Hilton no longer owns this property. There was tape over the Hilton signs as you approach the hotels. There is nothing at all unique or special here. The hotel is like a big bad cruise ship. Nothing to do, indifferent food, even the pool is ordinary and so cold that no one was using it. It is 15 k from the nearest restaurant outside the complex and the cheapest taxi to anyplace is 65 euro. The rooms are okay although nothing special. The very small and very old tv doesn't even have a remote control. The staff is friendly but, if this was your holiday destination or, heaven forbid, your honeymoon you would be mighty disappointed. There is one bar and one restaurant and both are ugly and overbright. You can't even charge things to your room. There is a ridiculous machine that you feed euro into and use to charge against. There is nothing to see and nothing to do. All in all not a good place to visit unless you are forced to do so.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — so many things
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

The Hotel Kalidria, part of the Hilton chain, does not offer the facilities or services one would expect from an hotel which claims a 5 star rating.

Staff were always very polite and pleasant, but some were sorely lacking in professional training. More often than not, they only spoke Italian. Supervisory staff were rarely in attendance. On my first evening, the barman could not initially provide me with a gin and tonic due to an apparent lack of the latter! (NB A 5 star (Hilton) hotel which cannot satisfy a reasonable request of a guest is indicative that something is radically wrong).

Cleanliness also left a lot to be desired, and was not commensurate with a 5 star rating. Our room, though spacious, had large grease stains in two places in the carpetting which the cleaning staff were unable to remove. Dead insects were visible in the overhead lighting panels in both lifts, wasps and flies gathered on the unwashed table tops on the bar terrace and ashtrays were not emptied.

Food was good at lunch and dinner, although the disco/rap music played incessantly during meals did little to improve one's enjoyment! Breakfast was a hit and miss affair - once the buffet plates were emptied they were not replenished.

The hotel is located a few kilometres from the sea, guests being transported to the beach by a shuttle service, which seemed to function according to the whims and fancies of the drivers, rather than the convenience of the guests. The beach itself is very large and relaxing, although the overall view is marred by the oil refinery at Taranto on the other side of the bay.

The hotel houses a thalasso therapy centre, and I rather suspect that this provides a sufficient financial return for the Hilton Chain for them to be too bothered about other guests. A convention was also in progress during our time there. Contrary to claims that children under 16 are not admitted to the hotel, there were several there during our stay. During our three day stay, the Travel Desk was never operational.

The above observations were relayed to a member of the Reception staff on my departure. I requested a reply from the Hotel Director - one month later I am still awaiting an acknowledgement!

I do not consider that the Kalidria in any way offers the amenities and services one would expect from a hotel of the Hilton chain, nor does it justify a 5 star rating. I would certainly NOT stay there again!

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — not up to anticipted standard
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Me and my husband spent seven nights this summer at Hilton Kalidria using our Hilton honour points . We were looking for a relaxing holiday in a slow pace and that was we got. We had a rental car which we strongly recommend if you intend to stay at Kalidria as it is located in an area where there are only 3-4 other hotel complex and if you want to reach shops or restaurants you need your own transportation.
The hotel has a bold exterior design. It looks as if you are entering a cave. Once at the reception area it is very tastefully decorated with a large sitting area, reception and further down a bar. The staff is very friendly but during our stay, only once did I see a person in the reception that not had the sign “trainee”. The feeling I had when we were there is that this hotel is working on to fit the Hilton profile. The staff’s knowledge of English is very limited but once again I want to stress that they provided very good service and tried hard to cater for your every need. (Like coming with pesticide when we had too many ants in our room. )
The room we got was very spacious with two large beds, plenty of space to store your luggage, a dining table and a writing desk. I liked especially the lamps that had dimmer functions. The marble bathroom was also very comfortable and bathrobes were provided as well as towels in abundance. House keeping came twice a day and where very service minded and discrete.
The balconies were constructed to give you privacy. They contained one chair and one sunbed. You have a swimming pool designed for adults and spa guests at the hotel but travelling with kids you might want to walk to the sister hotels where the swimming area is more designed for families.
The breakfast is excellent Hilton style. A shuttle whisked you down to the long private beach with great facilities and good service. The water is very clear and it s clean and proper everywhere.
The tour-desk is also located in the reception area and here an improvement would be to have information about nearby sights in English and not only one file with 10 suggestions in Italian of what to do. We drove around in the area but but my personal opinion is that there are other costal regions in Italy that are far more beautiful
.
But overall We truly enjoyed our stay at Kalidria, felt pampered
and had a relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

Decided to stay here on my hilton honors points as it seemed really good value, but on arrival at 9 in the evening, there was no one to help with our bags or to help us find our room in this big complex in the dark.

On getting to our rooms we found doubles not twins as we'd asked, took an hour to get this sorted, then found that the restaurant was shut (shut at 9pm!!!) and the bar had stopped serving food, which with a diebetic nephew was a nightmare.

We were given a card to fill with money which didnt work and caused a nighmare trying just to get a drink, and the receptionist told me that i could charge on my hilton diamond card, which of course i couldnt.

Worse, the entertainment was so loud than even with our balcony doors shut it was the same level as having your television on and it didnt finish until midnight (very loud karaoke!!)

to finish the night off the airconditioning in our room didnt work and breakfast wasnt great, of the four hotels in this complex this was by far the worst, if youre looking for a value hotel perhaps this is for you, but if you like service its definately not, more like butlins abroad...

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

As the previous writer I'm a hilton honors member and decided to take my teenage nephew and neice to nova yardinia for a summer break. Having had one night at the very basic calane hotel and decided to move this hotel was fantastic. 99% of those staying here are italian or hilton honors guests but the staff are great and really go out of their way to give you a fantastic holiday.

If you have kids this is a great place to go as you can use the facilities of three other hotels for all sports, great kids club up to the age of 18, and a lovely beach with watersports. All of these are included in the price (except watersports which are not expensive) and gives you time to use the amazing spa at the hotel for a little relaxation.

All in all, a little gem hidden in southern italy, my nephew and neice want me to take them back next year... what more do i need to say great for adults, great for kids

Only downside for those light sleepers is that the italians like their evening entertainment which goes on until midnight, but the rest of the hotel more than makes up for this little inconvenience...

  • Liked — The whole hotel was fabulous and the staff were great
  • Disliked — the evening entertainment - too loud for me personally
  • Tips/Secrets — the kids club and entertainment staff at the hotel next door is fantastic, but the kalidra is a nicer place to stay great combination
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection

Address: SS106 Localita Principessa, 74010 Castellaneta, Italy (Formerly Nova Yardinia Kalidria)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Castellaneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellaneta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellaneta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A name with an ancient sound, originated from the association of two Greek origin words, Kalos, nice vase, and Hydria, water; Kalidria is charm, beauty, health and wellness. Kalidria is a 5 star Grand Hotel and Thalasso Spa, where the seawater benefits interact with the professionalism of elegant wellness places devoting more than 3500sqm to the remise en forme of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kalidria Thalasso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.