We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alborea Eco Lodge Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alborea Eco Lodge Suites to your Saves list
Alborea Eco Lodge Suites
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   SS 106 Localita Principessa, 74010 Castellaneta, Italy (Formerly Nova Yardinia Alborea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Castellaneta
rome
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

this is an amazing place with amazing people.
fantastic lodges in the middle of the forest.
great food and great people.
So good that next year I will go again there

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    64
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
130
42
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

avoid it if you can. the basic answer to any basic request was "no.is impossible"or "wait, i don't konw the answer, come back when the director will be here".
never, never, never again in this hotel. they don't owe paying guest.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We spent a week in the Alborea Hotel during a conference and were able to sample much of the immediate surroundings. The suites at the Hotel are very nice, very clean, large, with excellent air conditioning, what one would expect for a 5-star hotel. Unfortunately the service and available food were not up to this quality. The hotel is relatively remote, so if you have no car, you are "stuck" here. There is a bus to the beach, but the sea side is not up to the standards of other Italian beaches, and the water was not inviting (trash, jelly fish). The staff at the front desk were friendly, but their English was perhaps not as good as my Italian--we managed but others with our group found things difficult due to the lack of English. Breakfasts were very good, with many different offerings, but the service was abrupt, almost rude on occasion. We had no evening meal of high quality, definitely what we expected for a hotel of this quality. The pool is beautiful, a wonderful place to relax, meet people, and have a drink. The rooms were outstanding, but given the quality of the service, food, and the relatively mundane setting, we did not consider this hotel to be a good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

Our first impression of this hotel was not good. We had requested a car to collect us from the station which turned up 30 minutes late. When we arrived at the hotel no apology was made following the late arrival of the car and we were told 'the main thing is you are here now'. The accomodation was very nice if a little dated. First night in the restaurant was described as the perfect buffet. We were told that we did not need to make a reservation only to turn up to a buffet that was empty and food that was covered in flies. Not at all 5 star!! Breakfast we hoped would prove to be better. Breakfast was served ouside but undercover. Again the food was covered in flies and there seemed to be a colony of wasps present as all the food was completed covered and not edible. We complained that this was unacceptable to the waiting staff but the hotel failed to take notice. The only saving grace to this hotel was the sister hotel next door where we had breakfast and our evening meals for the rest of the holiday. This hotel still has a lot to learn to warrant the 5 star rating it has been given. Poor service, poor attention to detail, reception staff who are unknowledgable. This really is a poor hotel and i would never return or recommend it to anyone else. If you want a 5 star experience please go elsewhere. Very disappointing.

  • Liked — Single Lodges
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — N/A
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

We wanted to spend part of our time in Italy on the coast for the benefit of our 3 year old son, so eventually found the Hilton Alborea complex. The lodges are very well constructed and furnished with 2 bathrooms, bedroom and living area (with sofa bed). Some lodges are open plan with a single main space including bed, others like ours have separate bedroom and living space. Very efficient air conditioning, very clean indeed, sink and mini bar were useful (we used mini bar as fridge for our son's milk and juice, plus some chocolate supplies!). Staff mostly speak reasonable English. Outdoor pool has very large ultra-shallow area for children which was great. Note that the majority of the guests are Italians on holiday or a weekend break (which was great). Hotel has private beach reached by hotel's own coach/buggy service, 5 minutes away, good sand, very clean and clear water. Main disappointment was restaurants, there was a limited menu for our son and at busy times service was poor. Price quite high too, and the beach restaurant is completely overpriced for the (not very good) quality. There are two other Hiltons at the site, one more for conferences and then the Hilton Kalderia which offers spa treatments and is more like a regular hotel layout. We ate in the Kaledria restaurant on our last night and it was much better service and menu choice than Alborea (reception organised an electric buggy, with driver of course, to pick us up from our lodge and take us to the other hotel, about 3 minutes; same service on the way back).

We did not find many good places to eat close to the hotel. Taranto is about 20 mins drive away, nice square and pedestrian shopping area once you get to the heart of the town (past the old town and the fishing dock).

Hilton Alborea was generally family friendly apart from limited menu options. Lodges were cleaned daily, to very high standard indeed, and our son's sofa bed made/unmade each morning and evening. Contrary to the Hilton web site info at time of our trip they do NOT have an ATM on site. Hotel reception let us use one of their own back-office PCs at quite times to check our e-mail (at no charge) and were generally very helpful indeed.

  • Liked — Standard of the accommodation
  • Disliked — Restaurant choice and price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alborea Eco Lodge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alborea Eco Lodge Suites

Address: SS 106 Localita Principessa, 74010 Castellaneta, Italy (Formerly Nova Yardinia Alborea)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Castellaneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castellaneta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castellaneta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alborea Eco Lodge Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alborea Eco Lodge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Yardinia Alborea Taranto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alborea Eco Lodge Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.