We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast

Save Saved
You added Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SS 145 Sorrentina, Km 12,400 | Localita' Pozzano, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location with beautiful views! For the most part, it is a clean hotel although the parking area needed a little cleaning. The restaurant had fabulous food! The pool was too COLD for me & my family but maybe that is how they like it here... nonetheless it was cold. The beach area was nice and there was hotel staff on-hand, which I liked. Rooms were very nice, although the TVs were very outdated and small. The AC worked good.

Here is my problem I have with this hotel, (or any hotel for that matter)… stop charging for wireless internet! Wireless internet in today’s world is used for phone calling (Skype calls), on-line banking, medical reasons, doing some last minute work for the office, etc… In other words, it is not a luxury any more… it is a necessity! Stop making it so hard to connect with crazy charges, passwords, time limits, only one person per room can be connected, etc…

Club Carlson Hotels do not charge for internet service and life is good. I like the Crowne Plaza hotels and Holiday Inns, but when my daughters, my wife and myself need to “connect” and be on-line and ONLY one person at a time AND with time limits AND with fees it makes my life more difficult. We travel often as a family and I travel a lot for work.... Bad Internet Service is a Deal Breaker! OK that is my rant for the day.

The area around this hotel has a lot of things to see and do. See the Roman Villas recently discovered. Overall I recommend it with a solid three and a half stars!

Room Tip: Get a Sea View Room and look out at night at the City of Naples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    222
    84
    38
    20
See reviews for
96
276
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms were tired and a bit shabby and the area was really unpleasant - graffiti on walls, rubbish by side of the road and no footpaths, quite industrial - views great in one direction.
We found the staff ok but didn't have much contact. Agree ants not very pleasant in the room!
Restaurant was nice but bar meals a little limited in choice.
Need own transport to stay here as shuttle bus from hotel to Sorrento - ok but limited times.
Expected more from a Crowne Plaza and the company recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear sjwelltravelled,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if our hotel fell below your expectations. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently (August 2013) stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and had a reasonable holiday.

The hotel itself and the facilities are all adequate but the service was appalling and the staff completely incompetent. When we arrived there were five or six staff at the reception desk all serving one customer. All they appeared to be doing was attempting to look busy by looking over the shoulder of the member of staff using the computer and periodically nodding their heads in approval. When I approached the desk and tried to get their attention they made every effort not to make eye contact, as this would mean actually doing some work.

Another issue that we had with the staff was the sun bed situation. The lifeguards appear to reserve sun beds for specific guests. I asked on several occasions if there were beds available on the beach and was told that they were all taken despite many beds just having towels covering them with no possessions. This would have been fine if I had not walked past the beach 30 minutes later to see the lifeguards directing an Italian family to sun beds and removing the towels from the sun beds that were 'taken'. This happened on more than one occasion.

The room itself was a very nice room with air-conditioning, great view, comfy bed and very clean. The shower however did not have hot water and this was not just because we showered at times of day when others are likely to be using it. The hottest we managed to get the shower can only be described as luke-warm, the sort of temperature you would expect a heated pool to be. The other downside to the room was that it felt like a bit of a sales suite with snacks and drinks around the room with price tags on all of them.

The hotel runs a shuttle bus to Vico and Sorrento with the option of getting on the public bus if the times do not suite you. This service was excellent as long as you book in advance. I would note that the drop off point for Vico is not the most convenient for the port (where the nicer restaurants are).

We did not do any of the trips that the hotel organises as we found them for half the price in Sorrento or on the internet. The hotel provides one hour of free wifi but charge after that which I thought was odd. The drinks and food are expensive but not outrageous. The food in the restaurant was reasonable but there are far better places to go in Sorrento and even Vico which are better value for money and better food.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view or book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Luke C,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for five nights as part of a two week trip celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We wouldn't recommend staying here. Ants in room, complained to reception who didn't seem to care or be very helpful about it. Ants remained for entire stay. Fire alarm kept going off in our room during the middle of the night. We were blamed for smoking, neither of us smoke! We asked to change rooms but were told it would be fixed. This ruined two nights of our stay. No apologies or compensation given for inconvenience. Restaurant staff incapable of getting the bill correct. Location really not suitable if you don't have a car. Train station close but you have to walk along a really busy road with no pavement in parts. Wifi not free which is standard in most hotels especially of this standard. Signal was terrible. I have never written a review before but felt this warranted one.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, one of the only pros going for the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Little337,

Thank you for the review of our hotel.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your expectations on most of our amenities and we are truly sorry for you did not find our hotel to your liking. We regret the poor experience you had during your visit.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. It is a beautiful hotel - rooms very comfortable, pool clean, private beach, good breakfast. Prices are probably comparable to local restaurants - 6Euros for a beer, 10-20Euros for a cocktail, 4Euros for a coke - we found this very expensive having stayed in a self-catered villa for the week previous - 50Euros for 1 round of drinks for 6 of us curtailed our use of the bar ! The pool is beautifully maintained - you are allocated a towel and a lounger by the pool man. Disappointed that the children couldn't jump in or dive in when he was in view - but believe that is usual in the hotel pools in Sorrento and surrounding areas.

We would advise that if you go out for a meal, go to Vico Equense - the traffic to Sorrento is solid most of the day and night - and it can take 2 hours to battle your way in there whereas Vico Equense was just a 10 minute drive for us and we found a wonderful little restaurant there and easy parking. We were told that the hotel offers a mini bus to Sorrento for 2 Euros there and 2 Euros back - beats the 100Euro fare the taxi was promoting.

The hotel has a luxurious spa which 4 of our party took advantage of - pricey - 50Euros for a back massage - but very good apparently. DO NOT take the snacks from the room mini bar - our daughter opened the mini pack of pringles and cost us 6Euros.

I don't like staying in hotels on holiday - too restrictive - the pool and beach close at 7pm, no shorts at dinner, no bringing food and drink in from outside, nod diving into the pool, extortionate bar prices - but as hotels go, this was quite luxurious with great facilities and underground parking.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Upon arrival, we were instantly impressed with the hotel and the lovely view of Vesuvius. It has a small, but adequate, private beach and a lovely, clean pool (although we never went in it!). In terms of location, it is situated very conveniently for getting to all the main attractions and towns, and the shuttle bus runs directly from the hotel (albeit at strange and limited times) so we managed. But if you have been on a day out somewhere (which they will also organise for you but I would recommend doing for yourself if you want to save money), it isn't somewhere you can just pop out to a restaurant and grab some food. You are kind of stuck there unless you fancy spending 4-6 hours in Sorrento or paying a fortune for a taxi elsewhere. That said, the food in the restaurant (and the staff) was really good. The boat trip we took to Capri (organised by the hotel) was definitely worth doing if you like a touch of luxury on your boat! Would recommend Smile Travel Cars if you fancy a more personal and bespoke trip out and are prepared to pay for it (not too bad if there are a few of you). The hotel rooms were clean and spacious and really nice all in all. I would stay there again, but probably only if I had a car... which would mean giving up the wine! :\ The staff at reception were a bit vague with information at times, but I think that is just their way!

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view room as you will find yourself looking at a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The construction of the hotel is very acceptable and good locátion.es dirty and poorly maintained, for example, in the room were ants in amount with consequent disturbance in the bite at night, in the reception live a dog, equally depressed Hotel employees, do not paint the building for several years, in short no management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Camilo V,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experience. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if you didn't find some amenities to your liking and if the level of service provided didn't meet your expectations.

I assure you that we take every comment seriously and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast

Address: SS 145 Sorrentina, Km 12,400 | Localita' Pozzano, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast, located between the magnificent Gulf of Naples and the famous rocks of the Sorrento Peninsula, is a modern four star hotel born from the reconversion of an old cement factory. Its strategic location places the hotel in the center of the most enchanting touristic itineraries of the Campania region, due to its proximity to the Amalfi Coast, Naples, Sorrento, Capri, Pompeii and Herculaneum. This hotel, opened in 2004, takes its name from the two modern towers that rise over the sea, and welcome all the guests coming every day to visit the Sorrento Peninsula. Today, the Towers Hotel is a unique destination to meet the needs of those who travel for business or pleasure, as well as the perfect location to host meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Stabiae Sorrento Coast Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
Crowne Plaza Hotel Stabiae
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.