We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa to your Saves list
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Hitchin, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

An excellent hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff, who could not do enough for us. If driving beware there are no rules in Italy. The facilities at the hotel are excellent, and the food very good. We were half board which was just as well because there are not many places to eat close to the hotel, and without a car it must be difficult.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Allan,

Thank you for having selected The Grand Hotel La Medusa!!!!!!

We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the personal touches of our staff played an instrumental role in you having such a wonderful sojourn.

We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    122
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
182
407
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we made the reservarion we couldn' t imagine how beautiful would be this hotel. With a marvelous english garden, every place you look, you discover a new surprise. Staff excellent, dinner special, and the room fresh and clear! Unfortunetly was only one night!

Room Tip: With wiew to the garden and the Vesuvio volcan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear SusanaKos,

It is always such a pleasure receiving kind notes and reading lovely comments and appreciations.

Your expertise and knowledge of our hotel clearly appears through your kind note, describing The Grand Hotel La Medusa in great detail. Thank you very much for having shared it with the readers of this site.


We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future!

Yours sincerely,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

An excellent hotel with highly professional, courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. The gardens are beautiful and all areas of the hotel are maintained to a very high standard. Evening meals were excellent. Breakfast was a little boring and could be improved just by having a selection of fresh bread/rolls (same white baguette rolls served at breakfast and evening meals every day) plus the same with the ham & cheese. Even a few tomatoes with the fruit would be nice, although I do appreciate Italian breakfasts are usually sweet. The hotel, which I understand was a private villa, is in a very unlikely area for a hotel, but once inside the grounds the views and surrounding mountains make it a very special place. If you are a beach lover, this is not an ideal location and the local town is not renowned for tourism. However, Naples etc are within easy reach and Amalfi is about an hour's drive. Ravello in the hills above Amalfi should not be missed. Would return for a short break because of the high standard of customer care.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the side of the hotel with a view over Bay of Naples. However, beware the noisy coc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Shirley,

Thank you very much for your words of appreciation and for having shared your wonderful feedback with the Tripadvisor community. We are pleased that The Grand Hotel La Medusa was your inspiration!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it is such a pleasure receiving compliments on the service delivered and learning that our team members were brilliant and capable in helping you throughout your stay.

With regards to your suggestion, please be informed that the most beautiful beaches in the area can be reach by train in 5 minutes and the hotel provides a free shuttle service to the train station. We do our best to prevent any discomfort to our clients related to the beach distance.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to your “inspiring” hotel in the soonest future.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had to most amazing stay. Hotel is gorgeous, the food is amazing and the staff are fabulous. We were totally spoilt by everyone, they are all so attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is located close to lots of sites but you do have to drive to these so beware of the Italian drivers, they can be quite erratic. All in all a holiday destination that is definitely recommended xx

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Lisa,

It’s a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, enjoying the various services.

The location is indeed a peaceful one but so centrally located that it makes it convenient for most activities in the area.


Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I don't even know where to begin!

As soon as you pull into the gates of the property, you are greeted by grand gardens and a beautiful hotel.

The ladies and gentleman at the reception desk are beyond compare. We had an issue with our car rental company, they made sure we could call them to reconcile. We had a package that was supposed to be delivered to our next destination and the ladies at the reception desk called the post office in Milan to track down the package, fill out the proper forms, type up a letter of declaration as well as fax all the paperwork back to the post office in Milan to ensure our package would clear customs! Talk about customer service!

Our exquisite room with a terrace overlooked the lavish gardens, pool and Mount Vesuvius in the distance. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the air conditioning worked very well (we even had to turn it down sometime because it got too cold!). With 7 of us traveling together, we felt the rooms were very spacious, we had (2) triple rooms and (1) single. Well worth it!

Each evening, we enjoyed a bottle of wine in the beutiful gardens in the back of the property. There were plenty of options for seating and fans were complimenting the breezy night air. The Garden Bar staff were professional and courteous and made us feel like were royalty.

The breakfast buffet on the garden terrace was more than enough as we started our day's activities.

Grazie mille La Medusa!!

Room Tip: rooms on the north side face Mt Vesuvius and most have terraces you can sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mia_randa,

We would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a nice and detailed report of your stay, that we will share with the entire staff.
It is a real pleasure to hear that we have succeeded in meeting your high expectations
Taking good care of our Guests is our main commitment.
We really look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not distant future and to let you experience again our personal touch.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This beautiful treasure is in the middle of nowhere yet it is in the most perfect location for pleasing a lot of holiday makers. We were trying to avoid the bottle neck area of Sorrento and the Amalfi coast , yet wanting to be in the striking distance with our hired car. Hence La Medusa Grand – the setting is superb, the staff are effervescent and the wealth of knowledge at the reception desk is truly remarkable. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the whole team.

If you are looking at sitting by the pool – away from it all or a destination wedding venue or visiting the ruins at Pompeii (a must) or a day trip to Naples or a drive by the Amalfi coast and Sorrento, this hotel and the location would be a fantastic choice. A car is a must – try and keep it as small as possible because of the traffic and general conditions. Excellent free parking facilities at the hotel. Sat Nav / GPS is also a must – once you get used to driving on the other side of the road.

We had a B & B package which was great, it gave us the freedom to choose our lunches and dinners. Breakfast was the usual with freshly squeezed oranges on offer – a delight. The whole alfresco setting was a joy, be it for breakfast or dinner. Coffee, like most places in Italy was a winner. We only dined at the hotel once, so can’t be very objective but according to the regulars - it was good. There is a lot of local selection, budget or premium, once again the resourceful reception desk only need to be asked. There is a Pizzeria right across the road, a two minute walk from the hotel where the food is very palatable (can’t say the same about the ambience though!) The pool side bar is not in sight, so you do need to walk up to order – set in the gardens and could be a perfect place to down a Mojito.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Claudia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Grand Hotel La Medusa with the TripAdvisor community and with us.

We are so happy to learn that you felt honoured thanks to the attitude of our wonderful and passionate team. Your appreciative comments will be shared with it.

We are grateful for your words and we couldn't agree more about the beauty of our Hotel and how enjoyable the view is from here, showing the city in its uniqueness, with a completely different feeling during daytime and night-time.

We look forward to your renewed visit to our city and exclusive Hotel for another experience to treasure.

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose to stay on the outskirts of sorrento at this hotel despite the reviews of the area not being positive and it was the best decision we ever made.

The hotel is exquisite. It's like a jewel in the city. Set in the hills it is clean, finished to a very high spec and has everything you could need , including staff who will go out of their way to help.

It has a beautiful pool with jacuzzis, whirl pools and outside spa and the gardens are just incredible. Go to the roof... There's the most beautiful roof terrace and garden .

Castellammare di stabbia is a city. It is busy and about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. If you venture down to the harbour you can see authentic Italian way of life with some nice sea food restaurants... It is not picturesque but worth a walk down. Talk to the locals they are so friendly. The coffee shops and happy for you to sample cake. Walk outside the hotel and turn left and there's a lovely restaurant called bacce which does very reasonable traditional Italian food. Turn right and you will find the
Villa araianna. It's an old roman villa ruin which is free and you will see more there than at Herculeam or Pompeii. There was only us there and we had an Italian tour guide who was so enthusiastic it was lovely. Don't pass this opportunity up. There is another to the left of the hotel the villa of st marco. Again free and you can close to a piece of roman history. It's incredible ..No frills, no tourist shop of toilets but unbelievable that it is free and so close to the hotel. It was better than Herculeam,Which took us an hour to drive to and cost us 40 euros.

The train station is again on the walk (10 minutes) to the city and will take you to sorrento for about 4 euros . The hotel will take you on a shuttle.

We discovered a small town called vico ecquensi. It's on the train route too ... 10 minute car drive from the hotel...It's beautiful. There was a film festival on when we went. With outdoor cinema and then a food festival where the whole town was out sampling food. You can also by pizza by the meter and can watch it being made which is worth a visit at the restaurant called the pizza university . A must visit.

Sorrento is busy and touristy but pretty and the drive in is nothing short of beautiful every time. It's about 30 minutes from the hotel and there is a big car park in the centre. Hotel staff have maps for everything and will help you.

You can get a ferry from the beach to Capri and when in Capri do the cable chairs to the top. You can get a bus to take you there which is quite an experience driving round the edge of cliffs on very narrow roads. The view is spectacular and it's on,y 10 euros. Capri is busy so go early.

The almafi drive is amazing , you have to have a lot of patience the scooters and Italian drivers and buses are insane but the drive is lovely . Almafi is again busy and touristy but has some nice beaches and shops, churches etc.

Position is on route and at first glance , is stunning but doesn't look like you can access it. Drive down into the centre. The further to the top you park the cheaper the parking but be prepared it's a hike! The hotel told us about a free boat which will take you to a private beach with a restaurant called aldofo. It's a little boat with a red fish on. You can book before you go and I'd recommend it. It takes you away from the tourist positano and gives you a small little cove beach to eat at. It's stunning.

We were so glad we hired a little car. Gave us access to so many beautiful beaches and stops along the way. The train service from the city is good and you get free gypsy singing on board. From sorrento you can acces other places to.

Try the ice cream .... Amazing and lemocello.

You will not be disappointed if you book this hotel do not be put off by reviews of the area.
Explore , there is so much more to see in hidden areas. Make vico equinsi a must stop

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Djlj6,

Thank you very much for having posted your rewarding feedback and for having recommended staying at our Hotel and visiting Castellammare di Stabia to other discerning travelers; we are grateful to you.

We are delighted to read that the friendly and helpful attitude of our team members made you feel welcome! They will surely be encouraged by your remarks about the service quality.

As you mentioned, the central yet tranquil location of our Hotel makes the visit of the area even more enjoyable.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the GrandHotel La Medusa in the soonest future!

Best regards,

Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siecle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... Where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in Liberty Style divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside Fitness Corner represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the Pool Bar for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... Will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.