We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meraviglioso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Medusa Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Medusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list
La Medusa Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meraviglioso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I would like to say that Grand hotel La Medusa is one of the best hotels I've stayed in! I am a tour manager and I am travelling really a lot around Italy. The way you feel in Grand hotel La medusa is simply the best. It's not that you can't find mistakes, but you simply don't see them as the staff is brilliant and so very well managed that you feel like in paradise! It was the second time for me in this hotel and I just returned home... but, you see, I just wait to go back as soon as possible. Thank you Reda, Erminia, Antonio, Maria and all the others I don't know the name. See you soon!

Room Tip: With a view over Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Greetings from Grand Hotel La Medusa!

Dear Diana,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.
We are really pleased to read such a nice comment and especially to know that, thanks to our strategic position, rooms and service, we succeded in making a wow effect on you!
We will share your nice comments with the Team and we all look forward to welcoming you in the very next future.


Kind regards and Happy Easter!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    122
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
182
406
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

An extremely impressive hotel with beautiful reception areas, bar and restaurant. Very comfortable rooms with all the little extras you would need for a special holiday. Reda and her colleagues could not have been more friendly or helpful, giving us tips for navigating our way to the famous sights of the region, even down to where to park! We would love to go back again for a longer stay in the summer time so that we can enjoy the wonderful gardens, citrus grove, and pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Greetings from Grand Hotel La Medusa!

Dear Mrs. Mandy,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.
We are so happy to realize through your words that you had a great stay among us and you did appreciate the service provided by the staff.
We are all so grateful because your review is so beautiful and well detailed and it shows what you really felt after your visit at the Medusa.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the summer season.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

They are in the middle of redecorating this hotel but it is lovely even so. It's like an old colonial house with big open rooms and spaces. The staff were extremely helpful and went well beyond the call of duty. We had a 2 bed suite which was very nice the sheets and towels were very good quality. Tiled floor and air-con would suit the summer. We were a little disappointed that while they were remodelling they didn't have a chef and so the restaurant was closed and breakfast was a little uninspired. I am sure it will be beautiful when it is finished in a couple of months.

We used it as a base for Pompeii and Herculaneum (and Oplontis which was fantastic, quick but don't miss it! Free on a multi ticket) It was perfectly placed for that about 20 mins down the autostrada. The area however is very unattractive - not sure what such a lovely hotel is doing here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Greetings from Gran Hotel La Medusa!

Dear Aragornsm,

first of all, we would like to thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.

We are so happy to realize through your words that you had a great stay among us and you did appreciate the service provided by the staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience concerning the modernization work during your stay (which will finish within a couple of days), but will be used to improve the quality of stay and the hospitality.

We feel rewarded getting aware of your satisfaction: thank you for having shared your opinion with other users. We hope to welcome you back in order to spend another great time together! Best wishes!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very fancy hotel, the room is very clean, tidy. You can have breakfast with wonderful view of Napoli bay and Vesuvius Valcano. The service is aslo very good, staff are friendly and helpful. The whole hotel is surrounded by trees, very lovely.

Room Tip: Better get a room with the view to the Bay~
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mr. ZhuZhu198,

We are really pleased to read such a nice comment and especially to know that, thanks to our strategic position, rooms and service, we succeded in making a wow effect on you!
We sincerely thank you for this kind feedback and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property!

Our warmest regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great hotel. Both the physical structure and the service were top notch. Very well kept and very clean. The rooms are spacious. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful Great hotel for any visit to Pompeii or the Amalfi Coast. The only downside is the location is a bit out of the way if you want walking access to a large assortment of restaurants or shopping. Breakfast on the fourth floor is definitely a highlight of any visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Tommie198,

Thank you indeed for your kind and positive review!
We are all very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team welcoming.

Should your travels bring you back to Castellammare di Stabia, please do not hesitate to come and visit us again!

Warmest regards and Happy New Year!
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utena, Lithuania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Definitely a great hotel, very nice staff, clean, tidy, great garden, swimming pool. Awesome view from the window of Vesuvius. There are rooms with large terrace. Through the restaurant overlooks panoramic views of Vesuvius. Nice illuminated garden.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mrs. Asta,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated every aspects of our hotel.

On behalf of the entire team of Grand Hotel La Medusa, I wish you a wonderful 2014 and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel that has been very carefully cared for and looked after. The rooms are spacious and the staff attentive. Breakfast is served in luxurious surroundings there is plenty of choice and service is of high standard. The gardens are beautiful with Vesuvius as your back drop. It is ideally situated for Pompeii, Herculaneum and Mount Vesuvius but is not close to Sorrento as the postal address suggests. We stayed at the end of the October and really di only use the hotel as a place to sleep while sightseeing but we would certainly go back in the summer where we could make use of the gardens and pool with some days staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely thankful to you for pointing your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa out as a perfect one! This means a lot to the whole Staff that work every day very hard to reach the goal of the guests' satisfaction.It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We will share your nice comments with the Team and we all look forward to welcoming you in the very next future.

Best regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Medusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Grand Hotel

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siècle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in «Liberty Style» divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside «Fitness Corner» represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the «Pool Bar» for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant «Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze» in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Escapio, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Medusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Grand Hotel Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Medusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.