We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Medusa Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Medusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Medusa Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great hotel. Both the physical structure and the service were top notch. Very well kept and very clean. The rooms are spacious. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful Great hotel for any visit to Pompeii or the Amalfi Coast. The only downside is the location is a bit out of the way if you want walking access to a large assortment of restaurants or shopping. Breakfast on the fourth floor is definitely a highlight of any visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Tommie198,

Thank you indeed for your kind and positive review!
We are all very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team welcoming.

Should your travels bring you back to Castellammare di Stabia, please do not hesitate to come and visit us again!

Warmest regards and Happy New Year!
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    106
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
163
350
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utena, Lithuania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Definitely a great hotel, very nice staff, clean, tidy, great garden, swimming pool. Awesome view from the window of Vesuvius. There are rooms with large terrace. Through the restaurant overlooks panoramic views of Vesuvius. Nice illuminated garden.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mrs. Asta,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated every aspects of our hotel.

On behalf of the entire team of Grand Hotel La Medusa, I wish you a wonderful 2014 and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel that has been very carefully cared for and looked after. The rooms are spacious and the staff attentive. Breakfast is served in luxurious surroundings there is plenty of choice and service is of high standard. The gardens are beautiful with Vesuvius as your back drop. It is ideally situated for Pompeii, Herculaneum and Mount Vesuvius but is not close to Sorrento as the postal address suggests. We stayed at the end of the October and really di only use the hotel as a place to sleep while sightseeing but we would certainly go back in the summer where we could make use of the gardens and pool with some days staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely thankful to you for pointing your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa out as a perfect one! This means a lot to the whole Staff that work every day very hard to reach the goal of the guests' satisfaction.It is extremely rewarding for the team to get such gratitude from our guests.

We will share your nice comments with the Team and we all look forward to welcoming you in the very next future.

Best regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days at this lovely hotel this past week. It is a perfect location to visit Naples, Positano and Pompeii. The staff speaks english if you don't speak Italian and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
Salvadore in the lounge makes great cocktails and the view from the 4th floor is spectacular. On a clear day you have a great view of mount Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. There is a nice restaurant tucked back across the street called Le Brace that serves great steak and pastas. it is walking distance. Don't miss that either

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Castellammare di Stabia!

Thank you for mentioning the kindness and helpfulness of our Staff, your kind words are for all of us the nicest recompense to our daily job.
We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction.

We appreciate as well you pointing out the central an quite location of the hotel,near to the most important tourist destinations in the region.

We thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Was visiting Italy with a friend whose daughter was attending school abroad. We spent 4 days days at the La Medusa and I have to say it was a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and courteous - from the front desk to the wait staff & housekeepers. Transportation to the trains & downtown for dinner was great. Thanks for recommendations and being patient with us. The property was beautiful and well maintained. Would love to travel here with my husband in the near future.

Room Tip: All I know is that my room was good & comfortable - Mount Vesuvius was visible from the side I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours!

It was nice to hear that all the Staff and the service in general exceeded your expectations.

Everybody works exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special .We do our utmost to enchant our guests and We are glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband in the very next future.

Best Regards
Mariano Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in November along with our son and his girl friend. We stayed in the least expensive water view rooms. They were very comfortable with a nice view of the bay of Naples. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and would be a great place for a wedding or other occasion. Breakfast was good in the top floor dining room. The location is convenient to Pompeii, Sorrento and Amalfi. There is a nice restaurant almost directly across the street and the "American Bar" is next door. Be aware that some GPS databases leave you about a mile from the hotel. Keep going up hill and you will find it.

Room Tip: Request water view
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Clyde,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind review about your recent stay. We are incredibly honored that that you chose our hotel for your vacations, and it is wonderful to hear that we were able to help make your stay a success. We are so proud of our kind and thoughtful staff members, who are always trying to go the extra step to make our guests happy. They are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast at the 4th floor.
We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to Sorrento Coast!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Together with a group of forty I stayed in La Medusa Grand Hotel in October. The location and appearance of this hotel are great: beautiful, well maintained gardens surrounding a grand old building with luxurious rooms in different sizes and all furnished in a different way, but all very elegant and comfortable. La Medusa is an oasis in Castellammare, which isn't such a very pretty town. The staff of this hotel is very friendly and helpful, the hospitality is unsurpassed. The view from the room to the gardens is great, the view on Naples, the Naples Bay and the Vesuvius on top of the hotel is unforgettable. The location of La Medusa Grand Hotel is splendid for visiting all the great sites in the surroundings: Naples, Vesuvius, Pompeii, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. Highly recommended, this fantastic hotel !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review was a pleasure to read…thank you for your kind words.

It truly sounds as if your stay with us was transporting and this is wonderful to know. We are pleased you enjoyed everything from the service, to the room, to the overall setting and ambiance.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!!!!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Medusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Grand Hotel

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siècle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in «Liberty Style» divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside «Fitness Corner» represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the «Pool Bar» for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant «Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze» in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotel.de, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Medusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Grand Hotel Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Medusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.