We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Medusa Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Medusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Medusa Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Amazing maison, very warm people. Great service and very nice rooms. And food was very good. We were unlucky with the weather, could not experience the pool. It looked very appealing. We definitely would like to come back. Good location to stay overnight if passing by the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperatoMariano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ekaterina,

Thank you very much for posting all your nice comments on TripAdvisor.
Your words will be shared among our employees.

We are delighted that our services met with your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the facilities and services offered in the hotel.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon again here at the Grand Hotel La Medusa ( with sunny and happy days !!!! )


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    106
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
163
350
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It made a refreshing change to stay in a classic Italian hotel rather than a large corporate hotel chain. This is a charming gem of a hotel,in its own little Oasis. Very friendly staff who are always to help either in the hotel or when dropping you off at the train station and helping when you need to buy tickets etc. The service level is exemplary.
The room we had was very clean, spacious, and although at the side of the hotel we still had a pleasant view.
The breakfast selection was very good but you do need to have a sweet tooth as lots of cake, not a problem for us .....it was yummy !.
The location is away from the main town , but an ideal base for a short break or holiday.
Sorrento is lovely and was the perfect place for us to get Engaged ..... Had a fabulous time and would love to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Guest Relations Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Godden,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind review about your recent stay. We are incredibly honored that that you chose our hotel for your vacations, and it is wonderful to hear that we were able to help make your stay a success. We are so proud of our kind and thoughtful staff members, who are always trying to go the extra step to make our guests happy. They are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast ( for your next stay You will find even more good cakes!!!).We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to Sorrento Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our group spent three nights in this beautiful hotel during our trip to Campania. I would like to come again and have mora time to relax in this beautiful surroundings. I regret very much that we didn't have much time to enjoy the beutiful garden and the lovely pool since we travelled arround during the day. Everything was really perfect: from a very lovely clean and comfortable room, gorgeus restaurant with excellent food to fantastic staff. Petra

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are very nice and quiet, the side facing the see has lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Guest Relations Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Loncar,

We was very pleased to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel La Medusa. We was delighted that you liked the hotel and the service we provided you with. We have passed on your kind words to the rest of the team at the hotel. Please do come and visit us again as.

We look forward to welcoming you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just had a short stay at this beautiful hotel and now want to go back. The gardens and pool are absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a relaxing, chilled out stay. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the hotel is clean and comfortable. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Guest Relations Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided to you.

We look forward to your return…hopefully it will be soon!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, N.I
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked this hotel as a midway stop between Naples & Sorrento, mainly based on Tripadvisor reviews. From the moment we arrived we were amazed, we were met at the door by the manager and welcomed to the hotel. Even in Oct we found the hotel fab, the pool was still enjoyable and we still got to spend time around the lovely gardens. Everything about the hotel was of a high standard, interior space, lots of garden seating, rooms, decor, and the food! The hotel is excellent at dealing with any gluten free guests.

The hotel shuttle is very reliable and pleasant and we used it between Pompeii and Sorrento on a few occasions.

We ate in the 4th floor restaurant one night and the meal and surrounding were great, very professional waiting staff made it really enjoyable.

Do not hesitate to book here!

Room Tip: We actually stayed in two sea view rooms, both were fine and at opposite ends of the hotel. Both ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Guest Relations Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

The title of your review brought a huge smile on our faces…We are so happy to hear you feel Grand Hotel La Medusa is a representation of the spirit of Italian style. Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding the garden, the swimming pool and the staf . We will make sure to pass your note along to them…

Thank you for staying with us and please do come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely hotel, fantastic staff who couldn't do enough for us. lovely clean room with a great view.
you will need a car and if hiring it from the airport take your sat nav.
The hotel food was excellent and although we had planned to eat out we ended up eating in most nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Guest Relations Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Grand Hotel La Medusa.
We are pleased we were able to provide you with an exceptional experience from the moment you stepped out of your car until the moment you departed. We will make sure to pass along your kind comments regarding our food and beverage to Chef Borrelli. Even after all his accolades and achievements, he still loves to hear feedback from those who have dined in our restaurants.

We are delighted we were able to exceed your expectations…this is always our goal. Please so come back and visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked the motel using reviews on Trip Advisor and to say I was not disappointed is an understatement. What a beautiful motel in an even more beautiful setting. Staff were perfect in every way with Antonia and Maria looking after all of our food and wine needs. Francesco on the front counter is a gentleman and made my wife blush when he kissed her hand.

Meals were lovely and breakfast superb. Could not ask for better value for money.

My wife wants to live here - at the motel she loved it that much. She is now planning our trip here next year to renew our wedding vows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Guest Relations Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Matthew,
Your review was a pleasure to read…thank you for your kind words. It truly sounds as if your stay with us was transporting and this is wonderful to know. We are pleased you enjoyed everything from the service, to the room, to the overall setting and ambiance.
We will make sure to pass along your kind words to Antonio and Maria, as they will be thrilled to know that you were impressed with their recommendations.


We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Medusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Grand Hotel

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siècle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in «Liberty Style» divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside «Fitness Corner» represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the «Pool Bar» for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant «Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze» in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your La Medusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Grand Hotel Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Medusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.