We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Castellammare Di Stabia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Medusa Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Medusa Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Medusa Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London
1 review
“An Oasis in Castellammare Di Stabia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a challenging drive in an unfamiliar hire car from the airport in Naples, turning into the entrance of the La Medusa Grand Hotel was like entering a beautiful and peaceful oasis! We were greeted by Francesco, the hotel manager, who immediately made us feel like part of his family, emphasising "no stress" and inviting us to treat the hotel as home.

The hotel is set in lovely gardens filled with palm and citrus trees, with fountains, statues and restful seating areas. Our visit was in February, so we couldn't make the most of this, but imagine it would be very enjoyable to sit out in the sun enjoying a drink. As we were out of season the swimming pool and hotel restaurant were closed, but there is a good restaurant almost opposite, called La Brace, which Francesco pointed us to.

Our rooms (one double and one twin for the kids) were spacious, perfectly clean and impeccably decorated. They were air-conditioned, and wifi is available. Breakfast was included for our stay and this was a delicious spread of cereals, fruit juices, bread, rolls, ham, cheese, cakes, fruit and yoghurt, washed down with tea, coffee or chocolate.

The hotel is located in Castellammare Di Stabia, which is conveniently located for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Sorrento and the Amalfi coast; as well as being within walking distance of two well-preserved and free-to-visit Roman villas, which Francesco kindly directed us to. A hire car is recommended, although it would be possible to use taxis and public transport.

In conclusion - excellent staff / service; good location for sight-seeing in the area but not 'touristy' in itself; very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    102
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
150
331
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed for 6 days in this beautiful hotel and loved everyday. The atmosphere was very hospitable. The reception manager gave us good advices everyday so we had a stay without any bad surprises. The breakfast in the 4th floor with view on the Vesuv was a good beginning of every day. The service was super. I loved the decorations -the fresh flowers as well as the silver ans and bowls. The antique furniture accomplished the nice atmosphere. We will come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in every respect. I was fortunate to be able to spend a night here and left wishing that I could stay for much longer. The manager was perhaps the most hospitable hotellier I have ever met, welcoming me as though I was a member of his family and the hotel was my home. My room had an amazing view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Breakfast on the 4th level was in a restaurant that also had this spectacular vista. My room was exquisite, with a luxurious bathroom, complete with a rain shower head.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so proud to read such a lovely review about your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa! GRAZIE..

Grand Hotel La Medusa is open to its precious guests (all the year round…)..and always as a member of his family...

See you soon... and for a minimum stay of a week...:)

Best regards from Stabiae...(place of art, culture and relaxation ..... without stress, smog and especially without .."local tax free in 2013")

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa - 4 stars - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My business required me to stay in Castellammare Di Stabia for an extended period - so far about 5 months. Our agents selected the Grand Hotel La Medusa, and I could not be more satisfied.
The hotel is a modernised villa, and has magnificent gardens and recreational areas including a lovely pool.
The dining facilities and staff have been more than accommodating, sometimes of my 'English' requests. The food and serivice is of excellent quality
During the time I have been resident, Francesco and his staff have looked after me as 'one of the family' and insisted I treat the hotel as my home.
Changes to the room so It could function as a temporary office as well as my living room were quickly accommodated and the reception staff have always seen to my needs for laundry, internet, taxis, even a run to the local hospital when I was tsken ill.
I am about to return after my Christmas break and I look forward to another 2 or 3 months at the Grand Hotel La Medusa.

Room Tip: Rooms facing North have a better views of Vesuvious and Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valid and Special Guest,

First of all, a major thank you for spending your time in writing such lovely words about your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa!! (your home)..

I really appreciate it!

I really look forward to welcoming you here once more.... and make your ""business stay"" unique unforgettable and as "one of the family"!!!! :)

Best regards from Stabiae..

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa - 4 stars - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the second we walked in the door Francesco (Manager) and his staff made this short vacation an unbelievable experience! Many hotels tell you no more stress but he delivered. Every request was warmly granted. The grounds were very nice and the large room was very comfortable and very well decorated with a great view of the sea. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Breakfast was very good. Typical European - Danish, cold meats & cheeses, fresh squeezed Orange Juice.

LaBrace is a great restaurant right across the street. Just be aware that it does not open until after 7:00 PM (which is late for this American).

The only very small issue with this property is that it not within walking distance to city and train. The hotel does offer several free shuttles throughout the day however to get back there is a 10 Euro charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear valid guest,

The management and staff of the Grand Hotel La Meudsa would like to thank all our customers for the trust and for having contributed to our success this year 2012!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013! "

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa 4 star - Irollo Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I see myself as a very frequent world traveler and especially in italy. I have tried so many hotels around the world but "Grand hotel La Medusa" is definitely one of my favorite hotel's in the world.
I have been a frequent guest at this hotel for the last 5 years and visited the hotel several times each year.

The Hotel.

This is a superior four stars hotel which is located in a beautiful old and very well maintained villa with the most amazing park/garden surrounding the hotel. There is so many lemon and orange trees and also many beautiful flowers and small water steams. The park/garden also have many beautiful terraces where you could relax or just read a book.
There is also a lovely pool area with very comfortable sun loungers and umbrellas and a bar where you could have drinks, coffee or a good lunch.
Inside the hotel is extremely well maintained with many antique furnishings, beautiful italian ceramic floors and always many fresh flowers and I definitely would say that this hotel is overall a 5 star experince. The hotel also offers free parking

The Rooms.

The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable rooms with park or sea side view and some rooms have balcony and the spacious bathrooms are well-finished with “Vietri” ceramics style.

The Food.

The breakfast is served in style each morning in the Gazebo where you will start the day with a rich buffet breakfast and freshly squeezed orange juice from the trees in the park.

Dinner at the hotel is for me the best food I ever tryed in any hotel and the food is just AMAZING!
The menu's is a very good balance of classical mediterranean & local cuisine complemented with a great vine list and it is served in a elegant style. And with Antonio & Maria as your fantastic waiters you will have a fantastic dinner in the hotel....simply amzing food and so high quality.

The Staff & Service.

The staff is for me very important and in this hotel you will find the most fantastic staff with the hotel manager Francesco always trying to do the absolute best to give you a holiday you never will remember for a long time. The front office is always with a big smile and nothing is to much trouble, they are very very helpful indeed.
The service level in the hotel is just amazing and everyone is so helpful with the needs you are having on your vacation.
Free shuttle service on fixed time to castellammare and also 1 hour free Wi-Fi.

Location.

The hotel position is on the beautiful outskirts of Castellammare with high montains (Mont Faito) and the golf of Naples as a big scenery. The location between Naples and Sorrento is for me a ideal point from which you can leave to discover Napels and the fantastic sorrento/amalfi coast or go to the famous island's Capri or Ischia and you are also very close to many historical wonders of Campania like Pompei, Herculaneum or Mont Vesuvius.
A car is "not" a must in this hotel but it would make your stay more plesant if you have a car with you. Some guests hire a car for some days to drive around and see the fantastic area but it is no trouble to take the train to Sorrento (20 min.) Naples (50 min.) or take a boat to one the beautiful islands from castellammare.

Rating.

Finally, I will conclude this review with a BIG thank to the family Trollo, Francesco and the rest of the amazing staff to make this hotel into a wonderful paradis.
This hotel is one of the best hotel's in the world and I can't wait to return "a casa" soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear valid guest,

The management and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa would like to thank all our customers for the trust and for having contributed to our success this year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013! "

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa 4 star - Irollo Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels on the planet and is worth staying in for that reason alone.
The view from the hotel is similarly beautiful. The front-office staff was excellent and very helpful; the breakfast was first rate and the breakfast staff, too. One minor issue: the housekeeping staff was inexplicably and annoyingly stingy with the towels, soap, etc. We figured it had to do with the recession in Italy and the fact that we travel off-season. But those are minor gripes: we would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Hotel Manager Assistant at La Medusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Precious Guest,

First of all, a major Thank You for spending your time in writing such lovely words about your stay at Grand Hotel La Medusa!! We really appreciate it!
We’re so glad that you think of our Hotel as one of the most beautiful hotels on the planet… we’re so proud of it!
As for the minor gripes, we’ll absolutely do our best in order to improve always more the quality of our service… That’s why, in a valued Hotel, as we should be, housekeeping ladies as well as the whole staff feel in must to work hard in respect of the environment, trying not to waste a lot…
Anyway, we really look forward to welcoming you here once more, in order to let you find out all our services and make your stay unique & unforgettable!

Our kindest regards.

Jolanda Anna Landolfi - Hotel Manager Assistant, Francesco Donnarumma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Medusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Grand Hotel

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siècle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in «Liberty Style» divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside «Fitness Corner» represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the «Pool Bar» for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant «Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze» in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Medusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia
La Medusa Grand Hotel Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Medusa Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.