We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scavi di Stabia

Scavi di Stabia
Via Passeggiata Archeologica, 1, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
39 081 8575347
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Brilliant villas that you can wander about free of charge. Lots of information to read all written in English and wonderful views over the whole area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Part of the Vesuvius experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you purchased the three-day ticket for Pompeii and Herculaneum, the villas at Stabia are included and not to be missed. They are quite a way up hill, one at a higher level and therefore further than the other. We had a hire car and visited on different days but if you are on foot or using public transport, you will want to see both villas on the same trip. The villas (Villa Arianna & Villa San Marco) were luxurious properties for high-status Romans, so they give a somewhat different perspective to what you will see at Pompeii and Herculaneum. The full extent of Villa Arianna may never be known as it has not been fully excavated, plus some rooms have fallen down the cliff. Arianna has a small visitor car park. Villa San Marco is more complete. A car park for San Marco is clearly signed. Don't then be put off by a further sign which is a little ambiguous because the walk along a path into what looks like private property may seem unlikely, but this is the way. You will also find that there are many fewer people taking the trouble to visit these sites than you will see at Pompeii and Herculaneum so you will also escape the crowds. At Arianna at the end of the day, we were the only visitors at the time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
295 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Long walk from Via Nocera station but worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The nearest railway station is Via Nocera. I believe there is a bus from that station (route no. 1 red), but I walked. You need to turn left onto Viale Europa, the busy main road to Gragnano, and then later turn sharp left onto Passeggiata Archeologica. Don't let the name "passeggiata" (walkway or promenade) fool you. It's a busy road, with very little room for pedestrians. If I'd known I would perhaps have waited for the bus or tried for a cab, but it is walkable. The Villa Arianna is not far along, on a road to the left from the Passeggiata, and well signposted. It's much further along the Passeggiata to the Villa San Marco, where again you need to turn left (also signposted). At both places I was just asked to sign the visitors' book and was not charged. You need to find your own way around the Villa Arianna, but at the Villa San Marco there were people providing excellent guided tours in English or Italian, perhaps other languages. I missed it, but closer to the Via Nocera station, on Via Grotta di San Biagio, is the said Grotta, which was used as a quarry in ancient times and later as a Christian oratory. Like the two villas it has interesting frescoes, I believe, and I'm sorry I missed it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey u.k
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

You really have to visit the local roman villas that are still being excavated in the area. Villa San Marco and Villa Adrianne

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Off the beaten Path but worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If visiting by train and foot get off at via necora and not castellemare de stabia. Its a good 20 minute walk to the first of the villas from the station (villa San Marco). Stabiae isnt a town as such but a collection of opulent villas on a 50m high plateau that once overlooked the beach. Villa San Marco was enormous and rarely visited by anybody which is a shame as there is so much to see and lovely frescoes and just goes on and on. My wife refused to walk any further and therefore we didnt get to see villa ariadne which is even bigger. Most of the other villas arent open to the public which is a shame but will hopefully be available in the future. Even though we went to Stabiae as part of the 5 centre ticket purchased at Pompeii, the 3 lovely ladies at the villa didnt ask for a ticket but just to sign the visitors book, probably due to the lack of visitors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scavi di Stabia also viewed

Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Torre Annunziata, Province of Naples
 
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Boscoreale, Province of Naples
 

Been to Scavi di Stabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scavi di Stabia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.