We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as good as Pompeii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scavi di Stabia

Scavi di Stabia
Via Passeggiata Archeologica, 1, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
39 081 8575347
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Almost as good as Pompeii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was so interesting to be able to walk through these villas and see how the wealthy Romans lived. You can't actually do that in Pompeii. Yes, a caretaker did guide us but he showed us things that we might not have seen. My husband knows some Spanish and was able to understand a lot of things he said. We decided at the end of the "tour" that he probably wanted to keep an eye on the tourists so that walls and other items weren't vandalized. Most amazing was a little square "pool" that was built next to the kitchen where live fish were kept until needed for a meal. My husband, a former archeologist, felt that Stabia was actually more interesting than Pompeii.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Peaceful chance to study some Roman villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After a full day at Pompeii, a few hours spent without tourist at the Scavi di Stabia were welcome. A little tricky to find, but once in the correct place it was fascinating to walk around Villa San Marco, an immense Villa complex being restored and protected. Only a small portion is available to visit, however it is worth it to see the remains of what frescos were left from when it was originally excavated in the 18th century.

The rooms, mosaic floors and frescos are well preserved, despite the best having been removed when discovered. There was only one other couple when we were there, making it a great change from the crowds of Pompeii the day before.

1 kilometre further down the road is the Villa Arianna; overlooking the sea on the ridgeline, there are many well preserved rooms and frescos here well worth seeing. We were met by a caretaker who started taking us on a tour unrequested. Speaking in only Italian, it was interesting even if not so easy to follow it all. His tour was a little overwhelming overall, and we eventually asked him to allow us to continue on our own. He asked for a 'small gift' for his tour, before leaving.

If your understanding is not great, it would be better to be up front about this despite him showing us many things that we otherwise would have missed. It was a really worthwhile stop.

In the immediate are are market gardens, some selling fruit and vegetables at roadside stalls that provides the opportunity to buy some fresh produce.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Roman villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Within walking distance are Roman villas destroyed in the eruption of 79AD. The opulence of the villas and the wealth of the Romans who stayed in them is overwhelming. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Need of more information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I found the place by luck. An italian very kind man stoped me as he understood that I am not an italian and kindly asked me did I visit the arheological attraction. When I said NO, but I would love to see and learn more, he give me directions and I found the place. It was nice to go around but I coudnt actually feel the time. May be some broshures or man who can tell few more words about that nice antient place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scavi di Stabia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great but I cant really remember I know it was excellent

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scavi di Stabia also viewed

Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Torre Annunziata, Province of Naples
 
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Boscoreale, Province of Naples
 

Been to Scavi di Stabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scavi di Stabia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.