We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just overnights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Serena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Serena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Serena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Moscogiuri 3, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just overnights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good and clean hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia, near to Napoli or Pompeii. Very nice view. Pool and terrace. Staff were kind and helpful. For breakfast just choco croissant, bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, coffee or tea. For couple nights stay is satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had read reviews of this hotel after being booked into it By Newmarket Holidays and did not want to believe the hotel was as bad as some reviews painted it but I have to accept that the hotel was a very bad experience. Arriving on the tour coach , my first impression was of a run down, isolated area with a smart hotel in the middle of it. There were other smart hotels nearby and so I thought things would get better when I got inside the hotel.
THe furnishings and decor were nice and the man on reception seemed quite friendly but he was dour and unsmiling. Our tour manager was needed to translate between him and us; this was not a good start to my stay.
When i got to my assigned room I discovered a large bed, large wardrobe and two bedside cabinets crowding the room. Some electrical sockets did not work and there was no internet access in the room; I am a very heavy user of the internet and regard it as a key part of my enjoying my holiday.
The bedroom and the bathroom were comfortable and clean but the corridor was a bit noisey outside; I arrived whilst the other rooms on the floor were being cleaned and prepared for their next guests and the staff were quite noisy whilst they were working.
At meal times there were too few staff on duty and there was a lack of communication between the staff and guests about what was being served, what we were supposed to do to get our food, and where to find everything.
When the food was brought to our tables it was luke warm not hot, and the waiters were all looking miserable. The only time they spoke was on "tip day" when bowls were put out for tips but very few guests put any tips in the bowls.
I see from the Newmarket Holidays website that this Hotel is no longer on their itinerary and I am pleased they have listened to their clients comments on this hotel and acted appropriately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As part of the Classic Italy trip we stayed here the first three nights. It was not a good experience. The hotel is too far from anywhere to be useful and we were dumped here around 11 in the morning and left to our own devices. The 'scenery' is non existent and the noise from outside was appalling. The bedroom was gloomy with poor lighting and the bathroom dirty. The food was good but we had a tour manager who bossed us around as if we were school children and we were ordered when we could help ourselves to the salad which was put out on a separate table, so our main course got cold until our turn came around. I wouldn't recommend this Newmarket holiday nor this hotel.

Room Tip: Best go to a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes, another Newmarket Holidays visitor. Room small, clean, good view of Vesuvius. Good beds. Like a million other hotels, the air conditioning was useless and the windows hinged in such a way as to make it challenge to keep them open. Staff pleasant enough, food rather poor. Nice outdoor seating area spoiled by the constant stream of scooters along a surprisingly busy road, considering that you're stuck behind the steel fencing and the brooding, abandoned spa building -- I imagine Chernobyl is something like this. OK for a couple of days, but there must be better elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benllech, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a Newmarket coach tour. You must remember that the facilities etc were tailored to secure Newmarket's business.
This hotel is next to a derelict salt bath, has security gates and fencing and is in a remote location high above the town. It all adds up to a depressing outlook.
Staff - not very pleasant and only one managed a grin in 3 days - female was the worst. They need training in customer care.
Bedroom - spacious with a balcony looking towards the Bay and Vesuvius ( lovely) . Comfortable beds.
Bathroom - Although the decor was very dated it was clean with an excellent shower and large bath towels.
Food - breakfast was ok but the evening meals left a lot to be desired - on our last night we were served a chicken leg or breast and some 24 chips. The Germans had a more substantial meal. A case of you get what you pay for.
The staff had the audacity you leave a basket for "Staff Tips" on the breakfast buffet. I did not have a pen and paper handy or my tip would be "SMILE and be PLEASANT".
Nothing would entice me back here.
Our Tour manager and Driver were excellent.

Room Tip: I recommend a top floor room with views of Vesuvius - in spite of overlooking the derelict salt bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Newmarket hoiiday. The location of the hotel is disapointing, it is amidst empty run down buildings and is a long way from the town. It is surrounded by a steel pallisade fence which does not add to its general ambience. There are no shops or restaurants anywhere within walking distance. The hotel itself is of a fair standard. Rooms are small and very basic but clean. The food is of a good standard and staff are friendly and efficient.
The hotel appears to cater for the coach trip market and as a budget hotel this is fine but it is a long way from its star rating. Not recommended if you want picturesque views or a hotel where you can have a walk out in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony facing the bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is situated in Napoli, great conditions, very clean, poor breakfast, but i was travelling with a group which usually for keeping low prices the breakfast is very poor(a croissant and a coffee). The only strange part is that when we arrived in Napoli at 23.00 some people made fire in the street for making a barbecue, otherwise it was ok. The hotel was protected from the parking by a big steelfence with multiple video cameras. Otherwise the hotel made an execelent impression.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Serena

Address: Via Moscogiuri 3, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Serena Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.