We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Serena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Serena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Serena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Moscogiuri 3, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not for us!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As part of the Classic Italy trip we stayed here the first three nights. It was not a good experience. The hotel is too far from anywhere to be useful and we were dumped here around 11 in the morning and left to our own devices. The 'scenery' is non existent and the noise from outside was appalling. The bedroom was gloomy with poor lighting and the bathroom dirty. The food was good but we had a tour manager who bossed us around as if we were school children and we were ordered when we could help ourselves to the salad which was put out on a separate table, so our main course got cold until our turn came around. I wouldn't recommend this Newmarket holiday nor this hotel.

Room Tip: Best go to a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes, another Newmarket Holidays visitor. Room small, clean, good view of Vesuvius. Good beds. Like a million other hotels, the air conditioning was useless and the windows hinged in such a way as to make it challenge to keep them open. Staff pleasant enough, food rather poor. Nice outdoor seating area spoiled by the constant stream of scooters along a surprisingly busy road, considering that you're stuck behind the steel fencing and the brooding, abandoned spa building -- I imagine Chernobyl is something like this. OK for a couple of days, but there must be better elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benllech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a Newmarket coach tour. You must remember that the facilities etc were tailored to secure Newmarket's business.
This hotel is next to a derelict salt bath, has security gates and fencing and is in a remote location high above the town. It all adds up to a depressing outlook.
Staff - not very pleasant and only one managed a grin in 3 days - female was the worst. They need training in customer care.
Bedroom - spacious with a balcony looking towards the Bay and Vesuvius ( lovely) . Comfortable beds.
Bathroom - Although the decor was very dated it was clean with an excellent shower and large bath towels.
Food - breakfast was ok but the evening meals left a lot to be desired - on our last night we were served a chicken leg or breast and some 24 chips. The Germans had a more substantial meal. A case of you get what you pay for.
The staff had the audacity you leave a basket for "Staff Tips" on the breakfast buffet. I did not have a pen and paper handy or my tip would be "SMILE and be PLEASANT".
Nothing would entice me back here.
Our Tour manager and Driver were excellent.

Room Tip: I recommend a top floor room with views of Vesuvius - in spite of overlooking the derelict salt bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Newmarket hoiiday. The location of the hotel is disapointing, it is amidst empty run down buildings and is a long way from the town. It is surrounded by a steel pallisade fence which does not add to its general ambience. There are no shops or restaurants anywhere within walking distance. The hotel itself is of a fair standard. Rooms are small and very basic but clean. The food is of a good standard and staff are friendly and efficient.
The hotel appears to cater for the coach trip market and as a budget hotel this is fine but it is a long way from its star rating. Not recommended if you want picturesque views or a hotel where you can have a walk out in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony facing the bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is situated in Napoli, great conditions, very clean, poor breakfast, but i was travelling with a group which usually for keeping low prices the breakfast is very poor(a croissant and a coffee). The only strange part is that when we arrived in Napoli at 23.00 some people made fire in the street for making a barbecue, otherwise it was ok. The hotel was protected from the parking by a big steelfence with multiple video cameras. Otherwise the hotel made an execelent impression.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Serena

Address: Via Moscogiuri 3, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Serena 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Serena Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.