We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for touring Campania region” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Panoramica

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel La Panoramica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Panoramica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panoramica 119, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Perfect for touring Campania region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The reviews I have been reading on here are much too harsh. This hotel is the perfect pit stop if you are touring the Campania region. The price is reasonably cheaper than many other hotels and is within 20 minutes from tourist attractions such as Sorrento, Positano, Pompei, and the Amalfi Coast. The rooms are spotless and the food is delicious. Obviously if you are staying at this hotel you should have a car, but that is expected as it is not a resort... and the city is a 15 minute walk away. Obviously the roads are not the safest and you have to walk up many hills but what do people expect? This is a medieval town and the streets have been that way for centuries. The staff were always pleasant to my family and I, and our server was very helpful. As for the shipyard... that's just part of the city. There is still a fantastic view of the gulf of Naples and I do not see how a shipyard takes away from that? The main faults of this hotel would be the noisy traffic during rush hour. Also, it is not handicap friendly as there are many stairs to walk to the main lobby. Besides those setbacks this is a great hotel and I was satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    40
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
16
70
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked this hotel with Fleetway and then read Trip Advisor afterwards. We took the advice to book a hire car from the reviews we read and we are so pleased we did.
We arrived at just after 8pm and was met by the Receptionist in the car park who asked us to go with her to the Reception. We lugged our cases up the stairs to then be told our room had been flooded and there were no further rooms available. The dining area was full with a French coach party and my opinion is that they had overbooked. When questioned the Receptionists understanding of English drifted away. The did book us into the great Aequa (please see their review) Hotel which was 4km away and had already printed a map! My question is, if we didn't have the hire car we would have been somewhat stranded or would have had to wait an age for public/taxi transport as it is in the middle of nowhere. To be honest, by the look on the faces of the staff, they were not bothered about it in the slightest.

Please think again before booking this Hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

simply awful.Noisy,smelly (from the traffic) and so far from anywhere I am not sure why anyone would want to stay here.Give it a miss,unless your a film director remaking Psycho.
The "SeaView" is of a disused shipyard.The nearest town Castelle de Mare is 20 euros by cab
The nearest station is a half hour walk away along a very busy road linking Naples to Sorrento. There are regular trains to Naples and Sorrento but be aware they stop running about 9.30,You would have to be able bodied to do the walk,a very uneven surface and a long uphill tunnel to negotiate to get into the station,the walk itself quite dangerous in places particularly at night.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

During August we had come to this hotel with high hopes of a 4 star stay- we were seriously disappointed!! On arrival, teenage looking staff who were draped over the reception area slowly checked us in. We were thrust a key and that was that. On entering our room ,which we later called our 'cell' , we were greeted by a bathroom which was smaller than my arm span and a view of the docks. The road was extremely noisy and even we had wanted to put up with the noise and marvel at the seaview of the docks, the small balcony only had one chair! When we asked if it would be possible to change our room for a higher room to avoid the smog and noise my boyfriend was rather abruptly told that all the rooms were occupied and to put on the air conditioning to escape the fumes! This said, during our breakfast the next day we only saw a few other guests having breakfast and never saw another guest in the corridors or the bar areas( which we always closed!).

The hotel does have a nice but expensive restaurant on the top floor and another terrace bar on a lower floor. However, when we went to find the terrace bar there was nowhere that one could sit and no bar to get a drink from. It looked more like a building site than a bar area! In short the only good things about the hotel were its cleanliness ( a very good daily clean of the room) and the top floor restaurant- Not really enough positives to warrant it's 4* rating me thinks! Oh dear...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Before staying at this hotel, I was skeptical having read numerous bad reviews. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and had taken the train into Castellemmare di Stabia from Naples. It wasn't until we had walked for 2 hours with our suitcases in 40 degree heat that we finally made it to the hotel (DO NOT stay at this hotel if you don't have a car; it is a hike to get ANYWHERE and NO TAXIS!!). At first impression, the hotel seems clean, the staff seem pleasant and the views are lovely. However, after being promised a room with a view, we actually had a room with a window 6 inches wide that looked straight at the hill the hotel was built into (not only was there no view, but there was also no natural light). Our room also smelled like ammonia so badly that I had trouble breathing by the end of our 3 night stay and I believe it made be quite sick afterwards. The hotel advertises a few services that they do not actually have. We booked the hotel partly because they advertise a laundry service. When we inquired at the front desk, we were told they do not even have washing machines on site. They also do not have a pizzeria, despite the sign outside. The staff are friendly enough, however they are not helpful and did not seem to know enough about the hotel or the area to answer basic questions. With the exception of the older man working in the top floor restaurant, they were quite incompetent and lazy. The top floor restaurant was a beautiful view with excellent food and a very hardworking, friendly male server that truly made our stay. He seems to pick up a lot of the slack for the rest of the staff. On the flip side, there are two women who work there that were extremely rude to us on a few occasions. We were told by the front desk that breakfast was served until 10am. My husband and I came down at 9:45am and breakfast was already being cleaned up. As soon as we walked into the room and before we could do or say anything, we were berated by these women in Italian. I understood a bit of what they were saying and it was quite nasty - yelling at us for being late for breakfast and that they were refusing to leave anything for us. We ignored them and helped ourselves to the two croissants left on the table. At that point one of these women approached my husband and continued yelling at him. It was appalling. I would not recommend this hotel, especially if you are expecting kind service. My advice: spend a bit more money and stay in or closer to Sorrento. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Previous reviews seem a little harsh and as a result we were not expecting much. The Hotel has been recently refurbished and our room was nicely decorated with air conditioning full ensuite and a working safe you can program your own code into which was handy, and we had a terrace with table and chairs overlooking the front. It is not a 4 star hotel, more like a good 2 star. We arrived to find one person on reception who was courteous and pleasant. We had our two sons with us and had asked for one twin bedded room. We were given two double rooms as the booker for our holiday hadn't passed the request on, but the situation was rectified the next day. True, to one side in front of the Hotel the view is of the Naval Dockyard at Castelmarre di Stabia but a few degrees to the left and you have a fine view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. There are trees growing up which in time will partly mask the dockyard. It is a little bizarre that the the Hotel does advertise a pizzaria, Bracceria and a Restaraunt, and there is a fully furnished Dining room with views over the Bay of Naples and a Grand Piano, but we saw no staff serving in there and no one eating there. We never saw where the Pizzaria or Braceria might have been. We had already decided that we would not eat much at the hotel even if it had been available because of expense, so treating the place as a fancy self catering venue or just a place to sleep we weren't too disappointed. There are a couple of pizza places to eat a 15 minute walk up the road with nice views over the town and bay or a short drive into Castelmarre and there are some sea view Restaraunts on the Promeanade of the slightly down at heel town. The Hotel has a nicely decked out bar area outside and partly undercover and we did get a drink there one evening but it seems you have to get reception to serve you and it is not regularly staffed, which is a shame. There was no other noise from guests and we began to think we were the only ones there but in the morning we saw other guests at a perfectly adequate included continental breakfast with cereal, Yogurts, Croissant, Cheese and Ham, jams and Honey, coffee, tea and Fruit juice. True there was no kettle in the room and it does front onto the main road to Sorrento but we were weren't too bothered about that given that it actually was one of the cheaper Hotel options we searched in the area. The cleaning was to a high standard everyday. You definately need a car and there is a free car park attached to the Hotel. Other guests also with cars can mean that it fills quickly but the night porter twice offered to mind our car when we had to park on the pavement.and moved it into an available space overnight. The Hotel is in a convenient location on the main road for all locations in the Bay of Naples Area. We, having accepted all the slight faults, had a perfectly good time during the week we stayed there and if you are not too demanding in what to expect then it is a perfectly acceptable place to base yourself.

Room Tip: First floor rooms to the East side have terraces with tables and chairs with views to the front acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Noisy,constant traffic meant we could not open the window out to the balcony.The "sea view" was of a disused shipyard.Unable to use the bar area as directly next to the road.Smallest hotel room I have ever been in,25 miles and 40 euro taxi ride to Sorrento,100 euro for the return journey.Nothing local to the hotel,even Castelle de Mare is a twenty euro taxi away.Outside the roadway is strewn with rubbish.Shame this hotel wasnt buried instead of Pompeii. Hotel reasonably clean but in need of some serious maintenance. Air conditioning very noisy, fridge didn't work no safe in room. (maybe someone had stolen it!) Even locals told us to be very careful in Castellammare as it was full of pickpockets and not a nice place to go out at night. In all this hotel has nothing going for it, bad location, bad area, bad attitude, and yes staff still have fags hanging out of their mouth's.

Room Tip: Check customer photos and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel La Panoramica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Panoramica

Address: Via Panoramica 119, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel La Panoramica 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel La Panoramica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Panoramica Italy/Castellammare Di Stabia, Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel La Panoramica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.