We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Terre Gialle

Save Saved
You added Residence Terre Gialle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Terre Gialle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Terre Gialle nr.1, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good, clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Good, clean, comfortable accommodation in a relatively remote, quiet and pretty location.
Loved the pool and surrounding views, did need a car as too far from Castel del Piano village/town centre to walk. Village/town centre well equipped for shopping, eating and drinking, great choice of places to visit within reasonable journey time. Air conditioning would be an improvement as would more onsite leisure facilities e.g bar, TV, particularly given the location. Owner really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights, me and my wife plus two school kids. And it was very pleasant indeed! The apartment is great value for the price, it was clean, comfortable, simple but pleasantly furnished. Just a little bit complaint about the sofa which was supposed to be used as a bed - not ideal. And a gentle warning towards people who are over sensitive towards insects - this is Tuscany countryside, there is wildlife around and they manage to infiltrate inside here and there.
Absolutely no complaints about the surroundings. The residence is designed as a really beautiful block of flats with small shadowed inside area full of green and flowers. And the close pool + tennis area simply rocks! We spent there some fantastic relaxing evening hours after each day trip. You definitely need a car here. Both to have a dinner in Castel Del Piano (5 minute drive) and spend a wonderful day at Elba island (90 minute drive). And if you like a day at the beach go to the closest one, Principina a Mare, with free parking, plenty of space and a lot of fun for the kids and adults.
Overall we really liked the week and the hospitality and comfort of Residence Terre Gialle played a substantial role in that!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We arrived in the dark and it is down a horrible road - 4km from the nearest town. 3km to the nearest civilisation an Agip garage.
You literally get a place to stay. We woke uo to a digger going early on a Sunday morning. Most of the trips had ended for the season. The hot water was on and off some days none at all. The road is rugged and very poorly lit so it is not safe to walk at night - thus you have to drive everywhere, not a great thing in a wine region.
If you are looking for very remote, nothing to do and where they only speak Italian - I can speak French, Spanish and German and a little Italian. The reception was rarely open and we had to wait a long time to speak to any one. The nearest transport (train) 23km and it is not easy to get anywhere. Castel del Piano itself is quite an ugly place with many restaurants of poor standard. We found a beautiful one, looks like a pb on the outside but the food was good. About 11km away is a beautiful organic restaurant, which was fantastic.
Our holiday was terrible due to how remote and empty our place was. We were the only people there. Do not go out of season unless you are a large party with a non drinker.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We staid for ten days at this beutiful place in the heart of Tuscany and could have staid for several more. The facilities is excellent and the host (Alberto) is very very nice and helpful.
Except of spending time at the pool we made several trips to different places around Tuscany. Some of the places we visited were Firenze, Siena, Saturnia, Montalcino, Montepuliciano, San Gimignano.

We can really reommend this place for others.

The Rodman´s

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed two nights, and wish we could have stayed for the week. What a wonderful place. We were greeted on arrival by a friendly face (despite our 1.30am arrival). The apartment was spotlessly clean, and fitted out with everything we needed. The place is set in beautiful surroundings with a vineyard up the hill, and mature trees around. The pool was a good size, with plenty of room for people to lie around without feeling cramped. It was also lovely and quiet (except for the croaking frogs and birdsong - which was absolutely glorious to hear when you've come to escape London for the weekend).

The owner was also very obliging, despite our language barriers, and showed us where to park, shop, and eat in the town. And he allowed us to stay by the pool beyond the check-out time on the last day, which was a nice little bonus.

While it's within walking distance to Castel, we drove up in 5 mins, and got our supplies from the local co-op, and visited the local bakery.

We're now trying to figure out how soon we can go back there!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Terre Gialle is a beautifully renovated building with very nice, well maintained grounds. The host was very kind and welcoming, and clearly no expense was spared in the renovation as the quality is excellent. It is extremely peaceful and picturesque. It was about a 3 hour drive from Rome (we rented a car at Termini Station). A great weekend getaway. If driving from Rome, don't bother with the coastal route - it is not scenic and was much slower.
Terre Gialle is close to numerous ancient hilltop cities which were fun to explore. Archidosso and Montelaterone were charming. Castel del Piano has everything you need (2 grocery stores, bakeries, etc.) and several charming squares with fountains and benches. Mount Amiata is a nice drive with pleasant restaurants at the top (still had snow in late April!).
Note that there was no TV, microwave, toaster, clothes washer, iron, etc. It's very minimalist and the room was not particularly comfortable for lounging, but that forced us to get out in the fresh air, which was good. We had read reviews which warned us that no food is available on site, so we stopped in Castel del Piano on our way and stocked up at the grocery. A highchair and cot were provided, which was very nice.
The only con: the steps to the bedroom loft were very steep and seemed a bit slippery, and I was nervous carrying my infant up and down, and worried about my 2-year old falling down. In the end, nothing bad happened and all was well. We put the 2-year old in the cot to ensure he wouldn't fall down the steps in the night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Terre Gialle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Terre Gialle

Address: Loc. Terre Gialle nr.1, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castel Del Piano
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Castel Del Piano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Terre Gialle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Terre Gialle is in Castel del Piano, in splendid Tuscany, below Monte Amiata, an area visited by tourists from all over the world every year wanting to visit one of the most beautiful, uncontaminated, exciting areas of this region from a historical-cultural, artistic, eno-gastronomic and landscape point of view.Surrounded by a private, six hectare ca. park, completely fenced in with its own natural lake, the complex’s comfortable, independent, finely furnished apartments offer visitors a typically Tuscan welcoming atmosphere.Guests have the use of private parking areas, sports plants including swimming pool with its own hydro-massage area, children's play area and solarium equipped with sun-beds and beach umbrellas, a polyvalent court for tennis, volley ball and 5-a-team football, bowls and a relaxation area.Ideal for couples and families, the Residence offers guests a way to escape daily stress in a charming environment that has preserved all its natural rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Terre Gialle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Terre Gialle Castel Del Piano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Terre Gialle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.