We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cycling from Le Macinaie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Prato delle Macinaie | Monte Amiata, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Meaford, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great cycling from Le Macinaie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at Le Macinaie and had a great time. Our accommodations were first rate and the food plentiful and delicious. The staff could not have been friendlier as well as helpful. They were especially knowledgeable about cycling routes as well as wineries and spas. The staff helped us connect with local transportation as needed. A great experience I would love to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    53
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
83
111
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
burlingame, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful bicycle and wine tasting trip in southern tuscany. We stayed at the Le Macianaie, and it was great. It's a family run lodge that provides incredible service in an area not overrun with tourists. Every morning Francesco would meet with us to plan our bicycle route for the day. The route was personalized to our abilities and interests, with maps provided. There was always a phone number provided in case we wanted an early "pick up", or decided to laze away an afternoon in a hill town. Our 4 course meals (part of our package) were fantastic. We had chestnut gnocchi with wild boar, fresh pastas, desserts, wines....all wonderful.
Our room was spacious, as was our private bath. The staff could not have been more gracious, warm and helpful. They made you feel like part of their family. It's a wonderful location if you enjoy the outdoors; or enjoy tuscany, but would like a less "touristy" location.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Le Macinaie, which means the chestnut mill, is a hidden jewel in Tuscany. It is situated fairly high on Mt. Amiata--a region that merits exploring and It is close to so many great spots--Montalcino, the beaches, Pienza and the Maremma and Massa Marittima.
The staff at Le Macinaie makes the stay like being with beloved family members. And the food is second to none. Using only regional ingredients, their meals are favuloso. Their zuppa di fungi, or mushroom soup, justifies a trip to Le Macinaie if for no other reason. The setting is that of a peaceful, quiet retreat in the mountain's forests and staying there is restful and restoring, yet activities such as hiking and biking abound.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Our Tuscan vacation was centered at Le Macinaie, on the slopes of Monte Amiata. Wonderful staff, food and accommodations. The meals and wine were perfectly matched as was the attentive staff, who could not have been more friendly.

By basing our Tuscany day trips from Le Macinaie Lodge, we visited the wines country of Montepulicano and Montacino, plus a wonderful day trip to Siena and Cortona. Highly recommend this Lodge and his staff. A special treat was a terrificcycling guide for a day into the wine country.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

This location will surprise you in many ways. The area is truly beautiful and the family atmosphere will make you want to return again and again.
The forest location is best described as the doorstep of Enid Blyton's enchanted forest. The area is unspoiled by tourists but rich in culture and history back to the Etruscan era. Visitors are amazed that they have nearby villages to themselves instead of being caught up with tourist throngs further North in Tuscany. The countryside exhibits a huge variation from vineyards to olive groves, fruit trees, chestnut woods and beech forests and the classic rolling hills of Tuscany. The hospitality of the Lodge is akin to staying with a wonderful Italian family (English is also spoken) and the chef's have all been trained by a master holding an "oscar" for Tuscan food. Evening meals are a banquet with beautifully set tables served with a medley of local speciality dishes and wines from the area including the famous Brunello di Montalcino brand. The Lodge can arrange all kinds of visits within the local area and also offer, cycle tours, motorcycle trips, walking, hiking, horse riding and many other activities. The quality of the overall experience is best explained by the emotion of sadness at leaving a wonderful home and family at the end of your stay. Returning is like coming home to loving family.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We found the staff to be very friendly and was accommodating in every way.
They were very helpful in giving directions for sight seeing places and suggestions when we asked. Our group enjoyed so that hey returned last fall again. Internet was free which was great. The view spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We used this hotel as a base to tour the surrounding wine areas. Although it is 'off the beaten track' it was delightful to come back to of an evening.
Our rate included breakfast as well as a very substantial and well prepared dinner.
Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. This is a family-run hotel and they made us feel very welcome indeed.
Free wireless internet access was an unexpected bonus.
We stayed at Le Macinaie Lodge because a friend recommended it. We do too.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata

Address: Loc. Prato delle Macinaie | Monte Amiata, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castel Del Piano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Castel Del Piano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1972, Le Macinaie Hotel has been an old chestnut mill, completely refurbished in 1999. The family managed hotel is located on Monte Amiata (at 1400 M a.s.l.), the unknown Tuscan Volcano, which was sacred to the Etruscan's. The hotel lies in a beautiful clearing, surrounded by Italy's largest beech wood, with a breathtaking view to the peak of the Volcano. It counts 17 comfortable and charming rooms including a free of charge WIFI connection and internet corner. After your daily hiking, biking, motorbiking or gourmet tour which Enrico & Francesco are able to suggest, customize and book, you can enjoy our tiny relaxing area which includes infra-red Sauna, Whirlpool, and Tanning booth.In the evening or for lunch our Restaurant, where Chef Giorgio & Claudia propose local, handmade & Tuscan dishes is famous for its mushroom soup and grilled edible boletus cap. In the morning our rich buffet breakfast is welcoming you and you will be ready for a new and unforgettable travel experience… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Macinaie Albergo Ristorante Hotel
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata Castel Del Piano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;