We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Staffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Prato delle Macinaie | Monte Amiata, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent 10 days travelling around Italy and definitely, Le Macinaie was the best hotel I have stayed. It was very clean with a comfortable room and with a great breakfast. The location is perfect if you are travelling by car. Also, the hotel's staff were very helpful during my stay. Thanks to Francesco, to Claudio and the rest of their team.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    54
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
85
113
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lillestrom, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thanks to Enrico, Francesco and Giorgio and the rest of the staff who work so hard to give the guests the feeling that you are special and deserve special treatment. The fact is that this is the feeling most guests are having when coming to this hotel in the middle of the beautiful woods of Monte Amiata. I never had better dinners, thanks to Giorgio who runs the kitchen together with Claudia and others.
After long days on the bike, exploring the many historic villages on the foot of Monte Amiata and enjoying the special Tuscan nature, it was like coming to Paradise to come up to Le Macinaie, breathing fresh air, calm down in the spa and enjoy wonderful dinners.
I can definitely advice this hotel for travellers who want to spend days in Southern Tuscany hiking or biking or doing other sorts of activities, and also for others who want to spend lazy days in the middle of silence in calm surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohacs, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed three days in the Macinaie.The hotel location is good, a lot of places of interests are near by car. The room was in style furnished, clean and conveniences.
The service was abolutely perfect. Every body was very kind and helpful. Every morning we got a daly itinerary and many usefull tip from Francesco. All the dinner were unbalievable (5 course dinner), the pastas, meats,desserts fantastic!!! The breakfasts was also perfect, are many selection.
It was a perfect holliday in an exquisite HOTEL!
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed four days and wish it could have been longer. The initial booking arrangements and communication with Francesco was excellent. When we showed up at the door after a long day of driving, he was waiting for us and quickly checked us in, offered to carry our bags and was waiting to pour us a drink at the bar. The hotel was full for one night, partially booked for two and we were the only guests for one night. The service remained stellar throughout.

We had a 'panorama' room with a full queen bed (not 2 twins pushed together). The room was very clean we had no problem with sounds from other rooms or the road. The room is a bit smallish but does have a full sized closet, nightstands and a nice desk and chair. The bathroom is the largest we encountered in Italy with a nice sized shower and a door to the balcony. A bit odd having a balcony off the bathroom but it worked well since my wife enjoys rising early and reading on the patio chair before I get up. The windows and patio face south to enjoy the sun.

We had pre-arranged a cooking class and it was fantastic. Enrico arranged for the chef to cook the pasta we had created for the evening dinner. All the meals we had were fantastic with most ingredients sourced locally. The mushroom soup was made from mushrooms picked within 300 meters of the hotel. Very thick and a meal in itself. There is also a good sized salad and dessert bar if you chose. That was great as it gave us a chance to try some of the cold meats and cheeses that we normally would not order.

There was a full selection for breakfast. Everything including meats, bread, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, pastries, pies, fresh fruit, juice, coffee... you could not want anything more.

In the evening, they offer both a la carte as well as a fixed price menu, which is great. That gives you the choice of having either a full meal or less if you are not so hungry. I thought the prices were very fair, considering that the prices include taxes and service.

The hotel is right at the base of a ski slope which would be great in the winter. We walked through many of the trails on the slopes of Mt. Amiata which was very colourful and peaceful. Plenty of opportunities for hiking, biking, painting, etc.

While we were there, Francesco encouraged us to go to two local towns that were having mushroom and chestnut festivals. That turned into a full day of discovery on it's own. All the staff are very knowledgeable and proud of the area.

The only downside is that this hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere IF you want to have other restaurants, stores, etc. nearby. We booked this and loved it for the peace, quiet and tranquility of the entire area. It's so nice to be away from tourist traps when you are visiting Italy and enjoy the serenity of the countryside.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room if available. They do get fully booked at times with bike or hiking tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco G, Direttore at Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. Outstanding!

Are you sure that you spent 4 days in our refurbished old chestnut mill on the top of the unknown Tuscan’s Volcano, Monte Amiata?

We absolutely feel honoured and proud about your travel experience at Le Macinaie.

Now we are focused on being perfect, even if we are aware that we learn more from our mistakes than from our success.

Achieving Excellence is our dream and you are giving our dream their wings to fly!

A big Italian hug

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was a pure delight to come back to Le Macinaie. My first visit to this hotel was 3 years ago and I wasn't disappointed. Who couldn't love this place in any season!! I love the fall / autumn (doesn't matter where you come from) ... it will be your home away from home too.

The staff are friendly and always willing to assist when you have a query. Thank you Francesco and Enrico for being the people you are and making our holidays a dream to remember - always. You welcomed us into your hearts and vice versa. It was like visiting our family again (although not related by blood but certainly by friendship).

Francesco arranged our requested itinerary to Pienza, Orvieto and Cortona. Our driver Marco and guide Elisabetta were excellent.

Our first time here we did the pasta making course ... loads of fun. It was the first time to try tagliatelle cake ... oh we had died and gone to heaven. Never in all my travels have I heard of this cake. Took me 3 years to try it again ... d e v i n e.

The food here is plentiful and delicious. I had to say could we halve the portions as I stuggled to finish the food on the plate. Trust me you will not starve.

Ciao until another visit. Manuela Adelaide South Australia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel Le Macinaie is the ideal place to stay to discover the forested mountain part of Tuscany that most tourists do not ever see. My daughter and I stayed there, and all prior reviews reporting "great food" and "attentive service" are true and accurate.

There are loads of outside activities to partake in via Le Macinaie. We rented bikes and rode to the top of Mount Amiata. Along the way, I saw my very first Porcini hunters!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWRA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome & it was refreshing to be able to speak English without difficulty. Due to limited time we could only stay for 2 nights and on our 2nd evening chose to have the set dinner menu. It was a 5 course extravaganza that we were hard pressed to complete.Every dish was professionally presented & fully explained with many ingredients being local to the region.... The cost was well below what we had paid for a pizza meal in some establishments. Our host Enrico was a delight & we fully intend to return on our next holiday to enjoy a most relaxing & extremely pleasurable environment. This is a must stay if you wish to enjoy the easily accessible surrounds at an extremely affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata

Address: Loc. Prato delle Macinaie | Monte Amiata, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castel Del Piano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castel Del Piano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1972, Le Macinaie Hotel has been an old chestnut mill, completely refurbished in 1999. The family managed hotel is located on Monte Amiata (at 1400 M a.s.l.), the unknown Tuscan Volcano, which was sacred to the Etruscan's. The hotel lies in a beautiful clearing, surrounded by Italy's largest beech wood, with a breathtaking view to the peak of the Volcano. It counts 17 comfortable and charming rooms including a free of charge WIFI connection and internet corner. After your daily hiking, biking, motorbiking or gourmet tour which Enrico & Francesco are able to suggest, customize and book, you can enjoy our tiny relaxing area which includes infra-red Sauna, Whirlpool, and Tanning booth.In the evening or for lunch our Restaurant, where Chef Giorgio & Claudia propose local, handmade & Tuscan dishes is famous for its mushroom soup and grilled edible boletus cap. In the morning our rich buffet breakfast is welcoming you and you will be ready for a new and unforgettable travel experience… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Macinaie Albergo Ristorante Hotel
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata Castel Del Piano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.