We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a hotel in southern tuscany-not to be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Prato delle Macinaie | Monte Amiata, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real gem of a hotel in southern tuscany-not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This last week was my fourth visit to "my family" at Le Macinaie. We were introduced to the hotel by a local Tuscan cycling guide named Mark Mahan. I cannot imagine ever traveling to Tuscany and not staying here for part of the trip. The hospitality is first class-the guest is their highest priority. It is well worth the relatively modest cost for the rooms, which are spotless. The bathrooms are modern. The staff will assist you in seeing the Amiatina area, which is spectacular-hot springs, hiking, and great (but STEEP) cycling.

The helpfulness of the multilingual staff is the real attraction of the hotel, but the food and wine are a very close second. It is tuscan cuisine of the highest order. They use fresh local products (mushrooms!) and each meal is 3-4 delicious courses. The waitstaff (Enrico is tops) are very professional and knowledgable, particularly about the wines. The wines of the surrounding regions (Montecucco, Brunello, Vino nobile) are well represented and by US standards very well priced.

I highly recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone who values great service and food. It is well worth the trip up to Monte Amiata.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco G, Direttore at Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate and we are very proud that you are considering us as part of your family!
We have a dream. Trying to deliver excellent and unique hiking and biking experiences combined with introducing our traditional food and local wines, with offering untouched and different landscapes and with sharing authentic family atmosphere.
We are very excited to welcoming you for your fifth visit.
A big Italian hug to all
Francesco & Le Macinaie Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    50
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tuscany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel is perfectly positioned, and very friendly. As a two star hotel however, I felt it was over-priced for the quality of services. For the half board price, we expected a really special dinner, considering that that our room was still not ready on our arrival at 3 (despite check out time of 10 a.m.), we were on the third floor without lift, and there was inadequate parking space. The meal was professionally served and prepared, with a basic antipasto buffet, two good primi, and a selection of desserts. The main course was extremely disappointing, however, and far too heavy, even for Tuscan tastes (even the cabbage was ruined with croutons and bacon), served with two types of greasy pork. Sadly, inedible.
I could probably recommend this hotel to families with small children, as it is convenient for skiing, and trekking, and the staff are very attentive generally. Couples expecting a romantic weekend, though, will be shocked to learn that the wellness centre is not only tiny, but is not included in the price. Not really worth the 15 euro extra :(

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco G, Direttore at Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind suggestions which we appreciate because it will help us to improve our performance during our highest season.
As you stated we are perfectly positioned in front of the main ski slopes and ski lifts. Besides we offer the biggest free of charge outdoor parking area of the Monte Amiata ski resort where more than 250 cars can find a comfortable parking spot close to our hotel.
Unfortunately on Saturday march 3rd our Mountain was overcrowded. More than 1000 skiers invaded our small mountain. It was a typical “ferragosto day” which happens only 3 times per year and our mistake was that we did not expect it for that day.
On arrival day we ensure assistance for finding a parking place and before checking in, our front desk staff helps our guests to carry their bags in the room.
Our Hotel was an old chestnut mill, completely refurbished in 1999. As historical building we do not offer a lift and therefore for the Tuscan hotel classification law we achieve only 2 stars instead of a 3 stars hotel.
Rooms are delivered at 2 p.m. but usually we try to leave the room key, if possible, in the morning. Our staff is prepared to inform our guest in case of delay, inviting them for a cappuccino and homemade cake and showing them our restroom and luggage deposit facility.
Regarding our restaurant we offer 2 choices for our hotel guests: a set menu (which you can check before dinner at the reception) included in the Half Board treatment with antipasto buffet ,2 first courses, 1 main course combined with a side dish and a buffet of desserts or a menu à la carte.
As our mountain is located among South Tuscany, Umbria and North Lazio, our traditional dishes have been influenced by different recipes. Our main course served was our typical “Guanciale” which consists of an unsmoked pig's jowl or cheeks and which is sometimes confused with our Pancetta. On request our maitre is available and happy to switch the main course offering an alternative traditional dish.
Our small relaxing area is not a SPA but is dedicated to bikers, hikers, skiers, families and couples, where they can enjoy, previously booked for the whole stay, with an exclusive use and without other clients, our infra-red Sauna, Whirlpool, Tanning booth and our small gym. The entrance is included in our Rack Rate proposal and I apologize if it was calculated as an extra charge.

For this reason I would kindly ask you to get in touch with me in order to understand what went wrong in our communication, inviting you for a further stay.
In the meantime I thank you for the very kind attention and time.

We all look forward to welcoming you soon and we send our warmest regards.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montisi, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

We are a 46 years old couple.
Amazing location, very clean and comfortable rooms, EXCELLENT food at the restaurant and the staff was just great, helpful, smiling and very gentle!!!
Easy parking and... what else?
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Location favolosa, camere pulitissime, cibo eccellente, staff incredibilmente di aiuto, sorridente e molto gentile.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Our stay at LeMacinaie came at the end of a 7 week overseas holiday from Australia and it was the most relaxing and beautiful week of the whole trip. The staff were so helpful and friendly - helped plan each day and arranged local transport and an excellent local guide. Nothing was ever too much trouble and last minute requests were easily dealt with and never a bother to any of the staff. Francesco went out of his way to make sure each day's activity ran smoothly. Accommodation was perfect, the food & wine a reflection of the local area produce - very tasty and lots of it. We felt so much a part of a "family" at LeMacinaie that it was hard to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at Le Macinaie and had a great time. Our accommodations were first rate and the food plentiful and delicious. The staff could not have been friendlier as well as helpful. They were especially knowledgeable about cycling routes as well as wineries and spas. The staff helped us connect with local transportation as needed. A great experience I would love to repeat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful bicycle and wine tasting trip in southern tuscany. We stayed at the Le Macianaie, and it was great. It's a family run lodge that provides incredible service in an area not overrun with tourists. Every morning Francesco would meet with us to plan our bicycle route for the day. The route was personalized to our abilities and interests, with maps provided. There was always a phone number provided in case we wanted an early "pick up", or decided to laze away an afternoon in a hill town. Our 4 course meals (part of our package) were fantastic. We had chestnut gnocchi with wild boar, fresh pastas, desserts, wines....all wonderful.
Our room was spacious, as was our private bath. The staff could not have been more gracious, warm and helpful. They made you feel like part of their family. It's a wonderful location if you enjoy the outdoors; or enjoy tuscany, but would like a less "touristy" location.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Le Macinaie, which means the chestnut mill, is a hidden jewel in Tuscany. It is situated fairly high on Mt. Amiata--a region that merits exploring and It is close to so many great spots--Montalcino, the beaches, Pienza and the Maremma and Massa Marittima.
The staff at Le Macinaie makes the stay like being with beloved family members. And the food is second to none. Using only regional ingredients, their meals are favuloso. Their zuppa di fungi, or mushroom soup, justifies a trip to Le Macinaie if for no other reason. The setting is that of a peaceful, quiet retreat in the mountain's forests and staying there is restful and restoring, yet activities such as hiking and biking abound.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata

Address: Loc. Prato delle Macinaie | Monte Amiata, 58033 Castel Del Piano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castel Del Piano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Castel Del Piano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1972, Le Macinaie Hotel has been an old chestnut mill, completely refurbished in 1999. The family managed hotel is located on Monte Amiata (at 1400 M a.s.l.), the unknown Tuscan Volcano, which was sacred to the Etruscan's. The hotel lies in a beautiful clearing, surrounded by Italy's largest beech wood, with a breathtaking view to the peak of the Volcano. It counts 17 comfortable and charming rooms including a free of charge WIFI connection and internet corner. After your daily hiking, biking, motorbiking or gourmet tour which Enrico & Francesco are able to suggest, customize and book, you can enjoy our tiny relaxing area which includes infra-red Sauna, Whirlpool, and Tanning booth.In the evening or for lunch our Restaurant, where Chef Giorgio & Claudia propose local, handmade & Tuscan dishes is famous for its mushroom soup and grilled edible boletus cap. In the morning our rich buffet breakfast is welcoming you and you will be ready for a new and unforgettable travel experience… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Macinaie Albergo Ristorante Hotel
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata Castel Del Piano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.