We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tombolo Talasso Resort

Save Saved
You added Tombolo Talasso Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tombolo Talasso Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Del Corallo 3 | Marina Di Castagneto Carducci, 57024 Castagneto Carducci, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One week stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A most relaxing week - fabulous treatments - terrific therapists - 5 magnificent pools.
Service is perfect. A real 5 star organization. Light cuisine is divine.
Hopefully some outdoor benches will be added. First 4 days were filled with beautiful
sunshine and no where to sit!
Vivian G..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Ms. Vivian,
it has been our pleasure to have you as a guest in our SpA Hotel and we thank you for the positive remarks on our services, staff and cuisine . You will be happy to know that since your stay and your request for outside sitting area, we have added three benches on the sea side garden and we thank you for bring this detail to our attention.
On behalf of all the Staff from Tombolo Talasso Resort, we look forward t6o welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    128
    60
    26
    24
See reviews for
79
231
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

very good spa with talasso very good pools too.
Italian dishes at their best for breakfast and exclusive lunches and dinners.
Style, the elegance of the resort is unvanquishable, typical Tuscanyl andscape.
A very amazing experience, ideal for couples and wine lovers.
Bolgheri is very close do not forget a wine testing !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mr.Roman,
your satisfaction with your expeirence at Tombolo Talasso Resort is equal to ours and very rewarding to all our Staff members.
The autum and winter season , makes Tombolo an ideal location to find some quality time for wellness, relaxation and tasting the wines excellences that our territory produces.
Thank you very much for choosing Tombolo Talasso Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We happened upon Tombolo on our way back from Elba. Being spontaneous, freeing ourselves from our uptight, organized Toronto lifestyle, we did not book a single hotel in our 10 day Tuscan holiday. All hotels in the area were booked. The wonderful, kind hotel director squeezed us in. We would have slept anywhere that night but Tombolo was so much better. It turned out to be an oasis on the Meditteranian, 100% luxury, fine dining, primo customer service in a cute little village away from tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
we remember very well your arrival at Tombolo and under no circumstances , we would have allowed any different attention and assitance . We are delighted that your experience with our cuisine and SPA services was to your satisfaction and look forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from all the Staff at Tombolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I could not have been any more impressed. This was their off season time and they were slow, but did not lack in any way. They did not slack up, or cut corners. The hotel/resort was pristine and the staff were amazing. Every detail checked and every need met. Wow! When nothing on the menu pleased my picky daughter, the chef made her chicken breast with pasta and even brought her ketchup. The meal was reasonably priced for off menu requests and the service personnel were excellent.

Room Tip: This is a Five Star Hotel, and their actions in off season prove it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
at Tombolo Talasso Resort the attention to every one of our clients is our daily mission regardless of the season and even more to our small clients, when they are happy so are the parents and we have learned to cater to the young segments of our guests.
Thank you for all the kind words and look forard to welcome you soon.
Best regards from all The Tombolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed at tombolo resort in July 2012 and it was our first time. Didnt have much expectation as this place had such a mix review in trip adviser,...but we thought we tried. And what a nice surprised ....The hotel is clean, well looked after, location is beautiful, the rooms were big, service was excellent.....Definitely will return to this place and recommend this place to anyone who needs to find a total relax holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are pleased that you decided to experience Tombolo and discover the quality service that our Staff can express every day in the SPA , restaurant, bar and other departments.
We look forward to serve you again soon.
The Staff at Tomboilo send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in july of this year for one night (luckily) while we were on vacation in tuscany! our sea view suite was more like a bar view (direct on the bar with a little bit of the sea).
Not the end of the world but we went to the restaurant of the hotel for a relaxing dinner, we arrived with reservations unfortunately no one new where to seat us, they gave us a table which was prepared at the near end of the terrace. we sat down and looked at the small menu for one minute and they wanted to take our order... we ordered our small meal and I asked for the wine card which arrived more or less right away... all of a sudden they brought us the bill to sign without ordering any wine or without having anything to eat... we were shocked... before we were served we noticed a strong sewer smell that got stronger by the minute. We asked the waitress about this and she was sorry but she knew that the tables in that area of the terrace had a problem since a while. Even the waiters in the bar, which was a million times better placed and further away ( super view of the sea!! ), knew of this problem. we finished dinner in record time without wine. What a disappointment! The rooms were clean but far from anything special. The service at the reception was slow for cheek in and out. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, CEO - Amministratore Unico at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Client,
in some of the the evening in question we acknowledge that there was an infiltration of smell due to some external sewage pipeline problem. The matter was quickly brought to the attention of the local administration and resolved.
I am happy to report that we have not experienced the problem since and we are sorry if such situation did cause some disappointment .
As for the signing of the bill at the begining, this is a procedure that is in place in many establishments nationally and abroad and it permits a more efficient handling of the bill at the end of the dinner without any waiting time during the busy summer holiday when the restaurant is full .
I am sorry if this was not agreable or to your liking but it was really meant to render the service more fluid.
We have many categories of rooms all different from the other and as there are 96 rooms , i am sure if requested , we would have made the effort to locate a room to your liking.
Thank you for your comments on which we always pay much attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in July-August 2012. Good hotel, though certainly not really five stars. Small rooms, but clean and some with wonderful view, good restaurant, but not as good as you could expect in 5 stars Italian hotel. Small salt water swimming pool. The best part is a beach: sandy, private, clean, wonderful service, almost empty compare with beaches next to Tombolo's. Good place to spend vacation with small children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tombolo Talasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombolo Talasso Resort

Address: Via Del Corallo 3 | Marina Di Castagneto Carducci, 57024 Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Castagneto Carducci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tombolo Talasso Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tombolo Talasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombolo Talasso Hotel Castagneto Carducci
Grand Hotel Castagneto Carducci
Grand Resort Tombolo Talasso
Tombolo Talasso Resort Italy/Castagneto Carducci

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tombolo Talasso Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.