We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tombolo Talasso Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tombolo Talasso Resort to your Saves list
Tombolo Talasso Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Del Corallo 3 | Marina Di Castagneto Carducci, 57024 Castagneto Carducci, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“100% luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We happened upon Tombolo on our way back from Elba. Being spontaneous, freeing ourselves from our uptight, organized Toronto lifestyle, we did not book a single hotel in our 10 day Tuscan holiday. All hotels in the area were booked. The wonderful, kind hotel director squeezed us in. We would have slept anywhere that night but Tombolo was so much better. It turned out to be an oasis on the Meditteranian, 100% luxury, fine dining, primo customer service in a cute little village away from tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
we remember very well your arrival at Tombolo and under no circumstances , we would have allowed any different attention and assitance . We are delighted that your experience with our cuisine and SPA services was to your satisfaction and look forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from all the Staff at Tombolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    158
    69
    29
    27
See reviews for
95
272
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baker, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I could not have been any more impressed. This was their off season time and they were slow, but did not lack in any way. They did not slack up, or cut corners. The hotel/resort was pristine and the staff were amazing. Every detail checked and every need met. Wow! When nothing on the menu pleased my picky daughter, the chef made her chicken breast with pasta and even brought her ketchup. The meal was reasonably priced for off menu requests and the service personnel were excellent.

Room Tip: This is a Five Star Hotel, and their actions in off season prove it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
at Tombolo Talasso Resort the attention to every one of our clients is our daily mission regardless of the season and even more to our small clients, when they are happy so are the parents and we have learned to cater to the young segments of our guests.
Thank you for all the kind words and look forard to welcome you soon.
Best regards from all The Tombolo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed at tombolo resort in July 2012 and it was our first time. Didnt have much expectation as this place had such a mix review in trip adviser,...but we thought we tried. And what a nice surprised ....The hotel is clean, well looked after, location is beautiful, the rooms were big, service was excellent.....Definitely will return to this place and recommend this place to anyone who needs to find a total relax holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, Direttore generale at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are pleased that you decided to experience Tombolo and discover the quality service that our Staff can express every day in the SPA , restaurant, bar and other departments.
We look forward to serve you again soon.
The Staff at Tomboilo send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in july of this year for one night (luckily) while we were on vacation in tuscany! our sea view suite was more like a bar view (direct on the bar with a little bit of the sea).
Not the end of the world but we went to the restaurant of the hotel for a relaxing dinner, we arrived with reservations unfortunately no one new where to seat us, they gave us a table which was prepared at the near end of the terrace. we sat down and looked at the small menu for one minute and they wanted to take our order... we ordered our small meal and I asked for the wine card which arrived more or less right away... all of a sudden they brought us the bill to sign without ordering any wine or without having anything to eat... we were shocked... before we were served we noticed a strong sewer smell that got stronger by the minute. We asked the waitress about this and she was sorry but she knew that the tables in that area of the terrace had a problem since a while. Even the waiters in the bar, which was a million times better placed and further away ( super view of the sea!! ), knew of this problem. we finished dinner in record time without wine. What a disappointment! The rooms were clean but far from anything special. The service at the reception was slow for cheek in and out. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, CEO - Amministratore Unico at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Client,
in some of the the evening in question we acknowledge that there was an infiltration of smell due to some external sewage pipeline problem. The matter was quickly brought to the attention of the local administration and resolved.
I am happy to report that we have not experienced the problem since and we are sorry if such situation did cause some disappointment .
As for the signing of the bill at the begining, this is a procedure that is in place in many establishments nationally and abroad and it permits a more efficient handling of the bill at the end of the dinner without any waiting time during the busy summer holiday when the restaurant is full .
I am sorry if this was not agreable or to your liking but it was really meant to render the service more fluid.
We have many categories of rooms all different from the other and as there are 96 rooms , i am sure if requested , we would have made the effort to locate a room to your liking.
Thank you for your comments on which we always pay much attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in July-August 2012. Good hotel, though certainly not really five stars. Small rooms, but clean and some with wonderful view, good restaurant, but not as good as you could expect in 5 stars Italian hotel. Small salt water swimming pool. The best part is a beach: sandy, private, clean, wonderful service, almost empty compare with beaches next to Tombolo's. Good place to spend vacation with small children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed in August last year but feel I need to tell people the truth.. It was a last minute reservation - turned out an almost disaster! The whole place has nothing to do with the Tuscany - or even Italy! (If you know the real Tuscany; I got married in Siena and been back and around every year since..) Was full by pictures of pine forest - just to discover that it is full of camping sites; so going for walk was not an option.
Booked the best suite - to discover upon arrival that it smells the cat's urine! Nothing else was available so had to suffer for the whole week with 3 kids for ridiculous money; had to throw some shoes/ bags away. The staff was sorry, tried to clean/ parfume - nothing worked. Bad!
The resort itself (can t call it so thought) is situated in the middle of the cheapest holiday destination you can imagine. Just a few hundred meters away a caravan parking; busy street full of budget holiday makers runs in front of the hotel. Food - terrible! And no decent restaurants nearby. Unless you drive for a while. Tiny pool; unheated - since a bit chilly. Top terrace so romantically described by the first-timers is small, nothing special , evenings are disaster with a very loud music keeping EVERYONE in the hotel awake until at least 11pm (good luck putting small kids to sleep!) . Tiny kids playground was totally abandoned until we complained, then someone appeared to move some leaves around.. getting kids into the kids pool was not an option. Cant think of a good rooms - may be some on the back but they face the gate with everyone arriving.
To be fair, the stuff was truly wonderful. Untrained, over- worked with clearly insufficient head count, but doing the best they could. NIce, smiley, responsive. But totally unable to help in major issues.
The only positive element - the SPA. I am the SPA junckie and should honestly say they have probably the best personnel I have ever seen. Excellent treatments, try the massage under the running sea water or sea bed; the cranoterapy lady has absolutely fantastic hands.. Reasonable facilities . If you happen to land in this resort, at least get the best out of it by going to SPA every day; its worth it.
Needless to say, nothing for kids. The beach is nothing special - and borders overcrowded public beaches on both sides. Do not believe anyone claiming it is 5 star resort in the best Tuscany location - sorry, they clearly are not familiar with either...

Room Tip: ask for the rooms NOT facing the sea - you will be facing the road with almost no sea in view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioGuarducci, CEO - Amministratore Unico at Tombolo Talasso Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear client,
Tuscany has many faces ,landscapes, historical backgrounds, flavour and not one area is the same. Our territory is internationally recognized as one of the most attractive as it combines gentles slopes of vineyards that borders with uncontaminated kilometers of beaches and mediterranean sea and vegetation. History and culture is abundant as you may visit enchanting medieaval castles and villages nearby, the house of one of the most famous Italian poet Josuè Carducci and even the tower described by Dante Alighieri in the Inferno where Count Ugolino fed on his sons during his imprisonment. Not far is one of the most complete Etruscan settlement and archeological park located in the Bay of Baratti and in Elba island you may visit the house of Napoleon where he was exhiled......these are just a few of the many cultural activities thet may be enjoyed within short distances from the hotel.
But the territory is world known for the production of the so called “Super Tuscan” red wines and its wineries are visited by thousands of visitors all year around and again most of these wines estate are within 10 minutes distance from the hotel.
The area also offers plenty of amusements themes parks for the kids as well as bikes excursions, quad excursions, horse riding excursions,boat escursions to the tuscany islands situated in fornt of our beach such as Capraia or Elba and Gorgona.
As for the camping / caravan sites and the campers , this area and the coast of tuscany was initially developed in this fashion in the 60’s and these sites attract vacationers from all over euope but they are hardly visible or within our borders and we are happy to share the beauty of this coast line with them.
For what concerns the street markets they only take place a few times during the summer , they last 24hours and the aim is to show case the products of the territory to the tourists who may enjoy to bring home a souvenir such as a bottle of wine, olive oil or other art & craft.
We are a Spa destination and ideal location for a winter& summer holiday, we are also family friendly and provide many services and equipment for babies & kids, we have a dedicated pool, a play gound, a mini club inside the hotel, we provvide dedicated kids menu and on request special dishes for the younger one....parents and kids may enjoy our thalasso pools at certain hours of the morning, we provide baby carriages and all sleeping needs and in season we also have animation and off season can provide baby sitting service .....but we are not a family hotel where only famlies may access.
Many thanks for the compliments on the SPA and its Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Tombolo is my favorite hotel in Tuscany and I've been there several times. The hotel has its own private and clean beach with good service.
The hotel has a nice restaurant with good service and a fine menu.
Breakfast is excellent and varied.
There is a piano bar with a superb views over the water.
Every company and every hotel has a body, a soul and a heart.
At Tombolo the fantastic location is the body. The soul is the staff with Nicoletta at the reception as the beautiful center. Tombolos heart is the skilful and sympathetic pianist and singer Roberto Cardillo.
I will be a guest at this hotel many times more.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at 1. floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tombolo Talasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombolo Talasso Resort

Address: Via Del Corallo 3 | Marina Di Castagneto Carducci, 57024 Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Castagneto Carducci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castagneto Carducci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tombolo Talasso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tombolo Talasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tombolo Talasso Hotel Castagneto Carducci
Grand Hotel Castagneto Carducci
Grand Resort Tombolo Talasso
Tombolo Talasso Resort Italy/Castagneto Carducci

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tombolo Talasso Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.