We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Pace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Pace to your Saves list
Hotel La Pace
Via Abruzzi 16 | Montecassino, 03043 Cassino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cassino
Birstall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great small Hotel. Very helpful staff enabled me to trace my Italian family. We were put in touch with a local historian who showed us around my grandfathers village and introduced us to my relatives.The room was very comfortable with a great view of the abbey.
We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
37
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharnbrook
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having read the last review by "hmfog" it could almost have been written by myself!
Very little else to add. The best location without a doubt in Cassino. Extremely helpful reception staff, with particular thanks to Pino who has a genuine interest in the WW2 history of the area.
The purpose of our trip was to follow in my late father's footsteps as he was with the Polish Carpathian Lancers during the campaign. Pino spoke to his local contacts and was able to pinpoint the exact location to visit, something I'd found impossible to locate prior to our trip. He even printed out maps for us to follow.
Totally agree that Sir Jasper's was excellent. We ended up eating there every night, the food was that good.
The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the town's bars and restaurants.
Our room at the front had large doors leading to a balcony that looked up to the Abbey. What a view. Good power shower and comfortable bed. Yes, it faced a main road but quiet at night and we weren't there to sleep in each morning. Breakfast was fine, with good coffee and the cakes were delicious!
Having walked around the town extensively and driven around the surrounding area I have to say Hotel La Pace is, without any hesitation, The best place to stay in Cassino.
Grazie di tutto !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great small hotel. the room was bright, lovely bathroom and beautiful view of Monte Cassino (be sure to take the beautiful drive up to the abbey)- seemed newly renovated. Ask when you book for one of these rooms. Very helpful and in walking distance of town and restaurants, with easy access to highway and other towns. They gave us recommendations which were excellent (Sir Jasper's for dinner fabulous, went back second night) and went out of their way to assist us in even small details. They had a video on continuous loop on television that showed several interesting documentaries on the history of the area ie WWII battle, abbey--worth watching. We had a little trouble booking online, but made a phone call and all was taken care of (in English).

Room Tip: Ask for renovated and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The town of Cassino was an easy drive from Rome and we stayed at this hotel because of it's good reviews. It was easy to find and had a car park at the rear which was an added bonus. The two gentlemen at reception were extremely friendly and spoke excellent English. Our room was of average size and very clean. We had asked for a room with a view when booking, and were given such a room. We could see the Abbey clearly.
There is a restaurant next door to the hotel which served very good food and opened at 7.30pm.
The road leading to the Abbey is only a short distance from the hotel. Try to visit early before the tour buses start to arrive and the peace and quiet are not shattered by too many voices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosnells
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

home away from home!
we would recomend this hotel as it made our stay in cassino a pleasure!
pino and staff were very helpfull in making my wife who is in a wheelchair extra comfortable
nothing was to much trouble for the staff .
great location in the heart of cassino we had a view off the abby from our balcony
we will stay again next year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPCassino, Direttore at Hotel La Pace, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid comments.
I look forward to welcome you back in Cassino... keeping a good bottle of Montepulciano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stopped here for 2 nights to visit Monte Cassino with my wife. We received a very friendly welcome and were given a fabulous room with an excellent view to Monte Cassino (photo from our window is attached).
The room was clean and comfortable, with TV and electric black-out window blinds. The bathroom was good with a large shower.
Breakfast was very Italian, with a large choice of cakes, cereal, yoghurt, ham, cheese and bread.

We also ate at the attached restaurant. The food quality was also quite good.

The hotel is at the far side of town from the train station, but we didn't find too much trouble walking there with our bags, although you may need to ask for transport if you are not fond of walking too far with luggage.

Room Tip: ask for a view of Monte Cassino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hersbruck, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

On our historical trip we spent 8 nights in Hotel La Pace. Our 3 bed room was very clean and the room service perfect. We had an amazing view up to the Abbey of Monte Cassino and the Castle Hill from our large balcony. The breakfast was a deliciuos and a rich buffet. The very friendly staff made every morning pretty good cappuccino and coffee. The included restaurant offers typical italian food. But there are also a lot of restaurants in a short walking distance. The owner, his family and the staff are all very heartily and helpful. So you always feel welcome.They also speak English and you can get many information about the area, the history of Cassino and sightseeing tours. There are some nice hiking trails around the Abbey of Monte Cassino and it is also possible to discover the landscape with a rental bike. A special experience is the visit of the Abbey of Monte Cassino! You should have time to feel the charisma inside the Abbey and to enjoy the view over ther large Liri Valley. You can also make a trip to beautiful beaches or the Abruzzi National Park. Both are just one hour away by car. Rome and Naples are also not so far. If you are interested in the WWII battle of Monte Cassino then it is possible to visit the Historiale Museum in Cassino and three war cemeterys.
Finally, we enjoyed our stay in Hotel La Pace very much and we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pace

Address: Via Abruzzi 16 | Montecassino, 03043 Cassino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Cassino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cassino
#3 Family Hotel in Cassino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the centre of Cassino, at the base of Montecassino, easily accessible from the train station only 4 km. from the highway RomeNaples. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning, wi-fi, telephone, and sat TV. Free services available: elevators, parking, internet point, newspapers, late check out. Restaurant homemade cuisine and Pizzeria. Transfer services available from both the Rome and Naples International Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pace Rome Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Pace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.