We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome and Comfortable Spot to Get Over Jetlag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antico Cortile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Antico Cortile to your Saves list
L'Antico Cortile
Tanucci 53, 81100 Caserta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Caserta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Welcome and Comfortable Spot to Get Over Jetlag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We drove to Caserta fro the Rome airport because we wanted a quite place to get used to the 9 hour time difference and the stress of multiple changes of planes. The town is pleasant, big enough to have good choice of restaurants and to be able to get around easily. VL'Antico Cortile was especially pleasant and helpful as our bags went to Frankfurt instead of to Rome. The staff made calls to the airlines when our minimal Italian was exhausted and ensured that we eventually got our bags. The courtyard was pleasant and the breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
61
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

L'Antico Cortile is a very charming and beautiful bed and breakfast. The rooms are clean and equipped with good amenities like a fast internet connection and a tv. The windows face the courtyard which is utilized by an excellent restaurant. The toilet was big and a hairdryer was provided, which is always a plus.
The couple who owned the B&B were very sweet and accommodating. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. The husband even gave us a map of Caserta and some tips on where to check out the best sites.
The B&B is located in a pretty convenient spot about 10mins walking distance from the Caserta train station and 2 mins away from the gate to the royal palace garden.
Anyone visiting Caserta should stay here because you get value for your money and you might even get an interesting history lesson of Caserta if you take the time to engage the owner in a conversation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were travelling by car and the first issue was that there is NO parking available. We parked "illegally" for the Sunday but had to move the car for the weekdays. The breakfast was commercially purchased breads and jams with nothing personalized except the cappuccino.
The room was nice and had a view of the busy street and the new windows provided enough sound deadening for sleep. There is not much In Caserta other than La Reggia so a lengthy stay for vacation is unlikely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Caserta Palace is a great place to visit but the town is hectic and likely to be tiring. L'Antico Cortile is an oasis of peace and tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle around. The room we stayed in was clean, well equipped and relaxing. Outside the room was a grassed courtyard, including a clementine tree. Our hostess, Irene, from Puglia was charming and helpful. She is a mine of information if you can speak a bit of Italian. Breakfast was ample and tasty with the cappuchini made by Irene's mother, much recommended. One word of advice. If you are driving set your sat/nav or have a map. Caserta has a one way system to find your way through. That said, L'Antico Cortile is within 5 to 10 minutes walk of the palace. There is 24 hour parking at the
palace underground car park for ten euros. The Reggia (palace) is breathtaking - enlightened despotism made flesh. The garden is extraordinary, too.

Room Tip: We had a back room ( number 4)which was compleley free of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I recently spent three nights at L'Antico Cortile.
The bed and breakfast is a gem in the heart of a charming city.
We were greeted by Luigi who was helpful in every way possible. The room was
well appointed facing a beautiful and restful courtyard. L'Antico Cortile is located close to
The Royal Palace which is most exceptional and not to be missed on a trip to Caserta.
Johnny prepared a healthy breakfast each morning with a variety of choices.
Look forward to a return trip and would highly recommend L'Antico Cortile to anyone visiting
Caserta.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful, clean, Perfect service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

L'Antico Cortile is a family mansion in a narrow street about 200 metres from La Reggia di Caserta (Royal Palace). The house is kept in a very good shape, probably fully renovated not too long ago, having a small courtyard with some citrus trees and plants which add to the mediterranean feel. It has only a few rooms in total which ensures a very friendly atmosphere. Our room was clean, spacious and practical, furnished with stylish and solid furniture pieces, large and comfy double bed (I'm quite tall but still) and powerful looking air conditioner (we haven't felt the need to turn it on). The bathroom had a practical layout and was equipped with good looking and quality components. I couldn't help noticing that whoever planned the room has put attention to details and had a taste for quality and a stylish feel which we liked very much. The internet access was fast, free and hardwired to the room (RJ45 wall socket) so no reliability problems whatsoever. Our hosts were nice and friendly, they really helped us in everything they could. We even arrived later than we've booked due to some unforeseen difficulties but they handled the situation flexibly and generously. It was well worth the price we paid so I would recommend this place to anyone who doesn't like big hotels, prefers friendliness and cleanliness over luxury, and doesn't mind the urban surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Antico Cortile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antico Cortile

Address: Tanucci 53, 81100 Caserta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Caserta > Caserta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Caserta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant building which was built in 1824 has been renovated maintaining the original architectural structure.It is located in the heart of Caserta two minutes from the entrance of the gardens of the Reggia. The internal courtyard is decorated with local ceramics and light marble which create a peaceful oasis in the city. The rooms, well-furnished, face internally the green courtyard on one side and the garden on the other.Each room with elegant bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your L'Antico Cortile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antico Cortile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.