We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairytale on Elba!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Elba International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Elba International to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Elba International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Naregno | Baia Della Fontanella 1, 57031 Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Capoliveri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Larvik, Norway
1 review
“A fairytale on Elba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We are a norvegian couple who went to Elba for a week in the beginning of June, to get married on this beautiful Island. Grand Hotel Elba Int. helped us with all the practical work and bookings for our wedding from 5 months before our arrival. We arrive on Elba, and is blown away by its beauty, great service, calm people and a very nice hotel overlooking the ocean, and the small town Porto Azzurro. The hotel gave us their full attention throughout our stay, they created a fantastic wedding day for us, they have great food, beautiful surroundings, nice rooms, and last but not least GREAT SERVICE! Elba is a true fairytale to visit, eventhough you are not getting married, we love to get back to this holiday-pearl, with all its charm and beauty!! - Christine and Jon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    126
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
156
188
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lombardia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Lovely setting in a quiet corner of the green island.
Gorgeous food and stilish service. Warm and professional service.
Don't look for better bargain; You simply will not find any. A modern lift will take You directly to a private beach with sand or rocks as You like, and a valuable restaurant for snacks and light lunch.
Only backdraw (very common on Elba Island) any time You need to move prepare to drive on narrow streets for hal an hour at least. Stay away on Mid July- Mid August for overcrowding. Enjoy the rest of the year

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I came here in August 2010 and have just booked out second trip for August 2011. The Grand Hotel Elba International was everything we had expected and more, a lovely position on top of the hill over-looking the sea (but with it's only private funicular to take you to the beach on hot days, perfect!).

Our room was on the back of the hotel without much of a view, but not that this mattered as we spent most of the days at the beach or the pool (both of which were never overcrowded). Food in the hotel is spectacular with a wide choice at the breakfast buffet and a daily set evening menu.

The staff were friendly and helpful (and incredibly patient with our poor Italian!). The hotel is a little remote and a taxi to the nearest town might set you back $15/20. Although with a car most places are in easy reach. Although if, like us, you are from London and want to escape to a quiet and pretty location then this hotel would be spot on.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Good hotel with a splendid view. The beach was very good and the service on the beach was also very good. We had a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Elba International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elba International

Address: Localita Naregno | Baia Della Fontanella 1, 57031 Capoliveri, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Capoliveri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Capoliveri
#2 Romantic Hotel in Capoliveri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elba International 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed on arrival by the harmony of nature. The Grand Hotel Elba International is surrounded by lush Mediterranean maquis as a tiny jewel overlooking the Bay of Naregno. The light and perfumes of the island will immediately capture you and your children - who will also enjoy our special attention with all kinds of entertaining activities. Just a few steps from the sea, the embracing atmosphere, elegant details and qualified service will make your stay unforgettable. The Grand Hotel Elba International has 131 rooms furnished with natural, eco-compatible materials and enhanced by elegant technological services. Relaxation continues in our Fitness Centre, fully dedicated to body care to help you rediscover your psycho-physical equilibrium. A regenerative environment where the bouquet of essential oils, herbs and the steam of the sauna and Turkish bath work together to ensure true moments of harmony. Our cuisine combines Mediterranean flavours and Tuscan genuineness in a blend of pairings and tastes that will certainly meet all your expectations. The keyword is quality - in the selection of produce and presentations - to offer you a huge choice of menus every day, even for special diets. Our restaurants "Le Agavi", "Il Pirata" and "Peter Pan" (specially for our young guests) ensure supreme cuisine for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Elba International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Capoliveri
Best Western Capoliveri
Capoliveri Best Western
Grand Hotel Elba International Elba Island/Capoliveri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Elba International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.